We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of Island Outpost - CLOSED

Island Outpost
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: (727) 734-4300
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My first trip since Island Outpost became Frenchy's. I figured I would stay with the old standby, a grouper sandwich. Yuck! There was a bloodline left in the fish so it tasted fishy. It was overbreaded.

The service was not very good. The waitresses were more content to stand in the kitchen door and chit chat with each other than attend to customers. The manager did happen to ask how lunch was and I told him. He did comp me my sandwich. If you want Frenchy's food you had better go out to Clearwater Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KnotOnYerLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
396 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Expensive and poor quality food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I liked this place better as Island Outpost. Frenchy's has developed into a generic restaurant and their food quality SUCKS. Service was so so. Band that was playing was decent. It was $50.00 for me and my aunt to eat there! Not worth the money! My advice would be GO UP THE STREET TO MOLLY GOODHEAD'S you will get better food and service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Banana427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What to do?”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to Island Outpost about a year and a half ago, never again. Now Frenchy's has taken over, been going for like 20 years. Not this one yet. After reading all these reviews, maybe wait a few months. Hope they have new cooks, because the old Outpost ones didn't have a clue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trekdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Server needed to pay attention to customer.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to trying this place since Frenchy's bought it, but the server screwed up and didn't listen and then disappeared. I had ordered boiled shrimp and side Caesar. She came back and said they were out of boiled shrimp...do I want the Ceaser..no can I see a menu again...I get a menu and she walked away. Mom gets her food before I saw the server again and they brought the salad I no longer wanted. Was going to order a grouper entree but just shared moms meal and left. A manager came and apologized for the miscommunication. Doubt I will ever visit there again. Very disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonE870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Finding out before our food came that this is now a Frenchy's!My husband and waited an hour for the food.Our server apologized and said our ticket some how did not get printed to the kitchen.I think we should have been offered a compensation of somekind for the wait.my husband ordered a med rare burger which turned out dry and well done. French fries were terrible!would have like to have seen a more appealing presentable platter. On the upside my grilled grouper was tasty.All and all a disappointment in Frenchy's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydiab54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Outpost also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing