We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better on the second visit”
Review of Island Outpost - CLOSED

Island Outpost
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: (727) 734-4300
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better on the second visit”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tonight I decided to give the new Frenchy's (Island Outpost) a try. It was Friday night, we got right in without a delay. They now have the Rum Runner machine however, they serve it in a much smaller no name plastic cup. Not the usual Frenchy's cup. Big disappointment there. The other mixed drink came in the same glass without garnish and had a plate under it because it was so messy. :( The Malibu Bucket was great, came with a take home bucket. The drink was yummy but the bucket had no name and was pretty much useless and should not be marketed as collector because it was not. The Cajun Grouper sandwich was a winner and worth the 12.95. The rest of the table had cheese burgers that looked pretty ordinary. All in all a better visit, still not up to Frencht's standards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Far Below Frenchys Standards”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The ladies went to Island Outpost expecting the same outstanding food, service and atmosphere at other Frenchys and were very disappointed.

Our server, Lakin, was okay but not great. Food was sub-par and my salad was a bowl of shredded lettuce, a few tomato pieces and the chicken was small, dry and definitely not worth $12.00.

Better get things together and make this place a real Frenchys or it will fail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pretty much the same Outpost food, new Frency's name”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Although Frency's bought the place, not much has changed. They menu design changed but the food items are primarily the same.
I didn't recognize the wait staff as being the same, but the place may have a high turnover rate.
The wait staff in our area were all young and although that is not a bad thing, they were not attentive and took their lunch breaks at the same time, near the tables they had been waiting on (but ignored while they ate their lunches).
The food took forever to come out (longer than in the past) - probably because half the staff took lunch at the same time.
This is a result of poor management in my opinion.
While staggering breaks doesn't allow the kids the ability to hang-out with each other, it does allow for a lack of stand-still in the business.
Also, anywhere I've worked, eating in front of clients/customers has been discouraged.

And one silly thing that bugs me:
The wall mural inside the airconditioned area.
A toucan? This is Florida!
The artist couldn't paint a Pelican or other native Fl bird?
Oh, and the a/c thermostat has a shadow painted for it.
Kinda bizarre.
I'll give 3 stars, because the food is tasty (when it finally arrives).
Just don't drink the water. It tastes like chlorine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“MORE indoor seating”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

food was ok but its WAY too hot to have all that outside seating with better air conditioning to make the FL heat not so bearing. I would probably only eat here in the "off season" to avoid the heat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FLgirl1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favorite!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Year after year we come back & are never disappointed! Great service, fun outdoor dining & awesome food!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank G0Cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Outpost also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing