We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mexican Food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Plaza Garibaldi Mexica
Ranked #96 of 172 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dunedin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food!”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Plaza Garibaldi is fabulous! I've been there 5 times in the last month! The staff is friendly, the decor is cheesy and the food is soooo good! The salsa is delicious, they bring a mild salsa and a hot salsa. The queso is hit or miss. Sometimes it's awesome and other times it's been a bit watery but still tasty. I prefer my Mexican food to stand on its own and not be drenched in sauce so I do usually ask for it on the side. The mole' sauce is delicious. Taquitos and flautas need to be cooked a little longer to give them some crunch so ask for them to be cooked well. Tamales are fab. They serve their lunch specials 7 days a week and have several egg dishes that make for a tasty brunch. Rarely do I eat more than a few bites of rice and beans, however they are soooo good, I usually do a pretty good job of almost finishing them! It's a little off the beaten path, on Alt 19, right before the Dunedin Causeway if you're going North. Definitely worth the trip! Now I'm hungry!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stopped by this newly re-opened spot with about 50 members of the 2011 Cinco de Mayo Tour De Trail ride group. Service was super fast, and competent. Prices were surprisingly low. My Chimi shredded beef tasted like sweet BBQ, but it was very good as were the chips, salsa, guac, rice, sour cream and cheesy refried beens. Rosie had a burrito and she loved it. Can't beat their food and beer prices. Not for mexican gourmets, but it doesn't pretend to be. Lot's of fun! This one will be put on our rotation!! Bueno!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SixcDogTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised on our visit to this pleasantly decorated Mexican restaurant. I had Pollo en Mole and my husband has Carne Asada. As an appetizer we ordered to tamales that were generously filled with pork. The sides of beans and rice are also delicious. Being orginally from Chicago with many wonderful Mexican restaurants to choose from it was great to find this restaurant that matches what we enjoyed up there and to have it right in our neighborhood! Very helpful and cheerful staff along with a strolling, singing guitarist.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wandafulone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly, Authentic”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a nice local restaurant, family owned. The staff is eager to please, the place is clean and modestly decorated and the food is delicious.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrshos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chili verde I've had in Florida.”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Coming from Southern California (and briefly Denver), I got spoiled with the Mexican restaurants. Disappointing in the Tampa Bay area. My test of a Mexican restaurant is the chili verde (if they even serve it) and Plaza Garibaldi passed with flying colors.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Garibaldi Mexica also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Garibaldi Mexica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing