We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and quiet get-a-way”

Caladesi Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$185.00*
and up
2 Hour Jet Ski Tour of Honeymoon and Caladesi Island
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of Florida's few remaining undisturbed barrier islands.
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,666 reviews
1,103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,328 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet get-a-way”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We toured Honeymoon Island after reading some of the reviews and I agree with most of the positive comments. Lots of beach to walk, great fishing, kayaking and nature trails. It is just off the beaten path enough to prevent it from being over crowded. Plenty of parking and easy beach access. Ranger tours are available and the people at the visitor's center are great.Try the wooden swings and well placed benches along the beach. A sun bathers paradise. A great place for families as there is food and rest rooms. A well planned preserve.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    208
    62
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holiday, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There's a reason it has been voted best beach in the U.S.!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family and I live about 15 miles away from Honeymoon Island. You have to catch a ferry from Honeymoon Island to get over to Caladesi. Caladesi is such a beautiful private beach!! We always find lots of great shells and we've had dolphins swim right up to us here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhema00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach but expensive to get there”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beach is beautiful and wild. The weather was very cold the day we were there so there were only approx. 10 people on the beach. We saw lots of wading birds on the bay side and gulls, oyster catchers, dolphins, rays, shells, and lots of other stuff on the gulf side - the beach was an excellent experience. But I thought the boat ride to get there was a bit pricey. It cost us $8.00 to get into Honeymoon Park to catch the ferry then $14 each for the short pontoon boat ride to Caladesi Island. And I really didn't like that the boat crew kept asking for tips (they had a tip jar, signs on the boat, and they verbally announced several times that "the crew really appreciates tips". A beautiful place but a little more expensive than it should be.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just Beautyful”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Caladesi Island can be reached by ferry ($14/adult) from Honeymoon Island State Park (entrance fee $8/vehicle). You have to be back to the ferry in 4 hours; Iwish we had more time... The Island has wonderful nature trails and a beautyful beach. We had a wonderful time there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gheorghe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach to get away from the crowds.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We took the ferry over to Caladesi. Very fun. Saw one dolphin. Park is nice, with more facilities then I expected. Shelling was better then clearwater beach and we saw some wildlife up close. Made for great afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jasfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caladesi Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Caladesi Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing