We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island adventure”

Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of Florida's few remaining undisturbed barrier islands.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went on the caladesi boat tour to the island,, it was beautiful, we had a small hike, then got to the private beach, what. A great day,, you can stay up to 4 hours,, great time ., Darrell..

Thank Darrell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ferry ride"
in 163 reviews
"caladesi island"
in 220 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 113 reviews
"an umbrella"
in 66 reviews
"every hour"
in 13 reviews
"clearwater beach"
in 87 reviews
"private boat"
in 18 reviews
"ferry leaves"
in 13 reviews
"day trip"
in 50 reviews
"per adult"
in 22 reviews
"snack bar"
in 48 reviews
"state park"
in 73 reviews
"rent a kayak"
in 24 reviews
"rent chairs and umbrellas"
in 14 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 23 reviews
"concession stand"
in 25 reviews
"ranger station"
in 14 reviews
Filter

999 - 1,003 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Only accessibe by boat, this beach seems practically untouched.

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank sun_n_fun_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Even though it was many people there the day of our visit it did not feel too crowded.
Long queue to get in a Sunday afternoon but worth the wait.

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank OsloGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The ferry ride over ended up being a dolphin sighting cruise which was an unexpected delight! My daughter and spouse enjoyed the kayak rental. We would have loved an umbrella but the fee of $20/hr deterred us. The island was beautiful and still showing some signs of recent storm Debby including an invasion of mosquitos. We purchased a "natural" repellent in the gift store but it was NO match for the little "suckers!" Though we did not see the tortoises, we were happy NOT to see the rattlesnakes. ;) The allotted time on the island (which I think was 3.5 hours) was just enough FL sun for our family. We felt the cost of the ferry was well worth the experience.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank CubH8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are in Clearwater beach you must make this trip to caladesi island. It is a short drive from Clearwater to Dunedin and honeymoon island. Then take the ferry over to caladesi. The island is gorgeous. There are gopher tortoises roaming, tons of sea birds like pelicans, cranes etc. we saw a manatee 5 feet from us while on a sand bar. We saw dolphins while on the ferry between islands. We walked down the island where it is more remote. It is a must do!

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Meagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caladesi Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Caladesi Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing