We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd year, still loving it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beso Del Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beso Del Sol Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd year, still loving it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband, son, and 2 cousins stayed a week at Beso for the 2nd time and still love the place and staff. Walter was welcoming and helped answer all of our questions. The other staff was also very attentive to our needs & guided us to where we wanted to go. The great thing is we experienced new things this year such as the Trolley ride into Clearwater beach and Honeymoon island. We found soooo many shells at Honeymoon - so much fun to do with the kiddo - and we rode the bikes Beso offers far along a trail nearby. Was happy to see the newly added tiki-hut umbrellas by the pool; provided a nice atmosphere & much needed shade and the Marker 8 restaurant on the top floor - such a gorgeous view, friendly staff and good value for the money. We will definitely go back! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTheSun90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
thank you for choosing Beso Del Sol resort for your family vacation again this year. We look forward to seeing you again next year and to helping you discover even more fun things to do and see here on the Gulf Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    83
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
79
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I wanted to go to Honeymoon Island for our anniversary so I searched for motels near there and found Beso Del Sol. What a great place. Our room with a balcony overlooked the water and we had a wonderful time sitting on our balcony and listening to the music from below. We had breakfast in the restaurant on the 3rd floor looking out over the water. What a fabulous place to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Stay in a waterfront room if you like to hear the music from the Tiki Bar from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeashellCyndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Congratulations on your 40th anniversary. Glad we were able to be a part of your celebration and we hope you will make visiting us an annual tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Sorry, booked a week at this resort with my family, location great, service good. Went to pool to relax with my kids and enjoy the view, Sat night a function, ok we can understand it busy, but the next night the same thing but worse, smokers, drunk grown ups, not a relaxing family time. Then construction on the Monday morning! We checked out! Didn't wait for drag queen bingo on Tuesday night! If you are looking for a roudy time it the place for you, not your children though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljbeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. Our tiki bar was hosting a life celebration memorial for a recently deceased local which was not necessarily condicive to a family atmosphere. We pride ourselves on delivering a fun filled family-friendly experience and we hope you will consider allowing us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I knew from the minute I walked into the Presidential suite at Beso Del Sol that we were going to have a wonderful 90th birthday celebration for my mom. We rented the suite for a 3 day weekend and catered the food. This unit faced St. Josephs sound and every morning I watched the boats, ospray and dolphins. Every evening we toasted the georgeous sunsets and enjoyed the cool breeze on the patio. Some out of town family members stayed at studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units. All units have kitchen areas and balconies. Everyone was very satisfied with their accommadations. Sadie, Andrew, Walter and the cleaning crew were so helpful. All of our needs were met. Some family members took bicycles out on the trail and had a ball. It wound up being a wonderful birthday for mom and family reunion for all. I highly recommend staying at Beso Del Sol and if you can stay at the Presidential suite do so.You won't be dissappointed. We had breakfast at Marker 8 restaurant on the premises 2 mornings in a row with 15 to 21 people and were taken care of with no problem. The food was great.

Room Tip: For a large party the Presidential suite is your best bet. The 2 bedroom 2 bath units on the 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are honored to have been a part of your mom's birthday celebration. So glad you and your guests enjoyed our complimentary bike rentals and our fabulous free sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just left this morning...it was a fabulous anniversary weekend stay. What a great location. The room was gorgeous! The amenities were generous! I was able to secure from the management a hotspot to alleviate our low wifi signal. We enjoyed the music from the Tiki bar. We enjoyed the gorgeous pool and hot tub. A couple of mornings we borrowed bicycles to take a quick trip up Main St. for some fabulous food! The staff was very accommodating...thank you, Walter!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Beso Del Sol during June 2012. We were wary at first as there was a slight mix-up when we checked in. However the staff took care of it immediately and very graciously. We checked into the room and were really impressed with what it had to offer - full kitchenette (in the most basic one-room they offer), complete with toaster, stovetop, all dishes, pans and utensils one might need to cook a full meal. Very nice complimentary toiletries, nice touch! The waterfront balconies overlook the sound, these are definitely the rooms to book - sunsets are beautiful right from your own balcony. The bar and pools were very nice. The best part is the free bicycle rental - Dunedin and the surrounding areas are very bike-accessible and the hotel is situated in the perfect spot for exploring in all directions. The bikes were a fantastic way to get around the many parks, quaint downtown, and waterfront areas. The hotel staff was knowledgable and friendly, giving us great advice on what to do in the region. We had a truly wonderful stay, one of the best mini-vacations we've had in a long time. Highly recommend Beso Del Sol!

Room Tip: Waterfront looks out toward the water... garden view looks out to neighboring buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your accomodations and our free bike rentals! Hope to see you again soon for another weekend "Staycation". Thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Smell of smoking in the elevator and in the room, dirty place and I mean VERY dirty ( have a look under the dusty sofa bed, if you dare). Cleaning staff inefficient that forgot cleaning tools and detergent in our room (how do they cleaned the next room?) Greasy kitchen utensils.
Kids cannot do anything, not even walk in the deck near the tiki bar, where it is also a pool, so they cannot enter in that pool. The hot tub's water was anything but water (oily water). The clientele was mostly over middle aged, and I understand they do not want kids running around them, but I think it should be made clear before making a reservation from the management.
Unfriendly staff at the reception that seemed to care only about the towels they borrowed to us (and btw, they gave us old beach towels, faded colors and smelly, while the older guests had bright new ones...). So, we felt very unwelcomed.
I was not even cheap. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravel_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest - We regret that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory. While we will offer no excuses for any housekeeping deficiencies we do take great pride in all aspects of our cleaning, maintenance and guest services. We would have happily addressed any concerns had they been reported to us. The vast majority of our guests enjoy our clean, family-oriented atmosphere and the exclusion of minors from the tiki bar pool deck area. All guests are however, welcome to enjoy our heated family pool, spa, fitness center, free bike rentals, fishing pier, kayak rentals and water taxi service - there are plenty of activities for families and children to participate in. We would love to have you come stay with us again and the opportunity to earn a favorable review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
3.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Court Motel
Palm Court Motel
#1 of 8 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beso Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beso Del Sol Resort

Property: Beso Del Sol Resort
Address: 1420 Bayshore Blvd, Dunedin, FL 34698-4217
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beso Del Sol Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier all-suites waterfront resort in beautiful Dunedin, Florida. Overlooking St. Joseph's Sound and the Gulf of Mexico, our accommodations provide a relaxing old Florida-style change of pace.Visit downtown Dunedin for art galleries, wine tasting, shopping and dining. Spend a day on the links at St. Andrews or Dunedin Country Club. Soak in the sun on several of America's top-ranked beaches.Maybe you would prefer relaxing at our waterfront pool area or fishing from our pier. The possibilities are endless and all are here for your enjoyment.Resort amenities include an onsite restaurant and tiki bar serving casual fare daily, weather permitting. Join us as we toast the sunset every evening with free sunset shooters! We offer complimentary bike rentals. Boat dockage for overnight resort guests at a nominal fee. A heated spa, book and CD lending library, guest laundry,free fitness club membership,summer kids club activities and a 4,000 square foot banquet and event venue round out the guest amenities. We hope you come as our guests and leave as our friends with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Beso Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beso Del Sol Hotel Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing