We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Friday nite Fish Fry - Open to the Public with a Reservation on Friday Night”

Dunedin Golf & Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by world renowned golf course architect Donald Ross, the club opened January 1, 1927. FDunedin Country Clubrom 1945 through 1962, Dunedin Golf Club was the home of the PGA of America. During that time we hosted 18 Senior Tour Championships, and this was the beginning of the Senior PGA Tour. Back then, the PGA and PGA Tour of today were the same corporation. In 2006 and 2007 our facility went through a major restoration with rebuilding of our greens, tees and bunkers. It's been restored to nearly the same as when legendary golf architect Donald Ross first drew up Dunedin Golf Club on the drafting table. Today, Dunedin Golf Club is one of the top clubs in the Tampa Bay area. In May, we were named "2008 Country Club of the Year" by Tampa Bay Magazine. When you tee off, you follow in the footsteps of some of the greatest golfers of all times: Al Watrous, Babe Zaharais, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones, Bobby Cruickshank, Byron Nelson, Cyril Walker, Gene Sarazen, Harold "Jug" McSpaden, Horton Smith, Jimmy Demaret, Louise Suggs, Sam Snead, Tommy Armour, Walter Hagan, the great Babe Zaharias and Patty Berg from the LPGA. In more recent times the likes of Mark Calcavecchia, John Huston, Brittney Lincicome, Ben Crenshaw and many other great tour players have all played here at Dunedin Golf Club!
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Friday nite Fish Fry - Open to the Public with a Reservation on Friday Night”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I wasn't sure that I wanted to share this great find at Dunedin Country Club. In November & December 2013 we enjoyed their Friday night Fish Fry. It was served with a garden Salad, a large piece of fried fish (white fish) served over a bed or French fries and served with coleslaw. The meal was excellent on both visits to Dunedin Country Club and there was live lovely music coming from the bar; the singer sounded like Julie London. The dinning room is nothing fancy, but very comfortable. This is a private club; a reservation is required for dining room service to the general public on Friday Night and long pants are required.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailorwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice affordable golf course”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice and well-kept golf course for a good price. Many of the holes are challenging and not very forgiving if you are not on the fairway. I plan to play there a lot more on my next visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeturReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf Club”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful 18 hole golf course and great country club with a bar and restaurant. It was home to the PGA from 1945 to 1962. They have their own web site at dunedingolfclub.com. I live in the neighborhood and visit as often as possible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
810 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Florida Course”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This course is a wonderful place to play. It's a Donald Ross creation from the 1930's. In July it was not very busy so we went right around. The price is right too, I've paid a whole lot more for a lot worse! The course is in great shape though it was a little wet due to lots of recent rain. It's nicely challenging but very playable and a very pretty place to play too. Will definitely repeat whenever I'm in the area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
374 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“a donald ross classic”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

and a good bargain. it had a major at one time. you can spend more money but can you get better golf? not very often in my book

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunedin Golf & Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Dunedin Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing