We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““The only place to stay in Armenia ””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dzoraget
Certificate of Excellence
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
““The only place to stay in Armenia ””
Reviewed August 9, 2013

stay there for 3 nights is very enjoyable moment. The room was nice, staff were friendly breakfast was great. Room service on time, wake up call on time. The housekeeping staff also very polite. Will recommend this hotel to all the friend.

Room Tip: uppur floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hussein T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    69
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
76
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, in a beautiful location. It is next to scenic Debed River. The building is modern, yet incorporates historic Armenian design elements to remind you where you are. The hotel staff is attentive, the meals excellent. The rooms are beautiful - the beds the best ever with special mattresses and pillows. It is an excellent location to launch out for day trips to see the many historic monasteries in the vicinity, as well as the beautiful mountains and fields with wildflowers.
Locals are in the area which add color, art, and friendly pets who appreciate a hug.
An inside pool and spa are available for rest and relaxation, as well as a gym.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy94303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Tufenkian Hotel in Dzoraget sits along a gorgeous rushing river in a beautiful little valley. Hanging out by the indoor pool or on the terrace overlooking the river or hiking up the mountain that sits just behind the hotel, it's a relaxing destination. The staff was great, the food delicious (we asked for a glass of cold milk and they had to heat it first before they served it to us because it came straight from a cow!), and the grounds very pleasant to stroll around.

Room Tip: All of them seem to be great -- we were in an amazing two floor room in the firehouse -- our second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights just this weekend. Nice hotel, with a lovely ethnic touch, as with all Tufenkian hotels in Armenia. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bedding is excellent. However, there are things I didn't like about this hotel. Namely,
1. Food is below average. We had all inclusive package, with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Of all the food, the chicken BBQ was good, and the lamb made by chief's special recipe. And that's it. Breakfast had almost no variety.Lunch was plain too.
2. Location is bad. If you're just staying there for vacation, there is nothing you can do out of the hotel on your own. You need to have a car to drive around. We wanted to go out for a walk, but had to return shortly, because once you're out of the hotel area you find yourself at the main road, where the cars drive like crazy.
3. We were staying in for a team retreat, and they failed to warn that they actually didn't have triple rooms. They shifted double single rooms to double, and double to triple. Some of us ended up sleeping on very uncomfortable sofas. Triple rooms were too stuffed for 3 people.
4. Staff is not friendly.
5. Pool was small and dirty.

To sum up; if you're travelling around North Armenia it's a good location for staying overnight, and then continuing your trip. If you'd rather stay for vacation or weekend, I'd rather chose Tufenkian's Avan Marak Tsapatagh Hotel that's closer to lake Sevan, unless you're a very passive vacationer.

With the rates they charge, they should really work on improving their services and staff's attitude. Otherwise, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a surprise to find this beautiful hotel, nestled alongside the river on the road to Tblisi. The service was perfect, the rooms very contemporary and new. We ate all of our meals in the dining room, and the food was excellent. Great hiking to be had nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights with a large group for a wedding at the nearby Haghpat Monastery. The experience was well worth the three hour drive from Yerevan.

Friendly, accommodating and mulit-lingual staff. Delicious (and mostly local) food. Clean, well-appointed room with a balcony overlooking the mountains. We asked for a mountain view, but you can still hear the peaceful sounds of the rushing river.

The grounds are beautiful. You can take a walk through rose gardens and chat with locals. Overall fantastic experience.

Plenty of hiking and historic sites nearby too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Quite a drive to this hotel, road not so good. When you arrive, the building looks a little austere, maybe like a government building, but once you enter, it was quite delightful! I was lucky enough to be given a room with a separate bedroom, very clean, very comfortable and very spacious. The views from the room over the little river and surrounding mountains were superb. The hotel bar was good - quite well stocked and with reasonable prices. Small complaint - no draught beer, only bottled! But this is a minor problem. Outside the bar is a seating area with beautiful views, and so peaceful. The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful, and most spoke good English. Breakfast was excellent - the hotel tries to cater for all tastes, with hot and cold selections; most of the food was locally produced. There is a small souvenir shop selling high-quality goods. I had a really lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dzoraget
19.6 mi away
Tufenkian Old Dilijan Complex
21.4 mi away
Best Western Paradise Hotel Dilijan
19.2 mi away
Diligence Hotel
Diligence Hotel
#4 of 5 in Dilijan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanahin Bridge
Sanahin Bridge
#1 of 1 in Alaverdi
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Areg Hotel
Areg Hotel
#21 of 70 in Yerevan
118 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ani Resort
Ani Resort
#1 of 1 in Artavaz
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel

Property: Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel
Address: Dzoraget, Dzoraget 2035, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Lori Province > Dzoraget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dzoraget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 160 km north from Yerevan, the hotel marks the middle of the main road between the capitals of Armenia and Georgia. Although it was built in 2004, Tufenkian's Avan Dzoraget hotel is designed to evoke the historical romance and excitement associated with the medieval Armenian castle. Avan Dzoraget Hotel has 54 rooms.Spacious lounge areas and bedrooms are stylish and luxurious, with handcrafted decor and finest amenities. Room furnishings include bedside tables and desks crafted from iron and local basalt. The hotel offers on site activities such as horseback riding, hiking, village life tours, cooking classes etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing