We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lime Tree Bay Resort(Layton)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Marathon - Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort(Key Colony Beach)(Great Value!)
$759
$549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsail Resort Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,218
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,891)
Filter reviews
4,891 results
Traveler rating
2,106
1,429
718
379
259
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,106
1,429
718
379
259
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin experiencemain poolbeach grillsunset villagetranquility poolocean restaurantkids clubsalt water lagoonfire pitlagoon areaadult poolswimming with the dolphinsthe main hotelbedroom villakey westfamily poolsunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,880 - 1,885 of 4,891 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile

My parents surprised the family with 3 days at Hawk Cay, and it was a beautiful weekend. The villa was clean when we arrived, with a beautiful backyard area. But once we settled in, we did notice some issues. The wi-fi was inconsistent and didn't work at times. The phones didn't work. A cabinet door was broken off it's hinges, and a few lights didn't work. Because we were six, we needed to use the pull out, but there weren't any extra linens. When we called the front desk to get a other set, no one answered and we had to call again, only to never have the extra set of linens be delivered.

Otherwise, we had a great time and enjoyed the few amenities we did use. The pool was gorgeous, as was the bonfire beside it.

Altogether, we didn't spend much time there as we were out exploring most of the days, but when we were there, we liked it just fine.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent trip with us at Hawks Cay Resort. It’s a pleasure to learn that your family enjoyed your time and that you appreciated the beauty of our resort. We do regret to hear that you had a few issues in your villa, and we hope you’ll accept our apologies for them. It’s our hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014

Hawks Cay is still the best place to stay for a family in the keys, but it wasn't what if use to be. The 5 pools and kids area is ideal for families. Not to mention the 5 restaurants on premise give it variety. The service is still top notch, but the room/villa's are starting to age and so is the infrastructure. You will notice when you pull up the pavers are all uneven at the entrance and when you look around everything is a little rough around the edges. It's still a nice place but I would not pay more than $250 a night. They charge $39 a night for resort fee, which is reasonable since it includes valet parking, activities, towels & wifi (which doesn't work in most of villas across the street).

BTW: Currently the marina store is under reno, so there is no place to pick up supplies; like coffee for the coffee maker in our villa since they did not provide it. Make sure you bring everything before staying at the villas.

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Prowler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Hawks Cay. We’re happy you chose to come back to our resort, and that you feel it’s the best place for a family vacation in the Keys. We appreciate your feedback regarding the entrance area, and will be sure to share it with our management. We’re currently in the final phase of our multi-million dollar renovation, and we hope you will return in the near future to see all we’ve done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and my brother in law booked a villa here for 3 days in December. From the get go things went badly wrong. We were told we would have wifi. The initial villa neither had wifi nor did the phone work. We got in at 9 pm and we're told that we would have to change villas at 10 pm. With two kids (6 and 3) we were forced to relocate at 10 pm because the phone and wifi could not be fixed. The new place was supposedly an upgrade but turned out to the exact same type of villa. This new villa did not have the shower working. The next day after repeat complaining we had people show up at 10 pm when the kids were trying to sleep. They could not fix the problem so we were stuck with the same lousy shower till late afternoon the next day. After complaining to the manager we just got our resort fee knocked off and 1 day of free house cleaning and 100 dollar credit. I thought for all we had been put through this was lousy recompense.

Overall lousy experience and we came away more stressed than relaxed with the repeat complaining and lack of a functional unit. Manager andrew helped us out but manager Jason was a lot of talk and nothing to show for it. He took down my phone number and promised to talk to upper management to get me additional credit for the lousy service. I never got a call. This guy was lousy to work with.

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank anantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We deeply regret the issues you experience with your villas. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you detail here. Please rest assured that we have taken good note of your concerns and will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014

We have stayed at HC for my December birthday for the past 3 years. It is far enough away that you feel like you are getting away, but close enough that the drive doesn't feel forever. Perfect for families as there is so much to do. The Indie's Club is a fantastic perk for those with kids. The 6 year old cousins enjoyed playing on the pirate ship water area, swimming in their own special pool, playing mini golf (the adults were more competitive than the kids), soccer, and football. They have all the equipment you need!

This year, I was gifted a massage at the Spa. I wasn't sure if being next to Indie's would distract from my relaxing experience and happily, it didn't. Beautiful spa and a very enjoyable massage.

Our first year, we had a second floor resort room with a balcony overlooking the pool and water. Loved that room. Last year, we were upgraded to a Lanai room. I thought that was my favorite room. Loved how my son could go back and forth from the pool and beach to the room. This year, we were in the Presidential Suite on the third floor. It was perfection. The height allowed us to see more views.

We ate at Ocean for breakfast and dinner. Loved both meals. Also ate at the Beach Grill at the tables. They have updated the menu and it is definitely improved with their menu offerings.

Already planning next year and hoping the new restaurant Angler and Ale is open. Hawk's Cay is our paradise.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a waterfront room or at least one with a balcony. If there is no balcony, the view is probably not as nice. While this resort is super family friendly, couples can find private romance. Just ask to have your room near the adults only Tranquility pool or get a villa! There is also an additional resort fee. Don't be scared! It pays for a lot of benefits!
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChristinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

We are thrilled that you love Hawks Cay Resort so much you come back year after year. It’s wonderful to read about all the ways you and your family enjoyed our many amenities and activities. It is truly an honor to be a part of a wonderful family tradition, and that you consider our resort your family’s paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2014

We actually stayed at a owners condo in hawks cay,used the pool ,fished ,very clean,spacious two bedroom ,2/12 bathroom,watched the big boats go by ,right in the middle of the keys,went to key west for a day and evening ,only a little more than an hour from duck key

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suwwoz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our Hawks Cay Resort. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay from our water activities to our central location. We hope you'll visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews