We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
BayView Inn Motel and Marina(Conch Key)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lime Tree Bay Resort(Layton)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Marathon - Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort(Key Colony Beach)(Great Value!)
$759
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsail Resort Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,218
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,891)
Filter reviews
4,891 results
Traveler rating
2,106
1,429
718
379
259
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,106
1,429
718
379
259
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin experiencemain poolbeach grillsunset villagetranquility poolocean restaurantkids clubsalt water lagoonfire pitlagoon areaadult poolswimming with the dolphinsthe main hotelbedroom villakey westfamily poolsunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,882 - 1,887 of 4,891 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and my brother in law booked a villa here for 3 days in December. From the get go things went badly wrong. We were told we would have wifi. The initial villa neither had wifi nor did the phone work. We got in at 9 pm and we're told that we would have to change villas at 10 pm. With two kids (6 and 3) we were forced to relocate at 10 pm because the phone and wifi could not be fixed. The new place was supposedly an upgrade but turned out to the exact same type of villa. This new villa did not have the shower working. The next day after repeat complaining we had people show up at 10 pm when the kids were trying to sleep. They could not fix the problem so we were stuck with the same lousy shower till late afternoon the next day. After complaining to the manager we just got our resort fee knocked off and 1 day of free house cleaning and 100 dollar credit. I thought for all we had been put through this was lousy recompense.

Overall lousy experience and we came away more stressed than relaxed with the repeat complaining and lack of a functional unit. Manager andrew helped us out but manager Jason was a lot of talk and nothing to show for it. He took down my phone number and promised to talk to upper management to get me additional credit for the lousy service. I never got a call. This guy was lousy to work with.

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank anantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We deeply regret the issues you experience with your villas. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you detail here. Please rest assured that we have taken good note of your concerns and will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014

We have stayed at HC for my December birthday for the past 3 years. It is far enough away that you feel like you are getting away, but close enough that the drive doesn't feel forever. Perfect for families as there is so much to do. The Indie's Club is a fantastic perk for those with kids. The 6 year old cousins enjoyed playing on the pirate ship water area, swimming in their own special pool, playing mini golf (the adults were more competitive than the kids), soccer, and football. They have all the equipment you need!

This year, I was gifted a massage at the Spa. I wasn't sure if being next to Indie's would distract from my relaxing experience and happily, it didn't. Beautiful spa and a very enjoyable massage.

Our first year, we had a second floor resort room with a balcony overlooking the pool and water. Loved that room. Last year, we were upgraded to a Lanai room. I thought that was my favorite room. Loved how my son could go back and forth from the pool and beach to the room. This year, we were in the Presidential Suite on the third floor. It was perfection. The height allowed us to see more views.

We ate at Ocean for breakfast and dinner. Loved both meals. Also ate at the Beach Grill at the tables. They have updated the menu and it is definitely improved with their menu offerings.

Already planning next year and hoping the new restaurant Angler and Ale is open. Hawk's Cay is our paradise.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a waterfront room or at least one with a balcony. If there is no balcony, the view is probably not as nice. While this resort is super family friendly, couples can find private romance. Just ask to have your room near the adults only Tranquility pool or get a villa! There is also an additional resort fee. Don't be scared! It pays for a lot of benefits!
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChristinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

We are thrilled that you love Hawks Cay Resort so much you come back year after year. It’s wonderful to read about all the ways you and your family enjoyed our many amenities and activities. It is truly an honor to be a part of a wonderful family tradition, and that you consider our resort your family’s paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2014

We actually stayed at a owners condo in hawks cay,used the pool ,fished ,very clean,spacious two bedroom ,2/12 bathroom,watched the big boats go by ,right in the middle of the keys,went to key west for a day and evening ,only a little more than an hour from duck key

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suwwoz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our Hawks Cay Resort. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay from our water activities to our central location. We hope you'll visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2014

From the moment our car was opened by the staff, to check in, to our 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths, with 2 patios over looking the water, was perfect. Staff was top notch, and always went out of their way to answer questions, or help out. Buffet breakfast, or a la carte at the beautiful Alma restaurant was excellent. The beach Grill staff were prompt and very polite. Large clean pool, children love it. Adult pool (21 +), with hot tub, nestled away, with water views was serene. The dolphin feeding and training (on site) was such a fantastic treat! Children and adults were in aw. The ALMA restaurant was outstanding. Food was delicious. We will be back.
A very special THANK YOU to Roger A. :)

Room Tip: 2 bedroom villas were roomy and great for entertaining. Kitchen was fully stocked. Lots of natural light - beautiful. If something was missing, housekeeping would deliver.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnysur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2014

But this ticked all the boxes. I spend winters in Fort Lauderdale on the beach so I'm accustomed to ocean views and I was very impressed with this location. Easy access from South Florida--driving to Key West can be a drag, one road in and out.
I stayed in a double queen lanai (walkout to pool) and it was very cool. Our view was: pool, ocean= perfection. We spent most of our 2 days in the adult pool. Beautifully furnished and tranquil. This is a very large property with no shortage of activities for all. Tennis, water sports, massive kids area, dolphins:). I used the gym and all equipment was new and clean.
Wifi worked just fine--I streamed movies no problem.. We ate in all restaurants, (mostly seafood) and poolside, and we enjoyed all our food with the exception of the pizza--I don't think the pizza oven was working.
Service was top notch. Starbucks coffee available in lobby to buy if desired. Coffee pods are in the room as well as small fridge.
Very relaxing and would not hesitate to recommend. There has obviously been lots of money put into this property lately --hence the small areas still under reno, but it wasn't intrusive.

Room Tip: King lanai rooms face the adult pool and south. Double queen rooms face family pool and north--no sun
Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2014

We’re thrilled to read your glowing review of Hawks Cay. We love reading about how you spent your time at our resort, and how much you enjoyed our many amenities, our dining options and other services. We are in the midst of the final phase of our multi-million dollar renovation, and we love to know how much our guests are enjoying everything we’ve done. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews