We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - some service issues”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place - some service issues”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed June 19 - 22. Was a mix of business and pleasure for my wife and I tagged along for the pleasure part.

Property:
Located on Duck Key, the property is attached to a fairly exclusive residential community on the island. Marathon key is a few minutes to the south and it appears to attract as a quick getaway for residents in the Miami area as well as small conferences. The hotel has a nice layout that includes an enclosed “lagoon” swimming area in addition to a main and adult pools. Two main restaurants are on property. There are two outside bars and a main bar just off the lobby area. A good portion of the resort is dedicated to fishing/boating guests with docking facilities available. Weddings appear to be frequently booked so expect some areas to be reserved accordingly. A unique feature is the dolphin pool that hosts 4 dolphins available for guest interaction programs. Boat/fishing trips, diving, para-sailing, etc. can be arranged through at the main lobby or through the main desk.

Our Room:
We spent 3 nights in one of the main building rooms - a king bed overlooking the adult pool. The balcony view was wonderful as we could enjoy coffee with a view of the ocean through the trees. The room was very clean with an over sized bathroom and large walk-in shower. A k-cup coffee maker, fridge and safe were in the room. The TV reception was not that great with a poor picture on most channels. The $29 resort fee includes wi-fi and the internet connection we experienced was OK.

Parking:
Valet parking is included as part of the resort fee. There are additional areas for those with boat trailers. We found the valet staff to be very attentive and professional.

Restaurants/Bars:
As mentioned, there are two main dining locations – one that features a buffet area and the other with traditional seating. There is a grill type service that handles bar food around the pool area. Drinks and food can be ordered poolside. There is a small Starbucks operating out of the lobby gift shop. If staying for more than a few days, the limited dining options may get old. Food was very good and we ate from the bar menu and enjoyed the breakfast buffet

The downsides:

- We booked a sunset boat cruise that had to be cancelled due to weather. We were told our reservation would be moved to the next evening. The next day we happened to stop by the main lobby desk to confirm and was told that our reservation had been cancelled because of a group booking for the boat. When asked when they were planning to inform us of the cancellation the "reply" was pretty much just a blank stare. Bottom line was that if we hadn't stopped by the desk to check, we would not have known of the cancellation until we showed up at the dock.

- For a resort, the beer selection was pretty limited. The bar staff did not appear to know the difference between an ale or a lager. A bit disappointing considering the clientele this resort is attempting to target. I admit to being a "beer snob" but do think bartenders should at least know the basics of what they are serving.

- We observed a family with a toddler in the adult pool. The area is clearly marked that only guests over 21 are permitted in the area. Several hotel staff simply walked right by, taking no action.

- While we sat on our balcony for early morning coffee we watched other guests placing towels on chairs around the pool early in the morning to reserve them and simply walking away to return later in the day - similar to the chair hogs found on cruise ships. One couple did this to a group of 7 chairs.

- Trash was visible under bushes around the lagoon area. Looks like it had been there for a few days.

- On checkout, front desk staff did not ask how our stay was – simply if there were any problems with the bill. Can only assume management is not interested in any guest feedback.

Summary: Rooms are nice and property is maintained. Interesting features such as a lagoon pool and dolphin pool. Service tended to be a bit lacking at times. With an off-season rate in the mid $200 along with a $29 “resort fee” there are better values. We would probably stay again for a few days but any longer period we would want something closer to Key Largo or Key West with more nightlife and dining options.

Room Tip: If possible, south facing rooms overlooking adult pool area. These are considered "island view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webcomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
At our resort, we are committed to providing our guests with superior service to ensure that their visit is the best it can be. Your feedback regarding your booking for the Sunset Boat Cruise has been addressed with our management team and we do apologize for any inconveniences or frustrations this may have caused you. Thank you for sharing your detailed review and photos. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Hawk's Cay Resort and my only regret is that we had stayed longer! We were 4 families with children ranging from 2-12 years old. We stayed in the main hotel on the first floor. I was a little nervous about staying on the first floor but it really worked out well for us with kids and very convenient to access from the pool area. Our room had two queen size beds and a bunk bed (queen-size bed on the bottom). Housekeeping staff were nice but really didn't do much more than make our beds. Also, they do not take the towels from the swimming pool out of the room. They leave them there wet on the bathroom floor. There should be more coordination on this. We did not have a view or a balcony but didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep so that was fine with us. We spent most of our time at the pool or lagoon area. My kids loved the lagoon, jumping off the dock in the middle, and renting kayaks with their cousins. Directly next to the swimming lagoon is the dolphin lagoon. We did not do the dolphin experience it is pricey at the resort but enjoyed watching others and seeing these beautiful creatures in action. The resort has an Indies Club for kids with lots of activities. The pirate ship was closed but they had huge blow up water slides…2 for older elementary school kids and 1 smaller crocodile slide for the younger kids. There is also a putt-putt golf course we wanted to try but not enough time. There is so much to do outside Hawk's Cay as well…we enjoyed a Snorkel Trip, Fishing Trip and day trip to Key West. Remember this is the Florida Keys so the habitat is very natural, Old Florida style…you will not see huge sandy beaches but will enjoy smaller beaches at the many State Parks close by. There are lots of restaurants off Duck Key approximately 12 miles away in Marathon.. Island Fish Company was great and check out the lobsters living under the dock before you leave…It was an awesome family vacation for us! We will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are delighted that you and your family had the chance to enjoy so many of our amenities we offer at the Hawks Cay Resort. Your kind words for our resort are sincerely appreciated as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We are truly honored that you look forward to returning as it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in one of the two bedroom villas for four nights. Our villa was not close to the amenities but overlooked the marina which had a very nice view. The kitchenette and living area were fine.The bedrooms were tiny and the bathrooms just adequate. The room our teenage children shared had twin beds but the room was so small there was barely space to turn around. The television in the master bedroom only had one channel reception and the overhead light in the kitchen was burned out. Our first night there the A/C broke and the office was closed when we called. We called again in the am and they sent someone out within a few hours and fixed it. The gym was outdated and run down. None of televisions worked and several pieces of equipment were out of order. We liked the proximity to Marathon Key (closest grocery store is here) and Key West, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want proximity to the pool stay in the hotel or request a villa that is closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsmith60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We will share your comments with both our management and maintenance team as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for our future guests. We do apologize if your stay in our villas did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to announce in the coming months our resort will be undergoing updates and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just got back from Hawks Cay Resort. We went for 6 nights for our honeymoon. All of the valet workers and housekeeping staff were very friendly and would do anything for us. The front desk and store staff left much to be desired. We had a few issues when we first arrived and when calling the front desk nothing was done. It took 4 phone calls to have them send someone up to clean the shower. Once the housekeeping supervisor (Jennifer) came and cleaned it she was very helpful the rest of the week. One thing to keep in mind when staying in the hotel rooms is that they do have a very small fridge but no microwave or anything to cook food for yourself on so you are pretty much stuck to eating room service or from one of the 4 restaurants on the property. They are all very good but the bad thing is they close at 10 pm. The bars on property close at 11. If you are a night owl I would suggest staying elsewhere. The property manager John was very helpful in assisting in solving our problems once he was made aware of them because I tweeted about them. Like I said before the people working the desk need some training in customer service.
Overall we had a great stay after 3 okay days we had 3 great days. We would visit again but will probably stay in a Villa next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a island view room which was right over the front parking area, our balcony had palm le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank candk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Congratulations! We are truly honored that you choose to spend your honeymoon here at the Hawks Cay Resort. Thank you for sharing your impressions of our resort and letting us know about those aspects of your stay that you enjoyed as well as those that you were less impressed with. Your feedback will allow us to identify areas where we can make improvements. It’s always great to hear when a guest looks forward to returning and we appreciate your loyalty. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed twice. Once I. December in a sunset villa. They have great views! But those villas are a bit tight.

This week we stayed at the Harbor Villa. First.....they botched our reservations. We asked for the villa that had handicap accessibility. I was asked if we needed wheel chair accessibility which we didn't. We assumed that handicap accessibility would have given is rails to help my motherinlaw in and out of the shower and toilet. Good thing I called a couple of days before checking in. We were told nope it did not. My mil no longer wanted to come for fear of falling. When I called again to see if we could switch to a handicap room with bars they could put us in a smaller room with less beds then we had people. I explained this was to have been a family vacay. And our disappointment. Nothing was offered.

Once we were there at cheek in I was told that something may have been done had I spoken to the right person???? What???

Still no offer to discount or even a simple apology.

Aside from that the villa at the harbor was very nicely and very roomy. However they say there are basic kitchen supplies....I would assume that would include a fry pan. A spatula. A sponge? Nope.

The cleaning staff was friendly and helpful. They stopped by daily to grab trash and see what we needed.

The property was clean but came to find out over runned with folks from other small motels who came to use these facilities. Not a big deal except when you stay on property and you can't get empty chairs by the lagoon or pool.

Food service: bar was good. Beachside restaurant is always good but the service was less desirable.

We will stay again hopefully better results.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and continued loyalty. We are committed to providing our guests with superior service to ensure their visit is the best that it can be. We will address your comments with our management team so that we may continue to make improvements and create a better experience for our future guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back and to go above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent two nights during Fathers Day weekend in a two bedroom villa. The villas were nice except it needed some touching up. The caulking was completely missing on the outside of the bathtub in one of the bathrooms, the carpet ended to be cleaned and the couch had some holes. I didn't let that take away from the experience there (villa 5022). I wish they would have renovated the Pirate Ship over the winter so my kids would have enjoyed it. All in all, it was a good resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayG623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the issues you had with your villa. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team as we renew our commitment to improving our future guest’s experience. We do regret that the Pirate Ship pool was temporarily closed for repair and we apologize for any inconveniences that your family may have experienced. We are pleased to announce in the coming months our resort will be undergoing updates and we hope to welcome you and your family back for an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Ignore all the negative nonesense this hotel is a great place to unwind.
we spent 9 nights and had a great time. The room was big and well appointed.
Tranquil pool area for over 21s was ideal. hot tub, pool, watching the dolphins all great
Donnie the poolside man was kind and helpful as were all the staff. Room cleaning staff very friendly doing a great job.
We are keen to go back as soon as we can.
Go to Lazy Days restaurant (20 miles north) for evening sea food awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their time with us and we greatly appreciate your perspective. Your kind comments about our resort and staff are very much appreciated. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawks Cay Resort on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing