We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and relaxing”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nice we got hawks cove on the Internet with a discount web site we wanted to do something different we knew of duck key and it would cost we paid 350. And got a huge and beuityful 2 bed room apt it was great on the water we only stayed one night but it was peaceful and relaxing we will be back .

Room Tip: Just ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hawks Cay Resort. It’s always our goal to create an inviting atmosphere for all of our guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
589 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This resort is pure class. The rooms are modern (my wife and I stayed in the hotel-like main building, although there are many options), the bathrooms are like something out of New York, and the poolside area is absolutely awesome. There is the main pool and also a lagoon-type swimming area. There is also an adjoining area where at least two dolphins reside and are cared for extremely well.

While I thought Ocean, the on-site restaurant, could have featured a bit more variety, overall this was a great visit and I would definitely return again.

J. Randolph Smith
Monroe, LA

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrsmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort. Providing guests with great service and terrific accommodations are top priorities for us as we wish to create a memorable experience for everyone. The next time you are visiting the Keys, we hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay. Loved the location and resort layout. The staff are not trained to deliver superior guest service especially at that price level. The rooms are average. The main lobby furnishings are worn and stained. Overall the grounds do not have that fresh, clean and manicured feel. The lagoon area is wonderful yet not kept clean. The carpets, walls just seem very worn. Overheard many similar comments while there from other guests. Both restaurants we dined at informed us that several items on their menu were not available. There is confusion during the valet arrival process as well as the check in and check out process. It must have been an amazing place to visit years ago. They are selling it as an upscale resort but it lacks that upscale level of service and product.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MSadekWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions of our resort. We welcome all guests’ feedback and are always grateful when a guest lets us know about their experience with us. Your comments about our valet staff and resort will be forward to our management team so that we can make improvements and create a better experience for all of our future guests. We hope that you will one day return so that we can provide you with the experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a wonderful 6 night stay at Hawk's Cay. Loved the grounds and the pools. The Lagoon pool was very nice. Our room was very large and nice with daily coffee. We had a huge balcony with a pool and ocean view. There are many amenities on this property. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The only issue I had was we did an very early checkout and the desk attendant seemed a little irritated that I asked for a printed copy of my bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dizzneegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us about your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort. We are delighted that not only was our staff attentive to your needs but that you had the chance to enjoy so many of our amenities during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hawks Cay, you can tell it used to be a nice resort.
The resort has a nice lay out and some nice amenities. Our room was nice and clean and in good shape, but the resort is tired and needs to be updated.
We felt the resort is marketing it self as a upscale place (and still charging that way) and at one time it was.
The staff is friendly but seem/are unexperienced, and this applies all the staff we interacted with. A lot of the staff did not seem to know what to do when you had a question and did nothing to try to help. Messed up one of our meals and said they would fix it, 10 minuets later came back to the table and asked if we still wanted it, said not at this point and he said OK and walked away. Maybe the staff is tired before they get there because they are coming down from Miami.
The quality of the food is very low, do not know what else to say about it.

The resort needs to ;
Upgrade the training of their staff.
Update the common areas.
Clean the public bathrooms.
Bring the food up to a higher standard

Room Tip: Stay in one of the villas away from the hotel. Do not eat in the restaurants and keep your interacti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDeanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Nothing disappoints us more than to hear that overall customer satisfaction was lacking during your stay. Your specific examples will allow us to work with our team to ensure our highest level of customer service is met. Thank you for sharing your review. Hopefully we can regain your trust and welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
324 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in Sunset Village section and enjoyed a magnificent sunset from both decks each evening. The convenience of the full kitchen was much appreciated. Our villa was comfortable but could use a little updating. The grounds are beautiful and serene with a free shuttle service. This resort is very family friendly with many options for the youngins. We enjoyed lunch at the Beach Grill, indulged in decadent drinks poolside and savored dinner at the Ocean Restaurant. Every staff member we encountered were friendly, helpful and professional. Hawks Cay seems to take up most of Duck Key although we enjoyed seeing the opulent private homes that are past the periphery of Hawks Cay proper.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review and photos of your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort. It’s always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their time with us and we greatly appreciate your kind comments about our staff and resort. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I had arrangements flight & hotel to be on South Beach for Memorial weekend this year. Let me begin by saying HUGE mistake. Not our scene!!! We couldn't wait to get out of there. My Boyfriend got on his iPad and started to make other arrangements. He came across this beautiful hotel. The food was outstanding the pool was tranquility. The gentleman at the guest service was Jermaine Carter and David Chambers. They were very inviting and welcoming. I do recommend the bike ride scroll around the nice neighborhood that was a lot of fun. We will definitely be returning here. One of the vallet staff informed us that there going to be working on some renovations/remodeling in a couple months. I am excited to see the transformation.

Room Tip: 3202 room. Gr8 view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
It sounds like you and your boyfriend had a great time during your visit to the Hawks Cay Resort and it truly makes us happy to read a review like yours as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your experiences and photo with us. We look forward to sharing them with our team. It was great to have you both stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
771 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing