We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They righted a wrong quickly.”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They righted a wrong quickly.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We checked in to a townhouse and were completely underwhelmed. Got our bearings and the next morning called for the email addresses of the manager on duty and the regional manager. Immediately after sending the email I was invited to a golf cart tour of comparable units available during our week. We moved out and in quickly and started our real spring break in a beautiful unit in the same area with the same views and had a fabulous time. Ou kids loved the sports at the Indies Club. They played water polo, volleyball, soccer, baseball, flag football, golf, and basketball. They loved the grill food and staying late at the pools. We kayaked, took two excursions to the Turtle Hospital and the Dolphin Research Center. Great food and ez lunch at Cracked Conch. Savannah Smiles (?) bakery had the best key lime pie. Go to the Publix and stock up on food. Use that kitchen to offset the silly "resort fee". We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We would like to apologize again if your first room was not up to your standards. We sincerely thank you for bringing your displeasure to our attention, so that we could do everything in our power to ensure the best possible experience with us. Once you were settled into your new room accommodations, it seems you and your family enjoyed a wonderful vacation! We are so delighted to know that we were able to rectify any concerns at the beginning of your trip to ensure a truly memorable experience. And we agree- Sweet Savannah’s produces some scrumptious sweets! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawks Cay Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th year to visit for Spring Break. Rented a 2 bedroom villa on the marina. Great unit and very spacious for 5. Staff at resort is amazing from check in to check out. We chartered "Tailwalker 2" again this year at the kids request. Captain Scott and first mate Tyler are fabulous and all 5 of us had a wonderful time. The staff at the marina (Beverly) are so nice and helpful. We offered the kids many options for where to go on spring break and they didn't even want to hear anything besides Hawks Cay. That says a lot. The staff at the Indies Club is great with the kids having many activities for them allowing the adults some down time. No matter the activity or area visited during our stay-staff is happy to help! This is probably our 9th or 10th visit (4 in a row) and we have never had anything other than a totally wonderful experience!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FredDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great fishing trip aboard Tailwalker 2! We are delighted to know that everyone had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your warm remarks regarding our staff and services. It truly warms our hearts to know how much your children enjoy our resort! We are excited to tell you that there will be numerous upgrades
happening throughout the resort this year, including a redesign of our Indies Club and children’s water features, which we know your kids will absolutely love! We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future, as it’s always a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Hawks Cay Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is in a great location with views over the sea from many angles. The rooms are good if in need of a little tlc. Bath could be a problem. Bath and shower are together and the climb in is quite steep. Anyone with a slight disability or on the short side would find this very difficult.
Didn't like the fees. They add approx $30 a day to your stay for charges? Not included in your room rate and they still expect tips. It is expensive and this was a little annoying.
Pool, sea areas very nice with a tranquil area, including a separate pool, for anyone over 21.
Nice touch as quite a few little people in the larger pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive remarks regarding our adult only tranquility pool. We are happy to know that you enjoyed this luxury during your stay with us. Regarding our bath amenities, please know that we never expect our guests to endure inconveniences while staying with us. We do offer specialty villas, which are handicap accessible. Our resort fee covers a wide range of amenities from wireless Internet access, transportation throughout the resort, self and valet parking, etc and we do regret any inconveniences with this charge. We appreciate your guest perspective and hope you will consider visiting Hawks Cay Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hawks Cay is the perfect resort for some but not all. You need to keep your eyes wide open. I think the best value is for families who take advAntage of all facilities, the pool, tennis courts, Indies Club.
We enjoyed our trip but the money was excessive. We had booked on Hotwire. I read the reviews so was prepared to be treated poorly. That did not happen. However, check in went the direction others had complained about. I had asked about availability of a king bed. At check in they said they were giving us a room with a king and bunk beds. Sounded too much like a hostel for me. We upgraded and paid a $100 additional nightly charge for water view king. This had a balcony overlooking the mail poll and out to ocean. It was not a relaxing situation. The pool was incredibly loud. The room was nice but I would never pay their rate for this room.
The grounds are beautiful. I enjoyed walking the streets of Duck Key.
We did not eat on site. We did Starbucks coffee and enjoyed going out for midafternoon lunches.
Our room also was cleaned daily between 3-4.
The $29 resort fee is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Pay close attention and ask. To see room prior to agreeing to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cside04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent experience with us at Hawks Cay Resort. It is disappointing to know that you did not enjoy the relaxing getaway you were expecting. We wish to create a relaxing and memorable experience for each of our guests and always encourage our guests to reach out to management whenever there is an issue with their accommodations. We do regret that we did not have the opportunity to relocate you to another room and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Spent 5 days at Hawks Cay and had an incredible time. Great food, nice facilities, and a beautiful setting. They lagoon is also nice, and perfect for swimming or lounging by. Every staff member we encountered was more than helpful, and all extremely polite. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tel730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
How wonderful! We’re always happy to read when a guest’s experience reflects the high standards of customer service we wish to deliver. Thank you for your kind recognition of our staff members, as we feel our employees are our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our daughter got married at Hawks Cay so we were part of a wedding package. The resort itself is very beautiful and first class. The rooms were very nice, the bed and pillows wonderful and the bathroom very roomy. I liked the makeup mirror and the stool provided. It was very nice but we don't do alot of the activities offered. The food was very good and they had quite a variety of eating places at the resort. It was very expensive, and I feel it was on the excessive side. When you pay almost $40 for two sandwiches and no drink, puts a dent in the budget. If you can afford to stay here, enjoy it, just make sure you have plenty on your credit card! Our only negative besides the price was the house cleaning on the first day. We needed to get ready for the wedding at 5 and when we went up to the room at 4, the room was not even touched. We had to complain and it was done by 5.

Room Tip: the balcony's are a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are so honored that your daughter chose to celebrate her big day at Hawks Cay Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share the highlights of your trip, as well as the areas that fell below your expectations. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies if our housekeeping service did not meet your expectations on this special day. Thank you for bringing this concern to our immediate attention so we were able to ensure a clean room before 5pm. We offer great hotel discounts online and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at one of the sunset villas at HKR from 3/22-3/25. I have to admit that we were very nervous because we got a great deal online through a third party booking site. After booking we learned that the villas were privately owned and became nervous that we would not get what we saw in the pictures. Let me tell you, we could NOT have been happier with our accommodations. Our villa had everything we needed, and we were happy to find that there were two queen bedrooms, both with bathrooms and an extra half bath downstairs. One of the rooms even had a balcony upstairs that faced the water. It was meticulously clean and everything we needed was in the kitchen.
As we read in other reviews, the dining ON-Resort was overpriced and frankly, nothing special at all. However, after flying five hours from CA and driving another three from Ft. Lauderdale airport, we were exhausted and starving. We ate at a bar near the pool (which was teaming with children), this meal was not very good, we all had the fish which was $25.00 a plate. Each of us had a different type of fish and none of us were very pleased. Our bill wound up being about $300 for the four of us before tip. NOT unexpected since we drank so much (Shipwreck Coladas are AMAZING), but we would have expected higher quality food.
As two adult couples with no children, we found the main pool to be a chaotic hazard, however just around the corner there is a Tranquility / adults only pool. It was amazing and relaxing. Big Iguanas were walking around, but that was kind of a treat.
My recommendation for this resort is to enjoy the accommodations, enjoy the drinks, but be sure to eat offsite as much as possible. Be adventurous! You will enjoy better food and lower prices. That's probably with all resorts though!
We all decided that we will be back..... after we have children. It seemed like a kids dream with so many activities for them to do. Parents could send kids to activities and enjoy some R&R.

Room Tip: Sunset villas were wonderful. I hear there are older rooms and newer rooms. Ours were new and we LOV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristin343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We're truly happy that we were able to exceed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your experience in one of our villas. While we are pleased to know that we have met your needs, we hope you'll accept our sincere apologies if we let you down with our food quality. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. We are currently working on new and exciting programs specifically geared toward adults. The exciting changes will include upgrading our Tranquility Pool and adding an elevated level of service! Whether planning a family getaway or trip for two, we hope to see you back at Hawks Cay Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,312 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
771 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing