We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We brought our 13 year old here for a diving/fishing trip and it was a great place to stay. The location was the best part - near both SCUBA (go Dive Duck Key!) and fishing (Lee Lucas!). We enjoyed the pool and the ocean 'pond' area - rented a kayak for an hour and that was good. The food was fine, but not exceptional, at the Ocean restaurant. Bar was very good, wait-staff very responsive and kind. Room clean and nice but the view was mediocre... that was not important to us as we only spent a small amount of time in the room, mostly sleeping. Great place overall for us!

Room Tip: If you are concerned about view from the room make sure you ask about it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit with us at Hawks Cay Resort. We are delighted that our location worked out so perfectly for your diving and fishing trip. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,845)
There are newer reviews for Hawks Cay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,284 - 2,290 of 4,845 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Hawks Cay Resort property location is beautiful. The grounds are lush and the water is beautiful. It is unfortunate that you have to go inside the resort as it falls down hard once you enter the lobby. On the surface many common areas look acceptable but if you look a little harder you see chips on the masonry, wood and dry rot, and mold on the outside surfaces. When we were there, the hotel computer system was down (3 days) and the hotel staff had to manually take orders on slips of paper. With a crowded resort, this made the wait time for any food and beverage unbearable. The Wi Fi was also down which made computer use near impossible even with 4G. The phone reception was terrible and the only way to pick up more than one bar was to go outside.
Upon arrival in our room (lanai premium room), we were shocked at its condition. Old and worn doesn't begin to describe the condition. We went to our lanai over looking the main pool and the lounger was ripped and torn. The outside walls had black mold running up the columns. I went to the front desk to complain and said quite bluntly "The room is a dump". He was kind enough to move us to another updated lanai room in the newer section. This room was OK except for the air conditioning. It was not working properly. We had the thermostats set at 60 degrees just to cool it off. The room felt wet and the sheets were damp the entire stay. Don't want to think about the health issues with that A/C.
The property was significantly understaffed. The staff as a whole were poorly trained. Service was very very slow and sloppy. I rate the food a 4 out of 10.
As a whole, the hotel experience was poor. I will not return. Such a shame because the location is 5 star. The owners need to put a significant amount of money into refurbishing this resort and return it to what it once was years ago..... not to mention better management staff and training for the employees. Otherwise I sadly see it going into further decline.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

First, we'd like to apologize for our slow Internet, as we have recently done a complete overhaul. Unfortunately during this process, outlets like our restaurants were affected, resulting in unacceptable wait times for our guests. Our team tried to make the best of the situation; however we are sincerely sorry if it was not enough. However, we do look forward to being able to offer our guests high-speed Internet in the future. We have numerous projects that will be happening throughout the resort this year that are sure to renew the property. We do hope that you will reconsider returning to our resort in the future and assure you that we will be making the necessary changes to improve your guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were at Hawks Kay first week in March for 4 days. Two couples, two 7 year olds. Stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. Very nice, good view, adequately equipped kitchen. Hung out by the pool each day which was fun. Pool food and beverage service very good. Dolphin encounter a great highlight for us. Restaurant food good, service friendly. Kids center a great asset but underused. Spa very nice. Overall a very good vacation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueclearsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed a great family vacation with us at Hawks Cay Resort! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for letting us know about the highlights of your trip. We know our other guests will appreciate your tips. We hope you'll think of us again the next time you plan a family getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had never been to the Keys and was looking for a resort that had kids stuff for my 6 and 8 year old. My kids went to the kids camp twice in the morning session. The kids said they liked it. There is miniature golf, a small soccer field, a basketball court etc. for the kids. The pool is good for the kids but there are no slides or diving boards and no life guards.
The service poolside is bad. If you want any kind of drink (water, coke, whatever) while watching your kids, you have to pretty much go get it yourself at the bar. If you want lunch, its faster if you go over to the bar and order it there.
We did the dolphin dockside thing, 60 bucks per head and expensive pictures. I didn't think it was worth it for myself, but I'm sure the kids won't forget it. A lot of money for a few minutes with the dolphins.
Our villa was a 2 bedroom 2 bath. Its a pain to keep going upstairs to go to the bathroom. A 2.5 bath would have been better. My parents were with us and they could have used a bath on the first floor. The maid service was average. If you want more than one visit from them in a 4 day time span, it is extra. We did call in a few things that were wrong with the condo and a repairman came out right away and fixed 2 items. The toilet still ran/cycled loudly in my parents room and kept them up. You are right on top of your neighbors in the villas. You have very high back porch walls but sound carries. Our canal view wasn't all that. An ocean view would be better even though those villas are further away from the main house and pools.
The grocery store is so over priced, go to Publix instead. The ice cream store was good. Their scoops are huge. Shakes were good also.
The resort is huge and it takes a few days to know your way around. We got lost in the beginning along with others.
The restaurants on the resort are average and way overpriced. We started to go out to dinner and had much better food and less expensive. For Room service they add 18% gratuity and 3 bucks. So my 12 dollar chicken sandwich was a lot more than that.
We used the pool a lot. There is no beach.
I would like to return to the keys, but I would try the rent a house or condo somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

While it was our pleasure to welcome you to our resort, we regret that our accommodations did not meet your needs or expectations. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back, as we trust that our staff can help find the perfect accommodations for next time to ensure the best possible experience with us at Hawks Cay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The resort is ok, but the additional resort fee is a clear money grab having you hostage on site, it's only $29 a day but it's the point. If it's to cover the items they list (resort wide internet*, valet or "self" parking, resort transportation) I wonder why the room rates are so high given the rooms par quality.
* regarding the internet for our week March 8-15 the internet was offline or intermittent for most of the stay, while we did get served a notice that it would be this way for some hours on 1 day to do upgrades the problems were and still not fixed.
Frankly I've had much better internet on islands than this resort can deliver. Not to mention fuzz cable reception on the tv, Christ put up a digital antenna it's free and far better quality.

There is no beach unless a beach in definition is 2-4 ft of useable sand around a man made lagoon.

The on resort restaurants are ok with nice decor, the staff were excellent and very engaging. I'd recommend visiting Marathon where the selection of dining type and views are many and much more cost effective.

The room was comfortable although you couldn't determine what time you could go back to your room to find it cleaned. Two days it was being done at 5 pm and three between 9-10 am and two undermined as we were away most of the day.

The bathroom is shower only, many hotels are going this way for the practical reasons, so if you're look for a tub to soak into you'll be out of luck. There are a number of minor maintenance issues but nothing that really effect our stay.

The on site dolphin experience both our kids (14-17) enjoyed.
There are 3 pool areas plus the lagoon all well maintained.

I won't be considering a return here I believe the resort can be better and offer much more for the amount it charges.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Woodzybcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

We appreciate your review and we regret that we were unable to fulfill our mission to exceed your expectations during your family's visit with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our Internet and TV service and appreciate your patience as we did have to do a complete overhaul of it to ensure that our guests now have high speed Internet. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our pool areas. We would love another opportunity to impress you and hope you will consider visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location and the staff they had were pretty good,
however there were simply not enough of them, resulting
in sketchy service - particularly in food and drink service.
We had to go to neighboring east and west keys for all but
one meal. The whole complex is getting a bit worn. Overall
it is still a fair experience but it is now questionable considering
the prices that they charge.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Charles K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We appreciate that you've given us this opportunity to improve and assure you that we have taken good note of these issues. We are excited to share with you that we have a number of exciting renovations happening around the resort this year and we hope you'll allow us the chance to welcome you back again to enjoy the finished product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After hearing so many things about this resort we decided to give it a try this past February. What a disappointment. We had to change condos 3 times. The staff was very nice couldn't say enough about them. As for the accommodations they are not at all what we had expected. Very dirty!!!
I understand that they are individually owned condos, but the management needs to do an inspection on a regular basis!
I did not see the hotel rooms but it seems like everything needs a facelift.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. While we are saddened that we did not live up to your expectations, we are grateful for your insightful review. We do try to renovate our accommodations on a revolving basis and are excited to share that we have numerous updates that will be happening throughout the resort this year. Thank you for taking time to mention our resort staff, as they are the ones that have the ability to make a vacation memorable. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range: $231 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing