We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawks Cay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$285
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,860)
Filter reviews
4,860 results
Traveler rating
2,088
1,419
718
378
257
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,088
1,419
718
378
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin experiencemain poolbeach grillsunset villagepirate shiptranquility poolocean restaurantkids clubsalt water lagoonfire pitlagoon areaadult poolswimming with the dolphinsthe main hotelbedroom villakey westfamily pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,355 - 2,360 of 4,860 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Do you like canned music? Starts at 9 am, ends at 10 pm. Loud. You can't escape, even in the rest rooms. Reverberated through our ocean view room, even with the door closed. Pounded through the floor. It's like the torture the US inflicted on Noriega--blast him out with loud music. People shout to be heard over the noise.

Bad cooking odors also wafted up to the balcony.

The resort is lovely, the rooms are nice. The service is spotty. I saw three doormen clowning around out front when a guest pushed open the heavy door himself. Restaurant service is similarly lackadaisical. No one on the staff ever smiles.

Food is okay. Breakfast strawberries are good except when they are left over from the previous day.

They made us pay the $29 resort fee even though we did not want to use the facilities the fee covers.

The dolphin feeding is a nice diversion. We didn't see anyone taking advantage of the dolphin encounters.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixilations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We appreciate your feedback though deeply regret if you encountered any inconveniences or frustrations during your stay. We are thankful that you've shared your concerns regarding our music and will pass your comments along to the appropriate departments. Please accept our sincere apologies if you did not experience the relaxing stay you were expecting. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We just returned from our vacation to Hawk's Cay. We stayed in a Harbor Villa and loved our accommodations. It was a perfect fit for our young family of 6. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the Indies Club, taking advantage of the sports court, daily fun challenges and their ice cream. The staff was so friendly and really engaged with my kids. We would highly recommend the dolphin experience. It was a highlight for our whole family. There is a height requirement of 4'6" which limited us to the dockside experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LQGirl1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation with us! We are happy to know that our accommodations were the perfect fit for your family. The Dolphin Connection is certainly a favorite among our guests and we are glad to see that it was a highlight of your trip. We hope to welcome you back to the Hawks Cay Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The resort is nice and the staff is friendly, but there are numerous hidden charges that make this a rather costly vacation. Food was good at the resort restaurants but the drinks are pricey. Having spent time there I don't understand what the $29 resort fee is going towards. Everything is a la carte.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hawks Cay Resort. Our resort fee covers a wide-range of amenities including wireless Internet access; transportation throughout the Resort; self and valet parking; daily access to Indies Club and Calm Waters Fitness Center; unlimited use of our Putting Course, Sports Field, hard and clay court Tennis Facility; local and toll free phone calls; and additional seasonal inclusions. We regret any inconveniences and hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Keys aren't for everyone. Few good beaches. Fishing focused. Limited restaurant offerings. But they can be a great get away for cold-weary northern folk looking for warmth and a laid back atmosphere. And Hawk's Cay fits the bill nicely. The location is right in the middle of the Keys. The resort caters to adults, families, and newly weds without losing its attraction for each. That's tough to pull off. The staff are welcoming and warm. The rooms are comfortable. The facilities are rich and varied covering every possible interest from swimming to biking to lounging to talking; each available on a moment's change of mind. The food ranges from ok to great. The breakfast is ok. Lunches are good. Dinner (at Alma's) is great. The only complaint was the use of cellphones and portable music boxes in the adult pool quiet area. Some people just don't get that they aren't the only ones that exist. Would recommend this location to anyone looking to have a nice, quiet getaway with some fun and adventure lurking when you are looking for it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank VacLover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We truly appreciate you sharing your impressions of our Hawks Cay Resort and location. As you mentioned, we cater to adults, families and newlyweds and we greatly appreciate your encouraging remarks! We are grateful for your detailed review of our property and we hope you will allow us the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and i, with another couple shared a Marina Villa for 10 days at Hawk's Cay. The first floor was dated, but clean with a kitchen and decent sized den. But no bathroom on first floor you had to go up a flight of stairs to your bedroom to use bathroom. The bedrooms were tight with queen size beds and hardly any walking space. They had a dresser with a tv on it and a decent sized closet for clothes. My wife would have to jump over me to get out of bed if i was still sleeping. The bathroom was like a foot away from the side of the bed, with a nightstand blocking half the doorway to bathroom. All the doors were warped and didnt shut. The A/C worked great and the sunset view from the balcony was beautiful. The outdoor accomodations are awsome. The pools are clean,warm and beautiful scenery. The lagoon was great also bc it was colder than the pools and you could see the dolphins swimming in the backround. If you are going to hang around the pool and lagoon all day be ready to spend a small fortune on drinks and food. The staff is great and are on top of your every need. We had dinner at the OCEAN and ALMA. Both these restaurants have great food. My favorite snack was the Margarite pizza which i would order for late night. We were all pleased with this resort and would come back in a heartbeat. The rooms are a little crammed but next year i will try the hotel rooms instead of the villa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CIRO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your 10-day stay in our Marina Villa. We truly regret if you encountered any inconveniences and trust that our staff will be able to help find the perfect accommodations for next time. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our restaurants and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our pizza. It was a pleasure to accommodate you at our Hawks Cay Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews