We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-ma-zing!”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A-ma-zing!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's rare when you get an opportunity to experience such a beautiful place and enjoy amazing amenities! My kids loved the pirate ship pool, the lagoon/beach, and dolphins! The staff was super attentive and extremely friendly, especially with my toddler. When people like my kids, I like them, and we were met with smiles everywhere we went!

The sunset cruise and the main pool gave us adults a chance to relax. Towels were fresh and readily available. They also had FREE swimmer diapers at the pool, in case you ran out while poolside!

Fireside chairs allowed us to relax at night and we loved eating on the resort. The prices were more than reasonable and portion sizes were filling. :)

We will definitely be coming back0 to visit! This place is a gem!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words! We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the Hawks Cay Resort. It's always exciting to learn how our guests choose to spend their time with us so we greatly appreciate your detailed review regarding your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed quite the trip and we love your beautiful photos! We are happy to see that you enjoyed everything our resort has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    1,394
    708
    377
    253
See reviews for
2,490
1,282
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this resort for four days in late October with my boyfriend. We booked and paid a little extra for a king room with waterview. Unfortunately, when we checked in at 4 p.m., the resort did not have that room type available. They offered us a room on the first level overlooking the pool. We were disappointed and thought it would be a rather noisy location. However, the room was beautifully appointed and set back far enough from the pool so it was not noisy at all. Stewart at the check in desk also bought our first round of drinks as compensation for the mix up. The grounds are clean and manicured daily, the restaurants are pricey but to be expected inside a resort, and the staff are always available and helpful. We visited the adult only pool which was lovely, and swam in the resort's lagoon that also have waitstaff serving the lounge chairs. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a two-level patio with lounge chairs as well as a table and upright chairs. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We would like to take this time to apologize once again for the inconveniences that you and your boyfriend encountered at check-in. We do regret that we were unable to acknowledge your request for king size accommodations and are happy to know that our staff could help find the perfect alternative for your trip. Thank you for sharing your Hawks Cay Resort story with us. It seems like you enjoyed a wonderful four-day visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are looking to party all night but not for relaxation. We rented a villa here for four nights and we're very disappointed from the amenities issues (no coffee, internet didn't work 3 out of 4 days, no pool towels) to the atmosphere. Neighbors on both sides had parties and were drunk and loud to wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chikitychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We deeply regret to learn that your experience fell below your expectations. We strive to create a relaxing and enjoyable environment for each and every one of our guests and wish we had the opportunity to rectify any issues at the time of your visit. We never expect our guests to endure noise disruptions and do regret any difficulties with our Internet connection. We have taken good note of your concerns and will be passing them along to the appropriate departments. Furthermore, we apologize if you had any difficulties locating our pool towels. For a future stay, towels are provided at the resort pool and Indies Club. Thank you and we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernash, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to spend some time with the family or just relax on your vacations this resort is perfect.
Excellent service and excellent infrastructure. If you want to swim with the dolphins this is your place because in other places is a little bit more expensive. Anyway staying in Hawks Cay was a wonderful experience.
The only thing is that you have to be aware that they will charge you automatically the 18% gratuity on everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiwi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Hawks Cay Resort experience with us. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed a relaxing and carefree trip while visiting our area. It seems like you truly made the most out of your time here and enjoyed all of the great activities! We hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a small group stay at the Hawks Cay Resort for Labor Day. What a beautiful resort. We enjoyed the adults only serenity pool. The main pool had a large crowd but easily handled it. Food was very good but a little pricey. The accommodations themselves were very nice and spacious. ALL of the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. It is set on the water with a large number of boat slips. The resort also has its own man made lagoon to cool off in, as well as a dolphin encounter.

This resort is great for families, anglers, boaters, and pretty much everyone.

They had a country entertainer and fireworks to end the holiday weekend as an added bonus!

Room Tip: Water "view" rooms are not all good views of actual water due to all the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GunsandHosesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Visiting from Scotland for 5 nights. Booked online and everything is as shown, immaculately clean, superbly decorated and furnished, beautiful reception, pool and lagoon, and room and bathroom. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Staff very friendly in all areas. Great food options at all times of day. Perfect location for exploring the keys. Rooms have Keurig coffee machines which is great for coffee drinkers, I prefer tea and bring my own so asked for a kettle - they don't have any so slightly disappointing, but I can get a cup of hot water at reception or Starbucks outlet. We did trainer day with dolphins today, it was superb and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room with garden view, would go for sea view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassendeanbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, MD
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My family spent four days in a villa at the Hawks Cay Resort on Duck Key, Florida from October 18-22. The resort is beautiful and for the money it should be a paradise. Sadly that is not the case. The best part of the resort is the Dolphin Experience, other than that we would have been better off at a motel. The resort charges a $30/day resort fee, which is not unusual, but I have not found what that fee went for. There was a charge for bicycles, kayaks in the lagoon, and everything else including a $5 fee for my daughter to paint a coconut!! If you wanted clean towels in the villa you had to pay $35/day. The spa charged over $75 for a kids facial due to the included 18% gratuity. The first night we ordered a pizza from the hotel. In the menu (which was not in the room) the price was $15. When it was delivered a delivery fee and that lovely 18% gratuity were included to turn a $15 pizza in to a $31 pizza. We did not eat at the resort restaurants based on the reviews which all talked about lousy service and mediocre food, and they main complaint was the automatic 18% gratuity on all meals including the buffet breakfast. The villa was nice except for the lights not working on several lamps and the wasps nest on the deck. The pool at the villas did not have more than 10 chairs for all of the people in the area. People were carrying lounge chairs from the decks of their villas. We called about the wasps nest and were told that they wouldn't bother us...nice.
For $350/night plus fees and taxes I expected a great deal more. Being "Preferred Property" I certainly would have thought that the villas would be functioning and we would not have to call for bees, menus and trash pickup, but I guess we expected too much. Even the kids club charged a fee for everything. As far as we could tell nothing was included in the resort fee.

Needless to say we will plan our vacation better next time and look for a resort that considers its guests as special and not as if they were ATM's.

Room Tip: consider all of the additional fees before considering any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 212bradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,357 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing