We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for a vacation.”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice place for a vacation.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were looking for a kids friendly place close to home ( Miami ) for the long weekend,but not in Orlando or Tampa and a friend recommended Hawks Cay in Florida Keys. We rented a Sunset Villa and we loved it , really nice water views and a beautiful Sunset. Our Villa had a strange smell but we think it was because of the carpet, the rooms are a little small but big enough for a the queen beds. The pool for the kids was really nice and the one for the adults even better , we didn't like the salt water lagoon too much , but the kids had fun and the loved the dolphins too.
The food wasn't great and the buffet was really expensive for what they had to offer , so if you are renting a Villa make sure you take food to cook because they have a really nice kitchen.
We are thinking of coming back soon , but next time we want to stay a little bit longer.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Sunset Villas , unless you have a boat and you might want to get the Harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,267
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gmuff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had my boat there and spent a week at the hotel. I was totally blown away by how well the the employees are trained in customer service no matter what you do on the property you are greeted with a smile and a hello. The entire staff goes out of their way to be helpful.

The food in the restaurants was top notch and reasonably priced. I highly recommend the hotel and will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been here now for 4 full days with three days left before our vacation will end. Our stay has been wonderful. The staff have been very friendly and accommodating everywhere we went. We have had dinner at Ocean each night and the food & service has been excellent. Today we rented a boat at the marine for half day and went out snorkeling on our own and enjoyed a great day. We are now by the tranquility pool enjoying a nice quiet late afternoon cocktail before we go to dinner. We have not left yet but I know we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We rented a two bedroom villa for a week 7/21-7/28. The villa was filthy and was without the basic necessities. The walls were filthy, especially the bathroom walls. One of the bathrooms looked like someone had thrown up all over the walls and baseboards. It was sickening. I called housekeeping and they came over and cleaned again, but it this unit was in a need of serious painting, deep cleaning and just general maintenance. We were told the upkeep of the villa is done by the owners, but would you not think that the resort would check on them. The ceiling was leaking, the dishwasher kept falling out of the cabinet, and there were hardly any basic necessities. We had to ask for toilet paper, dish towels, etc. For the price of this resort, I expected better!! The kids club is a joke. They had a teen night on their schedule and my son and his two cousins went over for pizza. The two cousins were turned away and told there was no teen night and my son was charged $5.00 to play basketball outside. I spoke to the manager about these issues and the deplorable conditions of the villa. He told me he had no idea about the villas or the other terrible reviews on trip advisor and told us he would get in touch with us and send us vouchers to come and stay for free. Never heard from him!!! That is okay though, because you could NOT PAY ME to stay there again. Spend your money on a locally owned hotel and stay away from Hawk's Cay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FloridaLuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this resort. Our lanai rooms were very comfortable- best beds in a hotel ever. Grounds were beautiful. We were there in the off-season so not all venues, specifically dining, were open at regular hours. Staff very accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't go off season and expect all dining options. And the food prices are on the high end but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort is lovely. We travelled around a bit on this hoiday staying at 3 different but all good standard places, but I think this was my favorite accommodation. They called it a cottage but to me, it was more like a house! It was a cute picket fenced house with balconies at the top front and back. The downstairs had a front porch (just like you see on the movies - just lacking a swing seat!) and a back terrace with table and chairs. This looked over a lake with a boardwalk that ran right along the of the row of cottages and all around the resort. So if you have hired a boat (needs to be done in advance as books up quick) you can moor it at your back door! Or like us you could sit and watch families catching fish from the boardwalk (they can prepare it and cook it for you at the main hotel bar apparently). It was clean enough with comfy beds. All the facilities required for self catering were there. The only thing missing was something to sweep and mop with - which they promptly supplied when asked. They warn of the natural environment that this resort is set in being a magnet for ants and bugs - so you have to be on top of cleaning up after yourself. We even had a tiny resident lizard under our cooker - until we caught him and released him!

The rows of cottages, well kept gardens and lawn areas were immaculate and so pretty. The club for children and teenagers looked lovely quality and very clean (although my teenages didnt use it). The pool area is relaxed and the atmosphere was always friendly and calm. No games or entertainment staff shouting like you get at most resorts in places like Spain!! The lagoon was directly behind the main pool so you could get your towels and choose. Always seemed to find sunbeds ok. The pool is accessible 24 hours - so people were in it late into the evening, even when others were having an evening drink, dressed up by the fire pit or at the cocktail bar. The lagoon was gorgeous and occasionally you get to see a Gecko appearing out the Mangroves!

The staff were friendly enough and very helpful. The option of swimming with dolphins on site as well was an added treat (if not a bit expensive - but they all are).

This a a central spot to visit Key Lago or Key West. Key West is a must!! Great little town. My favorite day out of the holiday.

Publix is a good supermarket to stock up for the week. Everything good quality and beautifully presented. Most supermarkets seemed ok though.

Great holiday destination!

Room Tip: August is unbearably hot! MUST DO - Key West! Loved Ernest Hemmingway's house. Loved and reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culturevulture201008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksboro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautifully maintained resort. On the expensive side. Relatively short distance to Marathon, Florida for a variety of restaurants. We did have to call guest services to get room cleaned, Restaurants of good quality. They could use more front desk help. There was always a line

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trefor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing