We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Couples Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived in a pouring down rainstorm so VERY happy that they had a covered valet entrance! Nice that valet parking is included with the daily resort fee. We stayed in the main hotel and had a pool view room. Nice updated room, but didn't have that "wow" factor for me. Normal hotel room furniture and decor. We are a couple in our 30's, no children. This is a family resort and you can tell they cater to it. We still had a great time, but probably will not return as we clearly did not fit their demographic and felt it the entire time we were there.
Pros: Dolphin program was great and we are so glad we did it. You can view the dolphins any time of day from viewing areas near their enclosure as well. Also did the jet ski tour and that was very fun. Live music at night by fire pit a great way to end the day. Drink service was attentive and good by pool and lagoon.
Cons: Caters to families and we got tired of watching kids run around. They do have an adult pool, but it is smaller and not convenient to where our room was located. Adult pool bar closes at 5 PM which also is a bummer. Gluten free dining options were poor and so we had to venture off property for almost all meals. Tram service was slow.
The florida keys are worth visiting but there are better options in this price point for couples to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kathy 3679,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your detailed comments. It sounds like you enjoyed many of the amenities and activities that we have to offer, and I'm so glad you had a fun trip.

We hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    1,200
    594
    324
    221
See reviews for
2,032
1,105
24
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This resort made a billing error in that they charged the wrong credit card. When i spoke to the front desk they said no problem, call this number and they will move the balance on to proper persons credit card. Then called the billing office to make the correction, they said nothing they could done by law since i had already checked out. Basically a bunch of excuses so as not to go through any trouble to correct their mistake.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Shayne E,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize for the billing error you encountered. Could you please contact me directly so that I can look into the issue and see if there is a way that we can correct the problem for you?

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent several days here, and found it to meet our expectations, for the most part. We had one of the walk-out lanai rooms that faced the adult/quiet pool, and it was perfect. The pool itself was very relaxed and quiet, and at least for the time we were there, we had no issues with people reserving chairs and not using them, which was not the case at the other family pool, where this game was played without apparent policing by the hotel staff. The pools were well-maintained and the water was heated to a very comfortable level. The beach is not really a beach, of course, but it's usable. This is not your typical resort type of sandy beach, though. Not by a long shot.

Food choices are probably the most mediocre thing about this place. The smaller restaurant is nothing to write home about, and the larger restaurant is nothing more than a slightly more upscale Denny's. You'd be better served by driving to Marathon for dinner.

Poolside drink/food service is available, but is clearly not a high priority. Most of the time we had to take care of ourselves, as the service was spotty and unpredictable. This was surprising, given that the prices are not cheap. I've stayed at many other places with better poolside service.

Room Tip: Poolside lanai room facing the quiet adult pool is preferable if traveling without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennsyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear pennsyguy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hawks Cay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here, and you've shared a great tip about the Lanai Guestrooms along the Tranquility Pool when travelling as a couple.

I am so sorry that our dining experiences did not exceed your expectations. I will insure that our Food & Beverage team has an opportunity to review your comments so that they can be addressed appropriately.

If there are any additional details or suggestions that you'd like to share, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night in one of their 2/2 villas with 11 friends and family. The villa had two bedrooms with private bathrooms in each room on the top floor. Downstairs consisted of a living room with a pullout sofa bed, full bathroom and kitchen and a guest room with a twin daybed with trundle bed. Both rooms upstairs had spacious balconies! As well as a back yard patio that opened out to a backyard pier where one can dock a boat if need be. The grounds of the resort were amazing. We took advantage of two of their five pools and spent most of the day in the saltwater lagoon. The resort also has a dolphin cove, kayak and boat rentals and at night, various fire pits with live music. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. When walking through the lobby, the staff politely hold the doors open and greet you. Throughout the resort you are greeted and welcomed by every staff member. Not only were the grounds naturally and manicured beautifully but the service and staff of the resort was exceptionally top notch. It almost felt like you were at a Caribbean five star resort instead of two hours away from my home in miami. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Irene A,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at Hawks Cay. It's wonderful to hear that your entire family so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

I always tell my South Floridian friends that even thought Hawks Cay is a quick drive, you truly feel that you're a world away when you arrive. I'm so glad that you experienced that same sense of escape and relaxation.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstead, Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here after a fun-filled 12 night stay in Orland do everything Disney and beyond. We had a fabulous time here. We stayed in a marina villa (we upgraded) which was like a pretty wood clad New England style home. Very nicely done inside. The bedrooms upstairs were both en-suite and very nice. They washer dryer was great as we returned home with clean clothes! We ended up doing the dolphin swim here and at the Dolphin Connection program down the road. The other one was slightly better as the whole family can participate (from age 4-adult). They also do the dorsal fin swim which they don't do at HC. My son was told he was too short to be in the water with the dolphins at HC so very glad we went down the road and he had a chance to participate in this very special of treats.

The pools are fabulous there is a main one by the restaurants and lagoon and an adult only one further round the corner hidden from the main area and noise. There is also a fab kids pool with pirate ship behind the kids club and another deeper pool here also. The hot tubs are scorching and fab and we all loved the lagoon.

We had a lovely big lawn outside our villa for family games and the marina where the kids fished off the dock (not supposed to but no one cared and the boat owners lent us extra nods and tips!). We had a manatee swim up during fishing trip which was really special.

Ocean restaurant was brilliant. The mexican restaurant burned down the day we arrived and they do need another one. Think they need a japanese / sushi / fusion restaurant.

The Keys are very laid back. Get all your shopping done in Orlando.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MrsGPie,
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip, and maybe by then your son will be tall enough to participate in our Dolphin Discovery program. If not, our Dockside Dolphins interaction is a wonderful opportunity for guests of any height to meet with our beautiful dolphins from the safety and comfort of our floating docks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Lobby area, restaurants and Pool area are wonderful. However, the rooms that they
gave us were in need of repair. The Chair and carpeting in the room were stained, the bottom of the bathroom door was broken up. The Hallway of our building had not been vacuumed in a long time. We had water view rooms...the only thing we saw was a large Palm tree directly in front of our Balcony. I would not stay here again. I do have friends who stayed here, and apparently, they were given a wonderful room. They booked the same style room we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Sates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took a spontaneous trip to the Keys with some friends and stayed at Hawks Cay resort. We intended on staying in a 2/2 condo but stayed in a 2/2 villas. Due to our reservation mix up, one of the front agents named Stewart was very nice enough to upgrade us to one of their newer villas that included a guest room. All I can say about our villa was Wow! It was extremely nice! Every room had flat screens in it including the guest room. Plus there was a kitchenette and a washer/dryer which was upstairs. The beds were very comfortable and extremely spacious! Furthermore, the back of the villas was even nicer. There's a lot of space where you can do different things like barbeque plus there's a little lake area where you can dock a boat if you have one. If you have a big family and want some space, I suggest renting their villas. The villa felt like a little home. My friends and I loved it so much that we considered staying another night. As for the resort, it was beautiful! There are about 5 pools, including an adult pool called Tranquil. There's a place for kids to Kayak and snorkel. In addition, the kids can also enjoy feeding and watching the dolphins play. The resort is a perfect setting for honeymooners and family and kids. There are plenty of activities to do such as jet skiing, snorkeling, boating, etc. We had the buffet style breakfast which was great. We ordered food by the pool, which took us some time to get a server. But as soon as we found a server to assist us, the food came in a reasonable time. Our server, Rupert, was extremely nice and made us laugh a few times. He was also able to scare away the Seagulls who were anxiously waiting to get our food. So if you order food by the pool, please watch out for the hungry, aggressively flying Seagulls. My overall experience at Hawks Cay resort was very GOOD. The staff was very helpful, the villa was extremely nice, and the poolside was amazingly beautiful! I suggest if you want a great, relaxing experience to stay here. My friends and I had a great experience that we will be back next month. This was the best spontaneous road trip I ever had, that turned out Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSarah305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing