We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outdoor resort, disappointing Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor resort, disappointing Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Lobby area, restaurants and Pool area are wonderful. However, the rooms that they
gave us were in need of repair. The Chair and carpeting in the room were stained, the bottom of the bathroom door was broken up. The Hallway of our building had not been vacuumed in a long time. We had water view rooms...the only thing we saw was a large Palm tree directly in front of our Balcony. I would not stay here again. I do have friends who stayed here, and apparently, they were given a wonderful room. They booked the same style room we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    1,202
    594
    324
    222
See reviews for
2,035
1,105
24
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Sates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took a spontaneous trip to the Keys with some friends and stayed at Hawks Cay resort. We intended on staying in a 2/2 condo but stayed in a 2/2 villas. Due to our reservation mix up, one of the front agents named Stewart was very nice enough to upgrade us to one of their newer villas that included a guest room. All I can say about our villa was Wow! It was extremely nice! Every room had flat screens in it including the guest room. Plus there was a kitchenette and a washer/dryer which was upstairs. The beds were very comfortable and extremely spacious! Furthermore, the back of the villas was even nicer. There's a lot of space where you can do different things like barbeque plus there's a little lake area where you can dock a boat if you have one. If you have a big family and want some space, I suggest renting their villas. The villa felt like a little home. My friends and I loved it so much that we considered staying another night. As for the resort, it was beautiful! There are about 5 pools, including an adult pool called Tranquil. There's a place for kids to Kayak and snorkel. In addition, the kids can also enjoy feeding and watching the dolphins play. The resort is a perfect setting for honeymooners and family and kids. There are plenty of activities to do such as jet skiing, snorkeling, boating, etc. We had the buffet style breakfast which was great. We ordered food by the pool, which took us some time to get a server. But as soon as we found a server to assist us, the food came in a reasonable time. Our server, Rupert, was extremely nice and made us laugh a few times. He was also able to scare away the Seagulls who were anxiously waiting to get our food. So if you order food by the pool, please watch out for the hungry, aggressively flying Seagulls. My overall experience at Hawks Cay resort was very GOOD. The staff was very helpful, the villa was extremely nice, and the poolside was amazingly beautiful! I suggest if you want a great, relaxing experience to stay here. My friends and I had a great experience that we will be back next month. This was the best spontaneous road trip I ever had, that turned out Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSarah305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The resort has an incredible location with ocean views and two pools (including a quiet pool of guests over 21). The resort has great food an uber-friendly staff, plus snorkel trips and a sunset cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the resort in late April 2013. Great place with a beautiful hotel, friendly staff, beautiful pool and lagoon. Our room was very spacious and nice. We liked the central location of Duck Key and we traveled to Big Pine Key, Marathon and Islamarada to enjoy the islands. The only draw back is the food at the hotel restaurants is over priced and not of very good quality for what you get. We traveled from the hotel for great meals elsewhere. We did the Dolphin Connection which was fun and we had great interaction with the Dolphins.

Room Tip: We were in a Island view room with fit in our budget - it would have been nice to have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plantation
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

my wife and I stayed there on business,once we arrived we found out the front desk cancelled our reservation! after some time we finally got our room.I know I called to say I was running late. the room we recieved was spacious and well appointed.
I don't really stay in a hotel for the view I only concider it a secondary perk.the roof and air conditioners where a great treat.
The food in the main hall was fair not at all anything to write about.the service was not good (it wasnt terrible.it just wasn't good) enough said.

the food and drink prices are what you might find at a typical resort of this nature,
the pools where nice there was 3 1 adult one for familys and one lagoon, the adult one was packed! the family one was larger and easier to manuver the lagoon was nice to swim in.
at night they had live music playing next to the fire pit which was very relaxing.
our room attendant was very nice and saw to our needs.
the carpeting in the hallways was Very dirty and looked like it has not been vaccumed for some time.
personally if it wasnt for business i would not have stayed there if i knew what I had experianced.

I expected a lot more from a resort of this caliber.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clydester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

eview: My wife booked a few nights stay for our Easter vacation with the family. The townhouse is EXACTLY as shown in the photos! Everything was beautifully decorated and clean as could be. Hawks Cay is the best resort in the Keys and this unit is as beautiful inside as the resort is outside. Only complaint was a cold snap that dropped the temperature during our stay. Still had a wonderful time and our kids are discovering what my wife and I love about the Keys. We all can't wait to return. Thanks for everything!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hiho34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the keys what beautiful island and villa complex stated in a newly refurbished 2 bed villa, clean and beautifully refurbished, pool right outside the back yard so you didn't have to go to the main one, food from hotel was a munch a little pricey but what you would expect to pay at a hotel and with marathon 10 mins down the road with a large choice of restaurants and super markets food choices are endless, we had pizza delivered to us from the hawks cay pizzeria which was one of the best pizzas I have had in my life a great family holiday with the luxuries thrown in. Staff helpful would love to visit again xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariedevaney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing