We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love hawks cay!!”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love hawks cay!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the keys what beautiful island and villa complex stated in a newly refurbished 2 bed villa, clean and beautifully refurbished, pool right outside the back yard so you didn't have to go to the main one, food from hotel was a munch a little pricey but what you would expect to pay at a hotel and with marathon 10 mins down the road with a large choice of restaurants and super markets food choices are endless, we had pizza delivered to us from the hawks cay pizzeria which was one of the best pizzas I have had in my life a great family holiday with the luxuries thrown in. Staff helpful would love to visit again xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariedevaney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    1,386
    700
    375
    250
See reviews for
2,462
1,277
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hawks Cay. First the positive things- the property is beautiful. If you like water sports there is lots to do. Kate , at check in, was very friendly. Most of the staff was as well. The breakfast buffet was pretty good as well.
Now a couple of quibbles. all of which can easily be corrected. I just expected more from a 5 star resort. 1. we had to wait 2 hours when we arrived at about 3 PM for our room.to be ready. We had upgraded to a suite and they gave us a huge 2 bedroom , w/ living room. So we couldn't complain about the size. But it wasn't fun to have to wait for 2 hours..
2. Room was very nice, but had a strong smell of urine and Lysol, that eventually faded. I also noticed there was an awkward area rug on top of the carpet in the bathroom. I kept tripping on it and when i lifted it I could see a big stain. Why not just replace the carpet in the area...?
3. The room was never made up on the second day of the trip. I had to call Housekeeping at about 7PM for someone to come in or else we would have no towels for the next day. Not to mention, housekeeping is pretty basic!
4. There is no On Demand movies- weird for such 5 star resort. Doubly weird, because I imagine the On Demand movies are profitable.
5. No TV channel listing or HBO guide in the room. Also, no literature of any kind- most absurdly- not even a listing of Spa services.. don't they want to advertise those?
6. Decor in general -ok, but stuck in the 80's. Bathroom are simple- no marble at all.But OK. that's a big expense..
7. Nice Keurig coffee maker, but why offer ONLY Green Mountain LIGHT.. I had to buy some Starbucks pods at CVS.
8. Why keep the Keurig and the microwave and water glasses on a wooden piece of furniture?There should be piece of glass on top to protect the wood. I kept feeling guilty leaving rings.
9. Alma restaurant was expensive but oddly mediocre. There were two broken glasses on our table when we sat down, And the chocolate cake was inedible. The server even apologized and said he knew it was kind of dry..to his credit, he took it off the charge.
All of these things seem minor but they all added up to a somewhat unsatisfying trip. It felt like we were in the hands of amateur bed and breakfast owners who have just opened.
This place is best for non fussy families with kids who will enjoy the pool and the dolphins.
Grown up , luxury travelers may have to continue driving.

Room Tip: don't get a room facing the party area, I heard complaints that the parties were keeping them u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Positives
• Fantastic facilities for kids and adults – sports and entertainment
• Enormous apartment and very well appointed – although it did not have the 2 beds for our kids we asked for – just a double bed and a pull out bed -which ended up fine. They offered to move us the next day but we had unpacked and the apartment was very good in every other aspect
• Very good food in the restaurants
• Great locations halfway down the keys so its easy to visit Key West which is well worth a visit
Negatives
• Service in both the main restaurants (Alma and Ocean) was very hit and miss - on 3 evenings we waited 50 minutes for our first course which with young children is not acceptable and to make it worse we always ate later when the restaurants were less busy!
o The Mexican restaurant burned down while we there – Saturday 6th April - which gave us some drama
Observation
• There is no beach - which I knew about and is a common geographical reality of the keys - but it’s always a nicer to have a beach in my opinion!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We surprised our 14 & 10 year old with a quick trip to the keys during February break. Though upon arrival we were happy to see the grand entrance, after a 2 hour single lane drive from Miami and ultra layed back hotel/motels on route. The main building and resort area were staffed well and seemed enticing. We were not prepared for the numerous young families with kids everywhere. Yes, the resort featured a great set up, but it seemed geared for kids 10 and under. Our accomodation on "sunset" was obstructed by the enormous boat hangar and was dirty upon arrival. We asked to be moved and were finally accomodated at 7:30 pm the following night - to the Harbor view. I would not suggest anyone stay at the Sunset or Marina area as they are clearly owner owned and need to be updated. Not a fan of the highway view from either Sunset or Marina. We dined at each restaurant on Hawk Cays and enjoyed them all. The tram made it easy to get around and staff was great. It was pricey to rent bikes & jetski but because there was no real beach, we were looking for things to do. Again they had a great "kids club" but a bit young for my group. Wished I had known about the no beach beforehand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcatwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am a Miami native, and I go to the Keys as often as possible, and I really enjoyed my stay at Hawks Kay. The rooms were very nice. The bed was supper comfortable, and the ac was awesome. I really loved the option of the adult pool, but we ended up at the main pool because we loved the action there. The staff was great as well. We can't wait to go back, and we will never make the mistake of staying at Cheeca again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nite stay here. We found the grounds beautiful and well laid out. The staff was friendly and efficient. It is definitely family oriented, but it's nice that they do have an adults only pool. The breakfast buffet was above the standard fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conniehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What makes Hawk's Cay stand out above other similar resorts is the behaviour of the staff. Without exception, we found all staff polite, cheerful and prepared to go out of their way to ensure the guests are well looked-after. From the housekeeping staff, bar staff, maintenance, tennis coach, kid's club, waiters. This makes the difference.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sunset Village is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,338 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
785 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing