We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand-daughter loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand-daughter loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a wonderful week with our grand-daughter. The highlight was her experience with the dolphins. It was expensive but worth it.The proceeds go back into maintaining a wonderful facility for the dolphins. They do an excellent job educating the guests with signs around the enclosure. Unfortunately there is not a beach but there is a large saltwater pond, where my husband was able to swim laps, until the kayaks and paddleboards came out. None of the three pools are designed for lap swimming. One pool is for 18 and over, the others were filled with young children. The hot tubs were also often crowded with children. We had read that the food was average and expensive, so we chose to eat at different restaurants in Marathon. Fortunately there is a starbucks in the hotel shop, as the breakfast was expensive. Pancakes were 12.00! Since there is a big emphasis on children, the food should be more reasonably priced. Our island view room was disappointing. For over 400/per night, it was dark, with a view of the golf carts. I could also hear the fellow next door snoring !Housekeeping had also failed to vacuum well. We found and stepped on a number of glass shards. The villas look much nicer. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. My grand-daughter would be back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view. The rooms around the pools, on the first floor, do not have much p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,926
    1,321
    665
    353
    239
See reviews for
2,313
1,217
28
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I am reviewing the fishing character business at Hawks Cay Marina.

First of all, these guys really know how to catch fish. Go to the docks at, 4:00 PM and every boat coming in is just full of reef fish. You'll see hundreds of nice Yellow Tails. NOW HERE'S THE THING... These folks obviously cater to the Yuppie and family fishing crowd. Their rates are much higher than the average local guys.

Here's my real complaint... I had a character booked for a Monday as my son was flying in to join me on Sunday. Due to severe weather, his flight was cancelled and rebooked for Monday morning. When I called to inform them, they treated me like a criminal, or at least a liar. We did work things out in the end, but I had $1,500.00 invested in a day's fishing, and should have been treated as such.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyTheTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TonyTheTerrible,

Thank you for taking the time to review your would-be fishing charter trip. I am so sorry that you didn't have a great experience with our team. We'd like to discuss your experience a bit further. I hope you'll contact me directly so that we can find out more and appropriately address your concerns.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We decided to extend our week long condo rental in Sanibel by booking two nights at the Hawks Cay Resort before flying home. The location was ideal, surrounded by water, and the facilities were top notch and great for kids. Here are four things to consider. (1) If you want direct beach/ocean access for swimming there is none at the resort. You are relegated to the pools or the saltwater lagoon (really a landlocked basin), which are nice. Otherwise, you have to rent a boat or watercraft to get to the ocean. (2) All bar and food purchases are subject to a 18% gratuity (except for Tio's Cantina at the Marina). While service in the restaurants was good, I felt drink service was lacking and did not deserve such a high gratuity. (3) Wireless access throughout the resort was not very good either through the resort's wireless network (free) or over the local cellular network. (4) We were there at the height of Spring Break and the facility felt crowded at times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuO639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear StuO639,

Thank you for providing a detailed review of your time with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience, and hope we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in one of the 3 bedroom townhomes for 3 nights. My husband and I traveled with our 10 month son, Aunt, Uncle and family friend. The townhouse was in a quiet area and furnished nicely. The water view was amazing!! Can't say enough about the grounds and pools. Everything was well maintained. One thing that stood out about Hawk's Cay is that the staff do not take themselves too seriously. Everyone I encountered was friendly and seemed to like their job. We enjoyed the pools, lagoon and many walking paths for stroller time. We look forward to returning again when our son can take advantage of the many kids activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank labrador11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear labrador11,

Thank you for sharing you kind feedback and for choosing to spend your family vacation with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Expensive - hotel was ok but for the money we paid , I'd rather have rented a place in marathon! Hotel wireless was the worst I've ever experienced in a resort of this magnitude. Pool area is nice but pool food is too pricey. We brought our own food in from the local supermarket & you would have thougt we were stealing from them, the looks we got... Next time if we don't rent a house we will try tranquility bay in marathon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckerkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear tuckerkeys,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations and am disappointed to hear your comments about any of our team members giving you "looks" for bringing in food from local supermarkets. While we do not to allow outside food and drinks in our pool and lagoon areas due to food safety and liquor licensing laws, we welcome guests to stock their rooms and villa kitchens with food from wherever they might choose. There is no excuse for any of our team making you feel otherwise, and I apologize for that.

We hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future and earn your loyalty.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from Hawks Cay. Found the townhouse nice & the diving group real professional. However- Friday a rowdie group checked inland took over our area of villas with their loud music blaring & all day BBQs on the beach both Friday & Saturday. This was really frustrating as it was not possible to sit in the deck and enjoy the sun, sea breeze & view while dining due to these ignorant people. On Friday their party was fom 12 noon til 9PM. On Saturday they started again at 12, noon and by 4 PM not only the music was loud, they were as well. At that point, I called guest services and was tod Sorry there was nothing they could do - quiet time is 10PM. This is a luxury resort and cost about 900+ a day avg. Unbelievable that they don't put a stop to loud obnoxious behavior that impacts their reasonable, well behaved guest. I would not recommend Hawks Cay if you want peace & quiet. For whatever reason, they allow really loud, obnoxious parties to take place. Had we not been checking out early Sunday morning we would have left the resort and found somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Tara G,

Thank you for sharing feedback online. I hope that you will contact me directly so that we can address your concerns appropriately both with you and with our team.

I apologize for the disruptions you experienced during your stay with us this weekend. It is always our goal to insure that all of our guests' expectations are exceeded, and I'm so sorry that we weren't able to do so for you this time.

While we do our best to provide an atmosphere where each guest, no matter what level of excitement or relaxation they would like, can find the perfect niche; this past weekend we had a nearly full resort due to the start of Easter Week/ Spring Break school holidays. During time periods such as these with a resort full of energetic, happy families, peace and quiet is not always a constant throughout our 60 acres.

I do hope to have the opportunity to communicate with you directly and hopefully host you at the resort during a time period that will provide you with the tranquility you would like.

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

For a perfect getaway of a day or two or as long as you can, this is paradise! The minute we drove onto the grounds, the peaceful experience of the Keys began. We were greeted with that island welcome atmosphere from the entire staff, great food and drinks, ample space for privacy at the beach, the pool, the tennis courts, and the afternoon cocktails at the outdoor bar made this trip perfect! They even upgraded our room because I was a Preferred member--they went out of their way to accommodate the kind of weekend away we were hoping for ~ we look forward to getting back there VERY soon!

Room Tip: Rooms around the adult pool area on the south end are best for privacy, but if you're a travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear AngelFL,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to have provided you with the island escape you were looking for. I tell South Floridaians all the time that even though we're just a short drive, Hawks Cay feels like it is a world away.

We look forward to having you back very soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing