We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“nice peaceful time in slow paced keys”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This resort is beautiful and although very big, easy to navigate. We enjoyed our stay here although it was cut short by a few days. Arrival was very nice and reception was very helpful in helping us select our accommodations.

The rooms were very clean and well appointed, recently remodeled. The pool service was awesome and there were various activities for the kids.

I went on a fishing charter with the I'm Hooked and although the weather did not help us, Captain Joel was very attentive and an excellent professional guide and fisherman.

The food in the upscale restaurant, Alma's, was fantastic.

We will definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,787 - 2,793 of 4,849 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is very old and you can hear EVERYTHING from the surrounding hotel rooms- showering, using the restroom, flushing. Its very, very noisy. We didn't sleep for 3 days. I've been in loud hotels before but this was by far the worst. We talked to other guests and they said they were having the same experience.
The entrance hall and outside areas are gorgeous, but they don't make up for the extreme noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristinlp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Decided to spend 5 days over Christmas at Hawks Cay with my parents and 11 year old daughter. Ended up we had another family which were friends of our staying 3 doors down in the villas from us. Was perfect! We brought a boat down with us which we kept right outside our villa along with our paddle board. Felt like home as soon as we arrived and got settled in. Beautiful views from all bedrooms with lovely grounds around the resort. Kids club was fantastic for all ages of kids both families had with us. We could allow the kids to bike and roam all over the resort til about midnight and didn't worry at all. While there we used their Scuba shop and went on a dive trip as well as an offshore fishing trip. Everyone we worked with at the Marina were wonderful! My only complaint is that I wish they had a larger pool and bay area with more seating for the amount of people there. All of us had a fantastic trip and will hopefully do again next Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We really liked the resort and the amenities. The room was large but noisy with machine noise coming from somewhere. Quite annoying . Other than that it was a great stay albeit expensive . The pools are great. There are plenty of things to do around.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I joined Preferred Hotel Group and was upgraded to a magnificent 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, 3 balcony town house. Also, paying by Mastercard got us the 4th night free!!! No complaints. Great resort!! The new restaurant, Ocean, was delicious and the entertainment every night by the pool is perfect!!

Room Tip: Join Preferred hotel group for free!! They are very accommodating at the front desk! The Marina is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgpasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed in the Harbor Village in a 2 bdrm 3 bath townhouse. We knew there was going to be a daybed but expected it to be in the living room, nice surprise to have it in a separate room. Basically it was a 3 bdrm 3 bath house. The unit was HUGE! Big decks with furniture on both levels overlooking the water. Lots of wildlife here which we loved. We saw a manatee right in front of our "house". Tons of birds and iguanas too. They have a lovely shuttle which takes you wherever you want to go on the property and the wait time is usually short. We used it to go to the marina to grab a dive boat as well as get some groceries from the market! I was lucky enough to use the spa on site when I was there. It's fantastic!! Head to toe treatments available. I had a facial and the morrocan hair mask, wonderful! The lagoon beach area overlooked the dolphin pool. Great to tan while watching them play. A few restaurants and bars to choose from as well as great service. What else do you need, nothing! Would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: 7090 closest unit to the main building on the water. Corner unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in the Marina Villas. Our "condo" was spacious, clean, and perfect for my family of 4. We had a 2 bedroom (king and queen bed), 2 bath that had a full kitchen, dining room, great room and a wrap around screen porch that went from the master around the great room and to the other bedroom over looking the Marina. There is a washer and dryer off the 2nd bathroom which came in handy. We were told they had no king size beds before we went which I thought was odd and originally had a Sunset Villa but then changed once we got there.
The villa didn't come with any coffee or filters. I had also read this before we went. Some how they need to stock a few disposable coffee filters with coffee in the villas. They do in the main hotel.I ran to the Publix the night we got there and stocked up but the filters only came in packs of 250. Very wasteful.They have 2 things of paper towels but they didn't seem to have enough toilet paper as we ran out our last day. We got there late Monday night and left Friday afternoon.
If you stay in a villa I suggest you go to the store and get all your breakfast stuff and snacks and drinks since it will save you a ton.
The food at the resort was good but way over priced which I also read before. We found some great little places to eat and enjoyed them with a better price tag. The only place my husband and I ate was between the adult pool and the main pool on the beach in front of the bar, great view and the fish taco's I had were good and my husband enjoyed his fish sandwich. Just wasn't worth the $60 fee that came with it and that was with a diet coke, rum drink, and a virgin frozen drink that my daughter got.
The people who worked there were all very pleasant and nice. The kids club has lots of fun activites for all ages. There was ping pong outside on the deck, air hockey inside along with Wii games. Outside there was a huge turf field for throwing football or playing soccer, there is a sand volleyball court and a "mini" water park boat that you can slide off of.
We signed up for the swim with the dolphins. It's very misleading since you really don't swim with them. You do get in the water for a brief minute with them as they came "stand" with you as you touch their fins. You are basically standing on a platform as they come up to you for you to touch certain parts of their body. It was still a fun experience but not worth the $160+ a person. It was my daughters b'day that day so I felt inclined to do so. Wish I would have researched it better. There are other swim with the dolphin places in the Keys and one just down the road, not sure what they do but it's worth the research.
The resort was very kid friendly and the staff was also friendly.
I would suggest grabbing food at Key Fisheries(great sunset location)They had the best Key Lime Pie, Sparky's Landing (best happy hour 4-6; 25cent shrimp) and Brutus (closes at 7).All 3 had very fresh fish and great staff. They are all located in Marathan. Sparky's will cook the fish you caught for a nominal fee.
We went fishing but didn't go through the hotel as they double the price. Check out Angler Management Charters (capt Jim Griffith).He keeps his boat as The Island Fish Company- restuarant on Marathon but the food is hit or miss. We caught tons of fish and just went for a 1/2 day. Sent friends the following day and they caught a ton too. We went in shore since it was very windy when we went.

Room Tip: The villas are pretty quiet. We chose a top floor which had high ceilings. The only thing you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range: $217 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Cay Marina is currently closed for restoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing