We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed the luxury, attention, and amenities that are offered here!”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

luxury resort... lots included, rooms are awesome in the main hotel, and the villas are wonderful to choose with a family, or couples. many activities to participate in, or just relax!in the evening , into the nite, there is a *firepit* area for guests to relax & enjoy, perhaps after a swim!

Room Tip: if your choice is not a villa, or suite, ask for a room in the main hotel! 3rd floor balconies are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNGIRL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,637 - 3,643 of 4,849 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This resort has everything you could possibly need. The customer service was excellent. The attention to detail was exceptional! The resort and rooms were very clean and welcoming. A must experience for anyone wanting to get away with everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra_ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The place is cosmetically, very attractive on the website but when you get there it is like a mirage, it wasn't what you think you saw. The place has many imperfections, the staff is overall rude, the man-made beach is brown in color and looks disgusting, the Mosquitos will pick you up and throw you to the next block and there are 6 restaurants that have limited hours & days that they are open and have extreme regulations as if you were on a military base. The marina had very set regulations and even though the hotel pamphlet in our room stated that we could rent a boat for 2 hours, no one knew what we were talking about. They "kindly" told us that we could rent a boat for 4 hours, PAY for 4 hours & go ahead & use it for 2 hours - What a great place, huh? It was a punishment to go there instead of a
vacation. Stay away from this place and drive a little further to Key West so that you can have a truly pleasurable Keys experience. This is NOT a good place to be!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Butterfly12353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear butterfly,

Thank you for choosing Hawks Cay. We welcome all criticisms, as it helps us to get better. I am sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of your stay in the beautiful Florida Keys. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again and earn your loyalty.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
----------------------------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Me and my teenage daughters (14 &16) stayed here two nights. Struggled w/ deciding this vs. Cheeca. Reviews had me worried that this was a run-down place, but we wanted to be closer to the middle keys to finish our trip in Key West. OHHH it was so plush, rich, cuban/havanna type feel with awesome fans from the ceilings...we were so happy with our room, service, and pool areas. Eventhough we arrived in a not-so-special ford focus rental car, the valet guys practically did flips to open our doors and carry our stuff for us (every time). I have stayed at very nice places before, buy never had been treated like a celebrity, honestly. Our room was the least expensive type hotel room, something like $200 AAA rate. But it was soo nice and ended up having a balcony. Turn down service was a nice surprise too. (From reading previous reviews, i agree the air was a little loud, but wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't read it prior.) We loved swimming in the lagoon, especially at night while the band was playing (pink floyd) by the fire pit. (One for the memory book). Yes, the water was warm... but no warmer than the ocean water at this time, which was 88 degrees. We missed signing up for the sunset cruise, but took the shuttle over to the marina anyways. Harbour House ate excellent grouper there for $22 that could have fed all 3 of us. Loved riding the shuttle around the island at night and looking at all the different villas. Swam at the sunset pool one evening. We checked out the teen night at the Indies club, but that looked more like babysitting than teens mingling. While in Keys, highly recommend the A1A watersports in Islamorada for the 2 hr. jet ski tour. (really expensive, but worht every penny) and a Looe Reef snorkle trip from Pine Key. Bahia Honda beach wasn't 'world class' - but nice enough. Overall, it was awesome and not that expensive for this type of island resort. We will definately stay again next trip to the keys! (I doubt Cheeca could be any nicer).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hawks Cay is an Oasis as you leave Overseas Highway. It is an attractive resort which has benefited from a refurb program.

I was on a boys fishing trip, and we took a 2bed 2 bathroom Sunset Villa. The unit was exactly as advertised, with good bedroom / bathroom suites and very comfortable living area/kitchenette. The communal swimming pool area was well presented with pleasant gardens suitable for children, and the resort was presented immaculately and very clean.

The downside.......
$75 per day maid service fee (ie to clean and make beds/swap towels) - we made do without
$25 per day "resort fee" which is allegedly to cover all gratuities whilst on resort. We did not actually use any services (except the bar 1 night) and therefore felt that this surcharge was excessive.

The bar was ok, not the cheapest .... but the Mojito's were brilliant !

Overall a pleasant enough resort, and if you plan on staying on resort to eat/drink/entertain etc the $25 resort fee will be negated. If you plan on using the resort as a base, one would question the value for money that you achieve.

Room Tip: all rooms we saw were good - worthwhile having en-suite to each bedroom though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinxwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have seen ads and TV shows featuring Hawks Cay Resort for many, many years but did not make the time to go down and visit. Well finally I brought my family there on the way back from Key West. It was everything I expected and more. The greeting upon arrival was fantastic. The room with a pool and water view was perfectly appointed and immaculately cleaned. Dinner at the marina was delicious and the early bird special was a great value for a family of 4. My 2 boys played on the lagoon “island” for 6 hours before going to the teen center for the evening. They made several friends in no time which gave the wife and me time to relax. The breakfast buffet on the final day was extremely well done for the price. I congratulate Mr. Suga for running a world class resort in a beautiful setting. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family (wife, two "tween" girls) just spent three days @ the resort. The only reason I don't rate Hawks Cay a 5 star is because there is no beach. However, that is not unusual for the Keys. If you want a great beach, don't to the Keys. If you want great water-sports, go to the Keys. The resort does have a sea-water lagoon which is nice for kayaking (for a little while). A great main pool area, which tends to be very, very busy; but fun for the young ones, Just around the corner is an adult pool area that is fabulous. It is called the Tranquility Pool & it is just that. Very calming. There is also a separate kids area, (Indies Club); but my kids never made it over there. We used the local marina (walkable; booked through the resort) for a snorkeling trip that was great. Also ate at the local restaurant, Tom's (great Early Bird dinner special).

The staff @ the resort is fantastic; really makes you feel special. Rooms, great; bathrooms very, very nice.

There is a $25 resort fee, but for the first time ever; I think it was worth the $25. It includes WiFi (very good); valet parking & all tips for the house-keepers, etc.

The main pool area has a fire-pit that the staff cranks up after dark. The rest of the island is residential, neat to expore on a morning run.

Like I said earlier, if there was a beach, we are talking 5-star; because the staff, hotel, food, amenities are 5-star.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range: $211 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing