We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Girlfriend Getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Villas at Hawks Cay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duck Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Villas at Hawks Cay
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Girlfriend Getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent a long weekend here with 4 of my best girlfriends in one of the 2 bedroom homes. The pool in the backyard, coupled with the blender in the kitchen made for a fantastic time!
We ate at most of the restaurants at Hawks Cay, which were fine for resort food, although overpriced for the quality. We indulged at the spa and enjoyed the massage. The pools were nice and the resort grounds well kept.
Overall, a good place for families or groups.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Will never understand the business decision HC makes to clean ~$200 hotel rooms daily, but not their top of the line, ~$500 a night homes. We were greeted with 3 live roaches and spent 1/2 our time meeting and explaining to maintenance people what wasn't working (pool light, pool heater, various light bulbs, blinds, etc). On the second day of no maid service I called to ask why we were having to wash our own towels, etc. and found out we only got maid service on day 1. When I asked the customer service rep if the hotel rooms were cleaned daily, she agreed it didn't make any business sense that our home wasn't cleaned daily. I asked for a manager to call me, they never did. Found the resort to be very over priced. Also not much privacy anywhere as you are always right next to other guests.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. If you do decide to go here, select the lower cost villas--and then go and see which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler12160823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice staff, clean rooms, and awesome location. We enjoyed swimming with the dolphins and all the restaurants around the hotel. Our villa was spacious, clean, and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

villa was beautiful! Service was excellent.food in resort was good too, but expensive, it's a resort so you expect it. Great fitness center and pool area.i would definently recommend and I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maligaya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The house was great. The are nicely furnished. The resort amenities are what is lacking. If you use the pool at the house eat at the house and spend most of your time there you will have a great time. The exception is the cable tv, internet and resort personnal, there is a horrible iternet connection, it goes in and out of service. TV connection is also poor. Resort personnel are of little help. You can call but they do nothing for you, they tell you it is comcast problem and they can not do anything.

Room Tip: Stay out side the actual hotel in villas for good rooms and peacefulness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our kids are 13 (boy) & 15 (girl), tough ages to entertain. They are only happy when they are with their friends, we decided to take a trip to have some (forced) family time! Ended up with one of our best vacation experiences ever. Main hotel has the ambiance of a large resort. We decided that a week would be too long to be restricted to hotel rooms. Decided instead on a Sunset villa, 2 br's, one with queen size bed, the other with twin beds. Patio off living room and master bedroom overlook pool. Very clean updated condo, stainless steel/granite full kitchen with dishwasher/microwave and basic essentials. Beds were unbelievably comfortable, to the point that we were checking who manufactured mattresses as we just replaced ours at home. Our unit, 5088, directly overlooked pool and a limited view of the ocean. Parking directly in front of condo. Unit has a washer and dryer, ours was not working. Staff responded same day, couldn't immediately repair so they took our laundry and delivered it next day, no charge. We mainly used the sunset pool, the pool at the main hotel was very noisy and crowded and this is July in Florida! I am sure that it would be very very busy during the cooler months. The towel service at the main pool was great, we were able to take the nice oversized beach towels back to our villa and change them out as needed. Hawks Cay is so large that it is almost a little town, with everything in walking distance. We never used the shuttle, it was a 5-10 min walk to main hotel, marina, ice cream shop, water activity area and general store. I was fine with kids walking over to the shops and main hotel during the day but this is a busy place with lots of people coming and going and I wouln't feel comfortable giving kids free reign. Our 2nd day here one of the kids had an earache, hotel gave us doctors name, he saw us within 15 minutes at his office, Walgreens right nearby for medication.We mainly ate at the condo, they have a pizza delivery service (delicious) and kids walked to hotel cafe for lunch. Gift shop in main hotel has Starbucks bar, general store also has coffee. We planned daily outings which helped to get us going instead of leaving it up to kids when they woke up at noon. Day 1: Dolphin Connection at hotel, 20 min lecture and 25 min in the water with the dolphins. I was a little leery of this as I'd hate to be a part of something that was in any way inhumane. The program here allows you to stand in the pool on a submerged dock with trainer while she signals dolphin to show different behaviors. We each had a chance to get a kiss from the dolphin and to swim out one at a time to interact. No holding on or riding dolphins which ethically worked for me. There are 4 dolphins, 3 are in their 30's and an 8 year old, you will immediately figure out which dolphin is 8, he is very active and you will see him off hours playing with fish, throwing them up in the air, etc Other 3 are still very active as well.The trainers take pictures which are around $16 apiece. Day 2: on recommendation of dolphin trainer we drove to the Bahai Honda National Park to snorkel. Sandy silky bathtub warm water, very shallow for almost a mile out. Once you swim over the seagrass there are some fish to see, great place to get comfortable/reacquaint yourself with snorkeling. There isn't a reef near the beach so you really need to take a charter to see the more interesting creatures. Absolutely lovely swimming there. In addition they have a main building with a great snack bar, water sport reservation desk, bathroom & shower/changing facilities next door. Day 2: Parasailing through hotel, kids and husband loved it, safe and enjoyable. Day 3: morning went to Turtle Hospital, interesting educational visit. There's a lecture session and then you tour the hospital tanks and pool for the lifers who can't be returned to ocean. Snorkel trip to Coffin Patch through hotel. Well run, saw a decent amount of fish but we had limited visibility due to storm. Day 4: jet ski tour through hotel, fun, nice to glide around the gorgeous flat water and take in a few sights. Day 5: Snorkel trip through Bahai Honda out to Looe Key, fantastic!! We saw a few sharks, around 5 feet, barracuda, goliath grouper, snorkeling easy enough for a novice, not scary at all, still very interesting for more experienced. Dolphins visible on trip out, saw a large sea turtle on surface on the way in. Favorite meal was at Island Grill in Islamorada, celebrated sons birthday there.
We all enjoyed it so much that we are hoping to return in the fall! If you are planning to snorkel I would recommend buying an underwater camera (probably disposable) & sunscreen because they are very expensive here. I would highly recommend making reservations for the water sports/dolphin connection far in advance if you will be traveling during the busy season/school vacations.Overall: A+

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cassandspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We rented a great Villa in the Sanctuary. I called the resort prior to our stay with a number of demands and questions, the resort took time and care to insure our stay was first class.

The villa was beautiful and clean. The linens are good.

Loved the floor plan.

The beds were comfortable.

Everything worked.

No issues with smoke. Professional staff.

Fun sunset cruise.

Nice pool that is clean and nicely maintained.
Great drinks by the pool (the one by the Sanctuary)

Spa too expensive...could not get myself to spend $$$$ and no package deals.

Our villa was quiet and private.

I would have preferred more house keeping. Perhaps and enhanced charge option for this additional service.

Pool lady was great and polite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
7.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Lime Tree Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Long Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Villas at Hawks Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Villas at Hawks Cay

Property: Sanctuary Villas at Hawks Cay
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Duck Key
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Villas At Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Sanctuary Villas At Hawks Cay Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing