We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
southwest
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Villa 6009”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location of the villas couldn't be any better. The amenities that Hawks Cay Resort offers (and aren't available thru Keys Carribean) aren't anything to be concerned with. We went into the pool at the Indies Club, and the staff is very stuffy and rude. The pool was nice, but what pool isn't when you want to relax & swim. We drove to Key Colony Beach & the Cabana Club (which is available & FREE thru Keys Caribbean) and enjoyed it so much more.The beach is 10 ft. away from pool and the staff is very friendly! Food & drinks right by the pool and everything we ordered was great & reasonably priced. We planned on seeing all of the FL Keys anyway, so didn't really miss the amenities on the resort that we weren't entitled to! The villa is comfortable and nicely furnished, however a little cramped upstairs (but you are only upstairs to sleep). No bathroom on the bottom floor was a real bummer, but wouldn't keep us from staying again. The views from the 2 decks was spectacular. As for the dining at Hawks Cay Resort, "Tio's" burnt the week before we arrived, and wasn't really impressed with menus at other facilities, so we ate out in Islamorada & Marathon when we chose not to cook at villa. "Herbie's" in Marathon is a must eat at place! "Islamorada Fish Co." is a great place right on the water too. The "Wreck & Galley" has great conch ceviche. "No Name Pub" on No Name Key is a unique place to viist. Wonderful vacation & would recommend a stay at Hawks Cay Villas (if you don't mind about 25 stairs to the second floor).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    13
    8
    17
See reviews for
60
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I go back and forth with discussions of our booking this place THROUGH the Keys Carribean. I will give you my take, since I dealt with the reservations. MUCH cheaper than going through Hawks Cay, BUT you do not get to use the amenities of Hawks Cay. I did not realize this when I booked. However, when I went back to check, sure enough, it was right there along with NO refunds or cancellations. That was a big bummer especially for a family that has 8 & 11 yr olds who like to have some fun down time on the beach and in the pools. The townhouse was a nice size for the four of us. I opted for the 2BD/2BA b/c it had a small pool(jacuzzi size) on the patio. Girls only used it one evening because it was pool temp, not HOT tub temp. Oddly, there was not even a half bath on the first floor. Had to go upstairs every time. Great views, right on the canal. Walked along the docks one evening and saw two manatees. While Hawks Cay was a nice modern property, Duck Key- where it is located is too far away from everything I felt. It was difficult to ride a bike anywhere or run to the store, as we had to drive about 7 minutes into town every time. All in all, I was not thrilled with Marathon. I think next time we will stay in Islamorada. That entire town seemed a little more high class, and everything is close by.
If you are a beach person, the Keys are probably not the best for you. Lots of seagrass, not much sandy beach. The Cabana Club, that Keys Carribean gives you access to, has a nice size pool and is "ocean side" with a very small "beach". We laughed at how it was like the 70's, but then again most stuff is in the Florida Keys. It was interesting to watch Club members walk and swim up and down the short space they call the beach....When we go for a walk on the beach, we usually go for a mile or two. Again- the Florida Keys are not like the beaches on the Gulf or Atlantic....The beach/pool side service was awesome though, just like being in Mexico. The waiter was very attentive. There was shade for those fair skinned friends due to all the palm trees.
Lastly, I will say that Keys Carribean provided small toiletries for us, but the one thing I wanted the night we checked in was a small box of laundry detergent to wash our beach towels as we stayed in Key West for the first few days. That was the only darn thing they didn't leave us. It also stated in the welcome binder that the Miami Herald would be delivered daily. We both love reading the paper near the water with coffee in the morning, and couldn't wait...We never got it.:(
All in all we had a great trip, but I do not think I would stay at Hawks Cay again-with or without Keys Carribean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ktmac230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were not impressed at all with Village at hawks cay, the villa was dirty, the marina they tell you about is not easy to access for fishing daily and places to eat were limited. I think they are trying to copy hawks cay, but failed horribly. If you are wanting the hawk cay experience stay at hawk cay!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim0583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duck Key hotels

miami
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've always loved staying at Hawks Cay and usually book through the resort. This was the first time we booked through Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean and we enjoyed it once again. The villa is great, the location on the sunset side of the resort was wonderful and the property had everything we needed. We decided to splurge on the extra daily clean up for $100 a day and for four days it was fine. We had plenty of towels and taking out the trash was easy. We thought we'd miss access to the Hawks Cay resort amenities but found we were so busy with other activities that we didn't notice. All in all, you get a great accomodations for a lower price if you don't mind doing a little cleaning up on your own or paying for the extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cbarney2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed several years here on Duck Key and policies have really changed. The resort used to have more open access and now pools require key cards to get in even the sunset pool!

The cabana club is horrible. Flashback to the 50s when maybe it was built and hasn't been updated since. The game room has inoperable games along side a very old sink and open storage for vacuum etc. The beach looks as though it hasn't been cleaned in days. Walked right back out!

Wanted to share so other travelers would know before arriving or booking. Spend the extra $ and stay within the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor I found this saving grace option for our stay in the Keys. We had a reservation at a nearby hotel for a higher price than Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean. It is very much like a time share. Sleeps 4-6 people comfortably, fully equiped with a kitchen (which was what I was looking for), comfy beds and bathrooms for everyone (no fighting or waiting)!

Check-in and ammenities were exactly as described on Keys Carribean website.

Would come back here again! Loved the sunset dinners on the back deck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlacha, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 9 days and enjoyed every moment! Check in was easy with the emailed instructions and electronic keys. The unit was clean, quiet, and the hot tub was a special added bonus. UR rental came with free access to the Cabana Club...9 miles south. We are a professional couple and very picky travelers...we were more than pleased!

Room Tip: Check out the beach at Anne's Beach....Approx MM 73. Free, quiet, sparse crowd, bath house and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
7.0 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
18.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Property: Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Address: 5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Hotel Duck Key
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing