We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for cheap”
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for cheap”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel by far exceeded my expectations when we planned a winter trip to Destin. The rooms were very clean and the prices were affordable. I highly recommend this hotel for those on a budget and wish to visit Florida. Plus the beach is literally accross the street

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy that you put great value on your stay at the SummerPlace Inn. The beach entrance is easily accessible and glad that you found it to be so. Also located within walking distance are the nearby restaurants . We truly appreciate your business. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    140
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
151
151
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The staff at this independent hotel was friendly and accommodating. When you walk into the lobby, the place definitely looks and feels like an old folks' home. If you're looking for something trendy or modern, this is not the place. The room was on the small side, but clean and quiet. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a boutique style hotel and we aim for a classic style. Our British colonial themed decor give the hotel a definitive look. The dark mahogany furniture, textured fabrics, and contemporary color palate create a unique feel. Thank you for your suggestion regarding our breakfast. We are always listening to the needs and wants of our guest. We will consider increasing our breakfast selections. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

made reservations over the phone on our way from Wisconsin. had no idea what the place looked like. Wow were we pleased. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was very nice. Breakfast was just enough for us. Great location. Had to pay extra for our dog but it was well worth it. Wish we could of taken advantage of the pools and hot tub. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for those kind words! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be able to take advantage of our heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi spa tub on your next visit. We have very limited pet rent able rooms. However we understand how important it is to be able to bring along your furry family members. The $50 pet expense is to ensure that each pet room is deep cleaned upon check out. We work very hard to maintain a very pristine hotel. This ensure that great guest like yourselves return year after year. We value your business and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room was nice and clean, maid was friendly. The front desk clerk 'J' can't remember her name was vey nice. Great value, beach was across the street need to drive your car but once there well worth it.

Room Tip: Would recommend others to stay here. Staff was helpful with recommendations about where to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta Marie D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We appreciate your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your definitely right about the gorgeous Emerald Coast beaches. It's paradise! The beach is accessible by walking or driving. The walk to the beach is just a few minutes from the hotel. We do ask guest for their safety to cross the street using the crosswalk. The beach is also accessible via a short drive with plenty of public parking. We appreciate your business and we look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very Nice Hotel! Good service, Very Clean, and a friendly staff.
The only improvement (nit) is the amount of paperwork that must be filled out during check in.
The hotel is not very close to a beach access and crossing Rt. 98 can be tricky.
The rear parking lot does not drain.
However, I would recommend staying at this hotel and I will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grouper1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. We would also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sorry you felt that Hwy 98 was a little challenging to reach the beach access. The city did recently install a crosswalk for easier and safer access to the nearby beach. I'm glad to hear that you will be returning to the SummerPlace Inn. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, nicely decorated, wonderful location, nice service, good value. We stayed 3 nights and we were very pleased with everything but the breakfast was a little lacking but ok. It would not denture us for coming back. It was very relaxing and everything clean and new. Loved our stay and we will be back, we only paid $52 a night through hotels.com. Best value at a hotel that we've ever stayed at.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you kindly for your review. We really appreciate the great comments. We also appreciate the input about the breakfast. The only way we get better is by listening to the needs of our guests. We do try to rotate items daily to hot waffles, sausage buscuits & gravy, or sausage and eggs. However we are always open to new suggestions! Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We (2 adults & 2 teenagers) spent 5 nights here the week of Christmas. We LOVED it!! Very clean hotel, rooms and bathroom was really nice and the staff was very nice and their service was excellent. Loved the hot tub and pool. The breakfast was yummy! SummerPlace Inn is located right on the main street - close to shopping, eating and beaches. We loved staying here and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyH983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hope is for you to come back to the SummerPlace Inn year after year. It was our pleasure to make sure that you and your family had a great time! Make sure to give us a call directly when booking your next reservation to ensure that you get the best deal possible. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Property: SummerPlace Inn
Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA - the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local's choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel has recently completed a brand new lobby renovation to included more lounging areas and TV's for our guest. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches, shopping, and local restaurants. We are Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we're the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing