We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights and enjoyed this well located, clean, friendly hotel. We left very early this morning before complimentary breakfast was available but was offered coffee by staff. Our room was upgraded to a room with a balcony and a great view of the Gulf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ArrowPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    135
    47
    13
    14
See reviews for
148
148
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Destin Fl. Just a few minutes from the beach and dinning. Outstanding guest services, staff was very friendly and helpful. Will highly recommend SummerPlace Inn to my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardADiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is difficult to find a good place to stay for a day or two at a reasonable rate in Destin in the summer. The condo fees for cleaning and other fees add up, so this is a good choice. I liked it over the Holiday Inn. Not on the beach but the state park is close as are other access points. WARNING 2 hours in the sun here can burn you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisianaTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about SummerPlace Inn. We pride ourselves on offering more than the other select service hotels in Destin (such as the Holiday Inn Express) and a higher quality of service as one should and would expect when visiting Destin in the summer season. Thank you also for sharing some great advice to future guests in the area - as a vacation spent burnt - can be a truly miserable experience. We remind all of our guests - USE SUNSCREEN! This guests advice is one we share as well! Again, thank you for sharing about your experience here at SummerPlace Inn and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay was great the staff was so nice & helpful, this is our 2nd timeits on a busy street but its near were everything is located in walking distance. To get a better view of the Beach stay on the 4th floor facing in front, you will get to see all the whats happening outside. but you will have to walk to the beach, you just have to cross the Emerald coast & its busy. but its worth it. I also like the inside & outside pool & breakfast. I would stay again.

Room Tip: stay on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustang66alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
First I would like to thank you for being a return guest to SummerPlace Inn. We know we are doing our best when our guests come back to the hotel for a return visit! Thank you also for taking the time to write a review about your experiences here at SummerPlace Inn. Please know if you contact the hotel directly and notify us of your room placement preference, we will do our best to honor such requests based on room availability at the time. Again, thank you for being a loyal guest to us and we look forward to taking great care of you again soon!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall, this was a very impressive property in Destin.

The bed was firm but comfy with really good pillows. Bathroom had a great shower.

Breakfast served our purpose with adequate choices including eggs, sausages, variety of cereals, waffle machine & plenty of fresh fruit.

Sadly, we had only a one night stay. If circumstances allowed, we would have stayed here for a longer period.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you were impressed with your stay at SummerPlace Inn. I am very happy to hear of your satisfaction with our bedding and pillows. We just changed out all of our pillows in the hotel - now offering two different types of pillows in every guest room - and we hope all of our guests find these new pillows as enjoyable as you. We hope that if you have the opportunity to return to Destin that we are able to offer you great service and comfort on your stay as well! Thank you for taking the time to share about experience with us!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked via Travelocity and so I wasn't expecting a room with a balcony or a high level floor. We were facing the back. No complaints. The room was very clean and modern. Our fridge wasn't working but the front desk was right on it, and by the time we returned an hour or so later, it was up and running properly. The beds and pillows were comfy and the staff was really nice. It's close to everything and you can walk to the beach. The free breakfast was nothing to get excited about but I'd stay here again, definitely.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a balcony room because you won't really get a view of the beach, if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. The greatest compliment is when guests share that they will be back to stay with us again. Please know that if we have rooms available - we are always happy to place our guests with their preferred views. On your next visit - please let us know in advance if you do prefer a room facing front so that we can make a notation and try to accommodate that request :)

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We asked for a quiet room, as we'd been travelling all day. We expected some traffic noise, given the location, but it was louder than I've ever experienced in a similar location, ie on a busy road. Upgraded windows would be a good idea. But on top of that, the hotel is right next to a go-kart racing track, which kept on going til about 10.30pm - so much for a restful evening after a long day's driving.

After the noise from the karts and traffic had started to die down, we were awoken by noises that sounded like power tools, or a dinosaur with a cold, but which we worked out were plumbing noises from other rooms flushing toilets.

Breakfast, described in the hotel's own publicity as "deluxe" or words to that effect, was standard "free" hotel breakfast, but with less choice than you find at the cheaper hotel chains - definitely nothing special.

We booked this place in a hurry and based on its Tripadvisor rating, which must be based on facilities we didn't use, as I don't think it is deserved for its rooms, location or breakfast.

Room Tip: At the back, away from the 98, and away from the go kart race track. It'll probably still be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am sorry that you did not have the restful vacation you had hoped for when staying at the SummerPlace Inn. We strive very hard to meet all our guests expectations - and sometimes we are unable to deliver the service and product our guests desire. I deeply regret that we seem to have failed you during your stay.

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Property: SummerPlace Inn
Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA - the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local's choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel has recently completed a brand new lobby renovation to included more lounging areas and TV's for our guest. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches, shopping, and local restaurants. We are Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we're the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing