We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hotel Stay!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just got back from a family vacay to FL, the beaches are awesome. Our stay at SummerPlace Inn was a great one! We were able to chk-in a couple hrs early and our rooms were available at the time we were told they would be. The front-desk staff is nice, housekeeping even nicer, always smile and say hello! We booked 3 queen-dbl's, rooms were clean, stocked (towels)/serviced daily (if you wanted), A/C was cold and everything seemed to work properly. Contrary, to some of the reviews/pics, the staff was not rude, I saw no mold in the bathrooms and black marks on the wall...really people? Does a black scuff on the wall really bother you (I saw none)! ANYWAY, the kids enjoyed the pool(s) and we the hot-tub. The indoor pool is a bit small, but who cares when you've got an ocean across the St.! Breakfast was good w/ lots of options, hot breakfast line could get a little long (but who's in a rush on vaycay, right?) but was always stocked. We ended up staying another night and have no real complaints, DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youluvliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review of our hotel, SummerPlace Inn. We love so much to hear how we were able to make people smile and contribute to a memorable vacation. We are looking at some new layout options for breakfast - in hopes that this will allow the flow to run smoother at breakfast. Since we run such high occupancy, this is something that we also feel is important - and hopefully on your next visit - we will have a new layout in place that will help ease the longer lines that occur with such high occupancy at the hotel. Please keep us in mind for your next stay while in Destin - and again - thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at SummerPlace Inn!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    135
    47
    13
    14
See reviews for
148
148
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Right off 98 pretty good place to stay for a fun weekend. The breakfast bar included was tirelessly stocked over and over again by the staff. We stayed on a sold out weekend and the staff kept the breakfast goodies coming. The only drawback I had was a lack of water pressure for the shower. The location is great, priced lower than across the street for sure.
There are 2 pools, one inside and 1 outside with a jetted hot tub.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of SummerPlace Inn. We pride ourselves on providing superior style and superior service - at a fair price - and we are proud to say that our hotel is the leader in our market - even above branded hotels (such as the Hampton you mentioned across the street - which is now closed). I will be sure to let Carol, our breakfast attendant, know that she was recognized for her outstanding work in breakfast - and we will give her a morrning shout out at our daily roundup. Again, thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We sincerely appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel has a great location! It's right down the road from beautiful beaches and great resurants. Fudpuckers, Bubba Gumps Shrimp, Joes Crab Shack and plenty of other popular food places to eat. If you're looking for a "fancy" hotel, this isn't for you. My boyfriend and I never ate breakfast here because it was always crowded. The only problem we has was there was a very big, loud group of people, a church crowd I presume. They were extremely annoying and obnoxious. Most of the channels on the tv don't work either. Room was cleaned everyday, which I liked and GET A BALCONY ROOM. We had one on the top floor and had a pretty good view on the golf. It's a decent price for a decent hotel. Nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing about your experience while here at the SummerPlace Inn. I am very regretful that one of the groups we had in house while you were here was disturbing to you. We try very hard to make sure all of our guests are more than satisified - and it sounds as though we did not do our job with you - and I am regretful of that. If you are ever back in Destin, please contact me directly - and I will be sure to extend a complimentary upgrade to a balcony room (if available) - and I will personally ensure that you do not have any disruptions from other guests.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I took a last minute vacation very late in the year to get away from work and stress. It was still warm enough to swim and get out. We booked last minute with no problems. We were promptly checked in with no problems. With this being a general "off season" for destin everywhere we visited was very accommodating and not many people. The hotel was extremely clean inside in out. Our room was close to the theme park next door. We never herd any noise and the closed around 10:30 or 11ish. The hotel staff was very nice and informative. They gave us directions and some ideas of things to do. The beach is a 5minute walk worth walking. There is a crossing path close by to hit a button and safely walk across. We had the pools to ourseleve on more than one occasion. Breakfast wasn't a huge buffet but was a healthy portion. At this time of year the hotel was mainly couples like us taking a short get away, traveling family stopping for the night, and many traveling sport families ( softball,baseball,football). Great hotel!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and the helpful tips you included for fellow travelers. There are definitely certain times of year that make coming to Destin feel like being at an exclusive limited access resort. October and even November - are one of the times of year where one can experience all of the great things Destin has to offer - while not spending hours in the car fighting traffic. We sure do hope to see you again this year - and we hope we have the opportunity of helping you relax and enjoy some good old fashioned R&R.

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at Summerplace Inn last summer with my daughter, 2 granddaughters and BFF. We stayed in a 2-bed queen extended room. It was great and accomodating, even with a 3 and 7 yr. old. Our only concern was the looseness of electrical outlets and the inability to keep charger cords plugged in. I stated this in my review after last year's visit. We are returning to Destin in a few weeks and will once again stay at Summerplace Inn and have requested the same type of room.
Most times we like to try different places in order to compare places and experiences but after some thought decided to return to Summerplace because of the nice experience we had in 2011. Not only we we find it to be very convenient to the beach and other Destin attractions but the complimentary breakfast was just what we needed and the staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. So Summerplace Inn expect us August 7th.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcharj105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The staff was very friendly. Everyone we passed spoke to us and smiled. The breakfast buffet was not that great. The indoor pool is extremely small. The outdoor pool was OK.... we never got in it. The business center consisted of 1 computer (so you better hope no one else is using it). The fitness center consisted of 2 treadmills and a TV. The rooms were OK as was the bathroom…descent size...you MUST get a room with a balcony and I believe they only have about 20 of these rooms. Mini frig will keep stuff cold but it must be cold when you place it in the frig or it will take a day or so to get cold. And when they say mini frig, they mean MINI. Shawn/Sean at the front desk was the only staff member that I ran into who was not very friendly. All in all, the hotel was a good price for the location and for the last minute planning.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel June 28-July 3 and had a good experience overall. The hotel is well-maintained inside (not dated), and basically the same level outside. Every member of the staff I interacted with was kind and professional -- some were downright friendly. The hotel was really full the majority of my stay, so there was a day that cleaning was delayed, but it happened eventually. The beds are pretty standard, nothing fancy. The elevator is slow, take the stairs if you can. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and the ocean is also walking distance (5-8 min in the sun), but even around July 4 there was plenty of parking at the public beach (Calhoun) access nearest this hotel. I would say that the balcony upgrade isn't worth it since your view will be of the parkway and the go kart track next door ("Slow down! Slow down! Slow down when entering the pit!"). However, from inside the room we were NOT able to hear the go karts and we were the closest room to The Track. The free continental breakfast was sufficient. I don't mean that in a bad or good way. I partook everyday and never went away hungry. There was a lady who restocked the whole time. However, they only have one waffle iron and with the crowd that was insufficient. My only complaint was that they wanted to charge us $75 for late checkout, when originally we were eligible for a free night. Now it was my fault that we didn't pre-book that so I'm not holding a grudge about it. And Destin was busy at the time, either way the $75 wasn't worth it to us so we left. (I believe that's the idea.)

Overall, better amenities, staff and atmosphere than other chains at the same price point.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Property: SummerPlace Inn
Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA - the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local's choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel has recently completed a brand new lobby renovation to included more lounging areas and TV's for our guest. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches, shopping, and local restaurants. We are Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we're the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing