We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV park awesome beach Love it”
Review of Camp Gulf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camp Gulf
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We drove 15 hours to the resort stayed four days had a great experience awesome beach nice park ,staff Overall was friendly Front office personnel seemed a little Stressed and overworked, But I realize we were there during the busy season . Overall great experience We have already booked another week's stay coming up shortly that's how much we enjoyed the park

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffcorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

First of all, some of the staff is rude and have no personality, especially the guys that drive around in a golf cart!! The office is way to short staffed. There shouldn't be one person to the customers there and leaving people on hold for 5 min plus! Bad customer service. The $10 slide is only opened for limited time and often closed before the close down date. Not letting customers make purchases for less than $30 with a debit card is hideous. Poor customer service again. For the amount of money charged to stay there, the sites should be a little larger. Closer to the beach you are, the tighter they pack them in. The speed limit indicators should also be in more locations. Cars drive way too fast down the hill and the drunks are out at night doing the same thing. Very dangerous for kids. The employees that are driving around in carts should enforce the rules like the no bike riding at dark rule. The owners are rarely ever there and the management isn't top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachbeachbeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

This comment sounds just like the one from August 4th so I am assuming you were together and therefore will not answer all the concerns again. The Hippo Slide does close if there is lightening in the area, otherwise it has been open every day! I will have to disagree with you about the safety issues and driving. We enforce a 5MPH speed limit strictly and there are several managers that stay on site as do 3 dozen Workampers. Wish you had a better experience. Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This Rv resort was our first stop on our first retirement trip. What a great friendly place. We requested a nice shady

spot and we got it. Perfect. It takes us 5 minutes to walk to the beach. The beach is pristine. This place is close to exceptional dining and entertainment as well as being private and on the beach. A must to stay at.

Room Tip: You can choose a site right on the beach or a more private shady site off the beach. If you pick on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We have had folks stay here after searching the shoreline all over for a place like this (They found us last) and we have had folks find us right away, both saying they have not seen anything like it. Glad you found us early! This is how many of our snowbirds found us; after they retired and then traveled. They come back and settle in for a few months. Thanks for the note! Happy Camping!
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit and we love it! You can't get any closer to the water with an Rv. Our kids enjoy the bball court and tournament as well as the volleyball net, swimming pool and yogurt. Bathhouse is clean enough for being near the beach. The office staff is overwhelmed because of the parks popularity. This is an area that could use improvement. Choose "beach sites" on the west side for a roomier site. We plan to stay longer next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TKWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

SO glad to hear that you love it here! Yes, we fight the sand in the beach bath house constantly and do out best to follow behind and keep the beach one up (it gets the whole park's traffic during the day because it is so close to the water). Yes, it is our busy season in June & July and the staff of 40 keeps the 2 offices open everyday. The front opens at 8 and Leona's closes at 9pm. The demand for wanting everything right away seems to be ever increasing. We do have a mobile website now and the website is filled with most information people need to know. We will be adding a FAQ section soon to help cut down on calls where folks are just asking questions. Looking forward to your next visit!! Happy Camping!
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is ridiculous. Kids can't ride bikes once the sun starts to go down. No golf carts after dark but the rude staff can ride them around all night. You can't purchase anything in the gift shop with credit card unless you spend 30.00. The 10.00 slide ride is a total waste. The only thing they have that is good is the beach. The staff is extremely rude and not helpful at all. The dumpster is always full and overflowing. We were there 8 years ago and this was a great place. Numerous people had things stolen at night. Coolers,golf carts, floats etc. we definitely will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jbmillwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Sorry your stay was not perfect. We do not allow bike or other 'wheeled' riding AFTER DARK. It is for your kids safety! It is all about the kids having fun and keeping the safe! We have very few street lights because the stars are amazing here!! kids riding around in virtual darkness is a bad idea. Yes, the staff can patrol and clean after dark with lights on their carts; it is their job. Sorry if you feel they were not friendly. The slide fee is $10 for your entire stay here. Most places that have the ($80K) Hippo Slide charge $20/day or $5/slide. We do have to cover the cost of 2 people to man the slide and the electricity and water to run it as well as the insurance cost. I will refund your $10 if you did not get at least that much fun from the 36' high 200' long ride. I hope you give us a try again some day. Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

There are some really nice parking locations if you reserve early enough - but to be within walking distance of such a beautiful beach --- WOW.

In the campgrounds there is a lot to do for kids and families. The girls loved decorating sea shells at 10:00 on Wednesday, the slide is fun and the wibbet obstacle course in the front pool was a blast.

My personal biggest "complaint" comes from my wife - there are no real toilet lids to sit on. They do have sanitary paper shields but a person needs a big butt to stay on that commode - and to wallow in urine - eww. They seemed to have cleaned the bathrooms daily around 8 or 10 so that's a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Yes, it is a WOW, there is nothing else like this on the beach. One of the reasons is the high maintenance requirements due to the sand and salt. The beach bath house has the easy to maintain lidless toilets with individual covers. The other 12 family style baths have regular seat flip lids. We are doing make-over on all of them this winter even though they are all relatively new. They will be decorated, painted, and we will install water conserving faucets (hands free). I am meeting with the designer friday and we will discuss this change as well. Thanks for the comment and suggestion!! Happy Camping! Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When we arrived at Camp Gulf, it was pouring rain. We quickly parked our camper and headed to the activity center where we were just in time for an alligator presentation. Both our kids got to sit on a seven-foot alligator! There were great activities planned by the campground all week, and the kids really enjoyed participating in them. On Friday, the activity was a cook-out where we bought burgers, chips, and drinks for $3 each - it was a bargain, and they were delicious!

We experienced a very friendly, helpful staff. The pools were absolutely perfect - very clean and not crowded at all. The beach was amazing. We counted the steps from our campsite to the beach - 68 steps! We didn't need to rent a golf cart or anything. It was close enough to walk. The beach is worth the money and the drive (we drove 10 hours to get there).

We were so impressed and had such an amazing vacation that we will go there every year. Next year, we plan to invite our in-laws, my husband's brother, and my parents. I have never stayed somewhere so perfect for the whole family.

If I had to say something negative, I was very disappointed that I forgot to mention we were Good Sam members at check-in. That would have given us a ten-percent discount off our rather expensive stay. When I realized I forgot, I was told that it was my responsibility to ask for the discount, and they don't give any refunds. That was a bummer, but I will be certain to remember to ask for my discount next year.

Overall, we were so pleased. This is a family-friendly, fantastic place to stay. It is worth the money. We barely left the campground all week because there is so much to do. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holbert2934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickONeill, General Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

I am glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay! That is our goal. It is a Good Sam rule about asking for the discount at reservation time but if you will send me an email I will forward you a camping credit for your next visit! Happy Camping pat@campgulf.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 38 in Destin
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Gulf

Address: 10005 Emerald Coast Pkwy., Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Gulf 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp directly on the WOrld's most beautiful beaches! There is no other private RV Resort like this. We offer full amenities and Deluxe cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camp Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Gulf Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing