We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated decor with charm and incomparable location”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dated decor with charm and incomparable location”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Henderson Park Inn is located smack dab on the pristine Emerald coast, next to a park and away from all of the high rises. As a result it is probably the most private place to stay in Destin. The inn itself is somewhat dated and the smaller rooms (mini and Junior suites) are tiny. We opted for an upper level Executive room which had a large balcony and plenty of space ensuite. The arrangement was a bit awkward, however, with no place to watch the TV except for lying in bed. The TV was very small with a poor picture, but unless you are there to stay in the room and just watch TV, that is probably of little consequence. As the weather was cold during our stay we were unable to take advantage of the nice outdoor patio overlooking the beach for breakfast or evening snacks and drinks and unfortuntately there really is no inside gathering area. In that case, the guests kind of mill a round in the small lobby area and dining room which is not particularly well laid out . We did partake of the complimentary breakfast which was adequate although some of the fruits (melons, strawberries) and vegetables (for omelettes) had seen better days and could have been fresher. The Community brand coffee was awful, but they did have an alternate coffee station in the hallway for early risers that had choices of more premium brands. There is a television in the dining room which was turned on each morning which we found to be extremely annoying. When you are enjoying your first meal of the day with an unparralelled view of the ocean and the sound of the waves on the shore, you certainly don't need the boob tube blaring in your ear! Boxed lunches were provided (also inclusive) that were catered from a nearby Honeybaked Ham franchise and they were excellent. All in all the value here was good. We would probabaly return due to the excellent location, but wish the rooms were a bit fresher.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A36traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    72
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
644
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel is quite nice but the lower priced rooms are too small and do not have enough storage space for suite cases or toiletries. The TV is a joke, my computer screen is larger. We upgraded to a larger suite which was much better. Very large but we only had a couch to sit on, no chairs except for bar stools. With that being said, I would love to return because the staff is so accommodating, the food is fantastic, and the location is incredible. Betty is the best waitperson I have seen. We loved her.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David9008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

November is a GREAT time to visit Destin. The highs were in the 70's, sunny, and no crowds! Also, the best reason to visit in Nov. is to take advantage of the great deals at the HPI. Breakfast and lunch is included in the price, so is the view from the restaurant. We had the mini suite which is small but adequate and we had a balcony. You could lay in the bed and see the beach! The staff knew us by name and were always attentive! We love it here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mroberts1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our stay was perfect in every way. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. Our second floor room faced the gulf and we had a lovely view of the beach below. At night we enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the surf. Our bed was very comfortable, and the room was well-furnished. On arrival a tray with wine and grapes was waiting for us on the bed. Breakfast is a buffet, or the chef will cook whatever you want. We would definitely recommend this B&B, and would return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tealassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Location is easy to find, friendly-helpful reception and beautiful king room was ready with wine and fresh grapes.
We immediately hit the beach with chairs and umbrella ready for us. Happy hour provided fun and exceptional banana daiquiris. The chef's special hors d'ouerves were a treat. Our dinner in the inn restaurant was superb ; Nathan was very attentive to any need we might have.
The breakfast buffet was good, omelets made to order, the lunch-box sandwich was very good and fresh. Lemonade and cookies in aft. were a treat.
We will definitely return and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rekozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Henderson Park Inn is located right on the beach. We stayed in a Coastal Room which was wonderful, especially when thunderstorms moved in from the west one night. We sat on our balcony, sipping wine, watching a beautiful lightening show in the sky. The room was really nice but small, as well as the bathroom. The shower had a small window in it where we could watch the surf while taking a shower. Simple things such as lemonade and cookies placed out in the afternoon, a community refrigerator stocked with candy bars, water and soda, espresso machine, and happy hour on the deck, really made the Inn special. Breakfast was a buffet with made to order omelets. Lunch was boxed, which at first we thought was cheap, but when we ate lunch on the beach sitting on the cushioned lounge chairs and under the umbrella provided by the Inn, or having lunch on our balcony, we realized the boxed lunches was a great idea. Dinner is not included in the room rate, but the restaurant at the Inn was very good. Highly recommended for service, taste, and presentation of food. No children allowed at the Inn - yeah!! We are already planning a return visit for next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We spent three nights in an "executive suite". Room and bed were just average; not sure why they call it a suite as there was just an normal sized room with decent king bed, two small upholstered chairs and a little desk. Tiny TV. Most importantly for us, a nice private balcony overlooking the Gulf. Nice grounds, good breakfast and box lunches, "free" bottle of wine, sodas and candy bars, one hour of free happy hour included in the price. Also included were bicycles, a beach umbrella and two lounge chairs. Never tried the expensive restaurant, close to many Destin restaurants and shopping. After all the service fee, bed tax, and sales tax, total came to $1050 for 3 nights. We like Destin, would go back but probably in the winter when rates are lower.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing