We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every happy couple should experience HPI sometime!”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Every happy couple should experience HPI sometime!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the honeymoon suite. At first I was worried because it was on the north side (no beach view), but it was really no big deal! As a matter of fact- we are hoping to go back and request this room! Where do I start? Awesome breakfast, great lunch, wonderful private beach, free happy hour, access to water and cokes and candy bars! It was laid back yet extremely friendly! There were swings on the property for couples to enjoy the ocean. Again, I can't say it enough, the honeymoon suite was amazing- VERY PRIVATE :) the staff was also very friendly, I felt like they really liked us! :) We will be back!! Oh yeah, you use their beach towels too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Achuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    72
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
638
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were initially put off by this Inn. We originally planned a trip to Destin but a hurricane had other plans when it decided to show up on the days we would be driving there! Henderson Park was the only hotel we booked that refused to refund the reservation. I understand the no refund policy, but for a hurricane? We called later and asked what their occupancy was, they admitted it was low and the restaurant was closed, but we still couldn't get a refund? Not really the best impression to start out with...

Well, they do allow you to reschedule your reservation up to 2 times. We eventually decided we'd try again, we visited during Thanksgiving week and we're glad we did. This Inn was wonderful! I love that there are no children running around (even when it isn't a holiday week!), it's very quiet, very, very clean, and the staff is incredibly attentive. The private beach access was another big bonus, and the free cocktails on the deck are a great way to watch the sunset.

The breakfasts were HUGE- custom omelets, tons of fresh fruit, drinks, and sides. We looked forward to it each morning and didn't hesitate to eat breakfast there. The best part? The Beach Walk Cafe dinner- it was the best meal and most romantic meal I think we've ever had. The chef brought out a small appetizer and came back to see how we liked it, I told him I didn't eat pork (and I'm allergic to shellfish) so he made another small appetizer for me ;) The Vince grouper is something I still crave! The bread pudding made with a Krispy Kreme donut? Well, how do you top that exactly?

Seriously, this Inn is worth the money. If you're considering it for a long weekend or a long week, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ocean views are worth the $$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kirbyj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Henderson Park Inn is a VERY special place for the over 25 crowd. My wife and I stayed 4 days and 5 nights. Weather was perfect. It is located next to Henderson State Park on the quiet Eastern edge. The New England type architecture makes it very unique to the area. Not your usual "cookie-cutter" hotel. Loved the "Inn" like atmosphere. Breakfast and Lunch were provided each day. Beach chairs and umbrellas were ready and waiting on the beach each morning. Bicycles were available. The Beach Walk Cafe was located there at the Inn for evening meals. Above all, the staff was "AMAZING"! VERY ACCOMMODATING! FRIENDLY! Could not imagine a better staff any place else! My wife and I look forward to returning in the near future! We call it our "Little Piece of Heaven on Earth!"
Jeff and Janice, Franklin, North Carolina.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101. Was located next to the Lobby and the back deck was directly out our rear en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

HPI far exceeded our expectations in every way! We stayed for 4 of the most perfect nights and will return again and again! The bed was very comfortable, the view was breathtaking, and the food was delicious. Most importantly, every staff member made us feel very special without being obtrusive! Pure class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsbwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am a 67 year old female traveling with another female friend to see family in the Destin area.

I was enchanted by the web sight and review of this hotel. I was on the phone over four minutes going over what is offered for the price, which was fair enough. Then she got off the phone and someone else came on and asked if I was married and over 25. I assured her I was over 25 but asked why she wanted to know if I was married. She told me it was a romantic hotel. She asked me again if I was married. I told her I felt she was discriminating by asking this question. She later said because I requested two rooms she thought I was bringing a party crowd. I never did tell her more about myself. I don't think they have the right to discriminate once their age minimum is met. I will not be staying there and was offended by her assumptions and questioning.

Helpful?
15 Thank shelbyk k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
This lady was told that Henderson Park Inn was adults only and everyone who stays has to be 25 years and older. She was NEVER told she had to be married to stay as that is not a policy of Henderson Park Inn or anywhere that I have ever heard of. She was extremely "nasty" to the reservationist on the phone. The reservationist offered for her to speak to a manager as soon as she got upset about thinking she had to be married to stay at the Inn. She hung up on the reservationist and then decided to write this review. Her son called the following day and I did speak with him. He thought his mother must of misheard the reservationist and became defensive. We have never had a review like this as this is not something that we have ever told anyone. We take great pride in our guest's and are extremely blessed for each and every one of them.
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had been dreaming of staying here for months and finally for our 24th wedding anniversary we decided to just do it! Boy are we glad we did! The service is unmatched. Everyone is genuinely friendly, amenities to meet your every need, beautiful views and a comfortable bed are just a few of the main selling points. The chefs were so kind and the breakfasts were phenomenal! I even got my husband to go with me to a cooking class they offered and he enjoyed it! I did notice that the structure needed a little love and care, and a pool would be nice, but these two negatives are not such that I wouldn't pay the price to go again...and hopefully as soon as possible!

Room Tip: First floor rooms can be a bit noisy close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eads, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at HPI for many many years. I agree with the review regarding the need for a pool. The location is absolutely spectacular though with or without a pool. It would really be great if HPI had at least soft music playing on the patio area since it is such a romantic atmosphere. The breakfast, lunch boxes and happy hour were fabulous as well. The beach chairs were a little old and worn but hey they were included in price of the room. HPI will always be a special place for us and I only hope it will stay around for a long time. There is nothing like it in Destin or anywhere along the beach for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8976more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing