We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband & I just got back from Henderson Park Inn. What a relaxing time! If you are looking to go somewhere and lay on a beautiful beach and be pampered, this is the place. No one under 25 yrs. old is allowed and the beach is private and not crowded at all! The food here is FANTASTIC! Breakfast and lunch is included in the price of your stay...how great is that??? They also provide unlimited soda, water, and candy bars. Free happy hour every day from 4pm to 5pm. Have all the wine, beer, frozen/on the rocks drinks you want during that time. Need I say more??? The staff was wonderful and we met a lot of really great people who were also staying there. Do yourself a favor and escape the crowds...stay here! You will NOT want to leave! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    70
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
619
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I can't put into words how great this place is. You do not have to "think" about anything. There is so much included in the price, that you really don't have to leave the property. The beach is extremely private and the staff is amazing. They are the most friendly staff I have ever come in contact with at any establishment!! I will be going back there again and again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destinguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I know the area is meant to be great ( no idea due to storm) but having prepaid this we were expecting a bit more than what we got. ( nz $ 700!) Old room with decor to match and bathroom even worse.
While ' free' cokes and chocolates , happy hour sound good, how much of this can you really consume?
And as for the extra add ons, $40 insurance in case you wreck the old room, non negotiable or refundable is unbelievable in this day and age .....

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had a corner suite w/ king bed in the "east" building. The rate was $549 but then they add a 5.3% admin fee, a $40.00 non-refundable damage waiver fee (I've stayed all over the world and this is a first), plus tax.....about $675 per night total. Out of curiosity I did some checking on what I could get for that kind of money elsewhere. Let's compare............the Four Seasons in Palm Beach was $499 for an ocean view; the Ritz Carton in Sarasota was $489 for a one bedroom suite w/ balcony on the club level! This "Inn" is nice but it's not the Four Seasons.
The main reason we stayed here even at this price is its location. It's just hard to beat being "on" the beach (like 20 yards away!) and next to a park so that very few folks are around at any given time. "Mom" just can't walk very far so this was the best option. They provide enough umbrellas & chairs for every room, a wonderful deck overlooking the beach and a generally friendly staff. The view from our corner room was great and our second floor balcony was very good size. I don't recommend the third floor corner room as its balcony was much smaller and the bed was like four feet off the ground.
Also note that our two rooms had a large tub/shower combo that would not be easy to get in for older folks, and there were no grab bars.
Breakfast was buffet style with a cook-to-order station and was pretty good (don't get the waffles, too heavy).
Had dinner both nights at their Beach Walk restaurant. Loved the Crab cakes (small but great). Salads were very good (caesar & warm spinach). Pork chop was huge & good. Service was so-so. The lady that showed us to the table seemed to be in a bad mood both nights and our waiter on the second night forgot my mother-in-laws beverage even after being reminded so we finally gave up. Never crossed his mind to offer something extra after we pointed out his mistake at the end of our meal. One more thing........do not get the banana cream pie, it was the worst I'd ever had. Didn't try any other desserts after that experience.

Room Tip: Note that only one building has an elevator and only one room has a walk in shower (other than the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Let me start by saying the customer service is outstanding, which takes a little bite out of the price. The room is nice, but the bathroom is about 15 years overdue for a makeover. The 25" television is extremely small for the room, which we normally would not watch that much but with the recent rains which meant cancelled dive and fishing trips sometimes a tv is needed. It is oceanfront and very close to the ocean which is great, but the deck is narrow so once again when it was raining you could not sit on the deck without getting wet. While the beach in front of the inn is private, directly to the left is condos and their chairs, umbrellas, playpens, etc are all sat up right next to the henderson park inn chairs so it really is not a quiet, secluded beach. The breakfast, lunch and happy hour are all good and the staff is awesome. Although it is pricey, the only thing I really had a problem with is the $40 non-refundable insurance policy. With this being an adult B&B I think that is quite the rip off that your tenants are paying to insure your property, when 99.9% of the people staying here probably take excellent care of the property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2urhlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room decor was lovely, the staff was extremely helpful.

The breakfast, which is included with a room, was wonderful. We also had dinner one evening and ordered the box lunch on another day. Everything was very good.
The beach is beautiful. Happy hour / sunset is on the back deck from 5 to 6. Beer and wine is free during this time.

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor on the west side of the main building. That side of the main building l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We're been vacationing in Destin for 30 years, but for the first time decided on this Inn instead of a condo. I wish we had tried it long ago! The room was gorgeous, the amenities impressively extensive, the food gourmet, and the staff a true testimony to customer service. Would stay again, and again, and again.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2BeachLoversSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing