We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a very special place, hate to share it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Kanssas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a very special place, hate to share it”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great little inn. We had a lovely room with balcony directly facing the gulf. And all of the amenities made it so great.....breakfast, box lunches, bottle of wine at check in, happy hour daily, bicycles, beach chairs/towels. Location next to a state park made the beach quiet, even during spring break week. Staff were all friendly and gracious. Lovely place....hate to share it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KathyinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    70
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
624
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend at this fabulous inn! I read all the reviews before we booked our room and I must say they are spot on. This inn is a true gem. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room: We stayed on the third floor of the second building in an executive suite. The view from our balcony was amazing. It was a bit small to sit on but that was ok. We were still able to open the doors and listen to the waves. We had no problems with the tv, it was a decent size. They must have different sizes in different rooms. We did have a hard time with the wi-fi from our room but not a huge issue.

Food: We ate breakfast and lunch at the inn every day. The breakfast was amazing, there were so many choices. The boxed lunch was a nice touch and we enjoyed being able to eat anywhere we liked. We had dinner at the beachwalk cafe the last night of our stay and it was the best food we ate the entire trip and that is saying something!! The daily happy hour was also very enjoyable.

Staff: Friendly and helpful. We had no issues but I have no doubt they would have resolved them very quickly.

Beach: Quiet and peaceful even during spring break. We could see dolphins from the shore all day long. The beach chairs and umbrellas were set up every morning and there seemed to be plenty for the guests. We even saw a beautiful beach wedding at the inn one afternoon.

We were sad to leave but are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txbeachlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We saw that the Henderson Park Inn was rated #1 here on Trip Advisor, and wanted to take a little beach getaway, so we made a reservation there in one of the Executive suites. It was pricey, so I was a bit concerned about whether it would be worth it. Well, it was, and then some. The room was fantastic. Large, well appointed, with a balcony overlooking the beautiful and very private beach. When we opened our room door we were greeted with beautiful soft music, and a tray with a bottle of wine and grapes on the bed. Great breakfast, and a really nice box lunch everyday to take whereever you wanted to eat it. There's a happy hour on their beautiful deck overlooking the beach everyday, and we also ate in their restaurant each night and had delicious gourmet meals. The eggplant and crab appetizer is to die for. Don't miss it. Dinner is the only thing not included in your price here. There's bottled water, candy bars, and a gourmet coffee machine available 24/7 at no extra cost.

I would be remiss to not mention the fantastic and friendly staff. Everyone was lovely and accomodating. Also, as a fairly recent empty nester, I had not anticipated how much we would enjoy the peace and quiet of all adult accomodations. You have to be 25 or above to stay here. I love kids, and we go to Disney a couple times a year, but I must admit that the serenity of an adult stay was absolutely wonderful, and not something I had ever thought to seek before. I certainly will now.

The Destin area is a shopper's paradise on top of being a beautiful beach area. Be sure to check out Silver Sands Outlet stores, and the Destin Commons if you enjoy shopping.

I'd give the Henderson Park Inn 10 stars if I could, and we plan on making it our new getaway spot at least a couple of times a year. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet location of the second building. It's an stone's throw from the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I'll start with the positives, and they are pretty awesome. The view: it is incredible! The price paid is almost worth the view alone. The breakfast: honestly one of the very best I have ever had. There are many different options, so no matter what your preference, you will find what you are looking for. The staff: top-notch. When we arrived, we had a couple of issues with our bathroom. We called down to the front desk, and Natalie promptly switched our room, giving us an upgrade to boot! They were all very warm and welcoming and extremely accommodating. The room was cleaned well each day and chocolates were left on our bed after each cleaning. Now, the cons, and really, these are somewhat minor, and I mention them only because this place is quite pricey, and I believe for the price you pay these things should not be an issue. The TV is VERY small. So small, it's difficult to see it from the bed. The water pressure in the shower was extremely weak. So much so, it was difficult for me to wash my hair. Lastly, each time we took a shower, we had to wait about 5 minutes for the water to warm up, and that is no exaggeration. It would start out ice cold and we would just stand there, waiting. However, once it got warm, it stayed that way. Overall, the place is definitely showing its age and could use new paint and carpet, as well as new fixtures in the bathrooms, but if these things don't bother you, you will definitely enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a full ocean view, it is well worth it! The 2nd floor rooms have full ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmerBamerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just spent our first weekend at Henderson Park Inn but it certainly won't our last! Service was exceptional and the location is unbelievable, like being on your own private beach even during spring break. Already trying to figure out when we can go back. Bed was super comfortable but the TV was horrible, guess they don't expect you to be watching it much. Saw dolphins right outside one morning.

Room Tip: No elevators so beware if you are on the 3rd floor, balconies are smaller also but lower room rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosborne32571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

It was just OK. Polyester sheets. A tv so tiny you couldn't see it from the bed. No vent in bathroom/shower. Older...needs paint, carpet and updating.Breakfast was wonderful! Views were fabulous!! Won't go back but neat to experience.

Helpful?
5 Thank Mommato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were guests at Henderson Park Inn from Feb. 21 to Feb. 25, 2012. We chose HPI on the basis of good reviews of other guests posted on Tripadvisor. All of the good things said are true. The inn is located on a beautiful uncrowded stretch of beach. Being at the north boundry of Henderson State Park results in a long stretch of undeveloped park south of the inn. The inn personnel were very helpful and polite. They went out of their way to make sure that inn guests were well taken care of and made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing