We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was the best weekend gettaway ever. The staff was very customer focused and the location is perfect. The food was outstanding. We really enjoyed everything about our trip to Henderson Park Inn!! We will return for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony room when you make your reservation. Our balcony was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 781 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this week and had the best time! Right on the ocean, extremely nice staff, clean rooms with a comfortable bed, beautiful view and interesting guests. I will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Henderson Park Inn, or HPI, is fabulous. Although we live only an hour away in Navarre, FL we stayed at HPI in Oct, 2012 for my birthday. We had a wonderful, relaxing visit but decided that it was a bit pricey for us and would only go back for a very special occasion. The special occasion came much quicker than we though! We received an email from HPI with reduced prices for mid-week in Jan/Feb. We decided to celebrate Valentine's Day a week early and booked a room for 3 nights.

We were impressed with the staff on both visits. Everyone from housekeeping to the chef at breakfast to the bartenders at the included happy hour to the front desk staff go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your visit.

So much has already been said about all of the things that are included in the room rate, so I won't repeat a lot of that here. We really enjoyed the included lunch. You pre-order on the night before from a menu of sandwiches and salads and can pick up the box lunch in the dining room anytime between noon and 2 pm. During this time, there are several kinds of cookies, a variety of fruits, lemonade, and ice tea. Since we often weren't hungry during that timeframe (still full from breakfast!), we used the refrigerator in our rooms to store the sandwiches and then warmed them up later in the microwave.

Although Destin can be crazy, especially in the summer, HPI is tucked away on "old" scenic Hwy 98 right next to the state park. Probably the quietest place you can find in Destin and still easy walking distance (less than a mile) to all of the shops and restaurants in Destin Commons.

For both on our visits, our rooms were on the 3rd floor of the main building. As previously mentioned, the balconies on this floor are very small. We really appreciated that we were alerted to this when we called to make our reservations. No surprises! We did not find this to be a problem since HPI has a huge deck that is never very crowded.

Both times,we enjoyed talking to the other guests at the included happy hour and at breakfast. Many of the guests have been to HPI numerous times. Count us among them! We have already booked our third visit for our anniversary in January, 2013!

Room Tip: Ask for a discount or a free upgrade during the off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great service. Great view. Had a super room with ocean view. Went there the first time in Sept 2011 and will surely return.

Room Tip: Try the oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eepj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Henderson Park Inn offers excellence in customer service and accommodations. From the moment guest arrive they will notice that staff are attentive with no detail overlooked. The ocean front rooms allow guest to enjoy the emerald coast in a way that typical accommodations do not. From my morning walk on the beach to the awesome happy hour, this has been one of my favorite travel experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Henderson Park Inn must have changed their chef this year as dinner was nothing like it used to be. i.e. The sauces used to be delicate enhancing and complimenting the flavor of the food. Now they are overpowering hiding the food flavor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have been vacationing in Destin for years and I wish we would have known about Henderson Park Inn sooner! I read incredible reviews about HPI on TripAdvisor as well as travel magazines and Southern Living. All of the reviewers were right, this place is wonderful. The Inn is directly on the beach with incredible views. We stayed in an Executive Suite in the east building and loved it. The room was spacious, decorated beautifully with a spacious balcony to look at the beach. The front desk staff in the main building were all very friendly and helpful, especially Amber. The complimentary breakfast served everyday was incredible and the breakfast Chef was outstanding and friendly. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galatravelevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $209 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing