We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 15th Wedding Anniversary!”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful 15th Wedding Anniversary!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband & I spent Jan. 10 - 13 at HPI for our 15th anniversary. In a word: WONDERFUL!!

We were welcomed warmly by Ryan, the Innkeeper, and Tammy. Check-in was a breeze. After a brief tour (mini fridge in the lobby w/water, soft drinks, candy bars, board games, dvd library, book of menus for local restaurants, deck & beach access points, etc), we went to our room, #212 Executive. Roomy and immaculate with a gorgeous view of the Gulf. A lovely tray with fresh rose spray, wine & grapes greeted us...a very elegant touch! Housekeeping left chocolates on the pillow each day after they cleaned (thank you, ladies!!).

The food: Amazing! Breakfast each day was wonderful...be sure to try the New Orleans grillades & grits. Thanks to Chef Greg & Alan who took good care of us each a.m. We enjoyed our Anniversary Dinner at Beachwalk: outstanding! My husband had the sea bass while I had the surf & turf. Perfectly chilled champagne, steak cooked to perfection, flaky fish. Our server, Wade, was very knowledgeable about the menu, recommended a fine wine and provided us with excellent service. We enjoyed an outstanding meal.

Due to the unusually cool weather during our visit, the daily Happy Hour (held on the deck at 3:30 - 4:30 daily) was held indoors...but just as enjoyable!

Only one suggestion: strengthen the wi-fi signal.

It was a fantastic 1st trip to the Emerald Coast! Be sure to visit Harbour Walk and Baytowne in Sandestin. Nice shops, etc.

We can't wait to return to the lovely beaches of Destin and to HPI!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DivaMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    73
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
649
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have been coming to Destin and the Seaside area for 20 years but had never stayed at the Inn. We learned about it because we love the on site restaurant which is Beachwalk Cafe. We decided to give it a try for a weekend getaway but could only do so by accepting the option of changing rooms after the first night. Although that sounded like a complete pain, I said yes because we really wanted to get away and we had our hearts set on trying Henderson. We stayed in a third floor Junior Suite the first night. It was lovely, spacious, and what a view! The second night we had to move to the Presidential Suite, which was quite reasonable, first as compared to any Presidential Suite in cost, but second for the sole reason that it was HUGE an well worth the $450.

We had breakfast at Beachwalk Cafe each day as it is included in the cost as is a gourmet box lunch on any full day that you are there. Every meal was better than the last! But dinner at Beachwalk Cafe is a must even though it is not part of the price. DO NOT miss that, it is outstanding and again, the views are great from any table in the house.

There is nothing negative about this property, you will find yourself looking forward to, and planning the next trip as you pull out of the drive.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are spacious and the views on the third floor are the best. The Presidential Suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I just returned from spending four days at the Henderson Park Inn with my wife, visiting over the long Christmas holiday weekend. It was also a celebration of my 50th birthday. We had never visited before, but expectations were cautiously optimistic. Prior to stumbling across the property on the web I had never heard of HPI, but the numerous solid reviews caught my attention.

The location is a pleasant surprise. While Destin is ridiculously overbuilt in spots, HPI is directly next to a state park. There is a solid mile of beach with nothing but undeveloped sand dunes contiguous to the property. And while Destin can be a little over-the-top, the main shopping areas are all right around the corner. We never travelled far to get a meal. The location has a lot going for it.

While advertised as a B&B, this property really feels more like a boutique hotel. The rooms are divided between two buildings. We stayed in the building next to the main one with the front desk and restaurant. The room, and Executive Suite, was large, comfortable and nicely appointed. The bed was enormous, although incredibly soft. My wife loved it, but I had some back issues because it was so soft. The room had a smallish flat screen TV (with decent channel selection), a large bathroom and a nice kitchenette. There was a relatively roomy, semi-private deck directly overlooking the Gulf.

My one bone to pick with the room was the shower head and water pressure. There was a terrific jacuzzi-style tub, but the shower functionality left a little to be desired.

A bottle of wine, a bunch of grapes and a long-stemmed rose awaited us in the room when we arrived, which was a nice touch.

Service was extremely strong at this inn. Not a day went by where someone on the staff didn't go out of their way to do something extra for us. That was quite the change of pace from what I've come to expect (or not expect.)

The stay includes an awesome breakfast every morning that is quite complete. Sausage, bacon, grits, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, yogurt, hash browns and a variety of juices were all in a buffet with a cook available to make eggs any way that you'd like, including omelettes.

You can also receive a box lunch everyday if you remember to order it the night before. The box lunches come frm Honeybaked Hams and are quite good.

We did not eat at the restaurant (the Beach Walk Cafe) for dinner. The menu appears quite expensive, although the food is rumored to be very good.

There is a happy hour each day with drinks, wine or beer on the house.

The beach is quite beautiful and we went on many walks along the state park side of the property. With it being winter there were few people on the beach which was very nice.

HPI is a charming, romantic inn where we felt like we were getting more than our money's worth. We were looking to unplug for a few days and I can't think of a better place to accomplish that. I hope to return again in warmer weather to see what that experience is like.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor of the building next to the main one. It's quieter and the best decks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I live a life of constant travel and I love staying in places that are not sterile, cookie cutter hotels. This bed and breakfast really tends to the details and has the most personable staff I have encountered in a while. In the price is breakfast (tended by a cook-to-order chef), snacks, drinks, lunch on your full days, free happy hour, a very nice welcome with a bottle of wine, and a very nice beach view. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trent_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Henderson Park Inn for the first time. The TA reviews were what prompted us to choose this property and we are so happy we did! From the friendly check in with Amber at the front desk we were taken on a short tour of the main building and shown all the amenities....and there are many! Included with your stay is a welcome bottle of wine and grapes, daily "boxed" lunches which can be enjoyed on the massive deck, your balcony, the beach or a picnic anywhere you like! Also in the main building is a refreshment area with coffee, tea, hot chocolate plus mini fridges stocked with sodas and candy bars...yes...all included! But wait, I'm not finished....in the afternoon there is also lemonade and tea with fresh baked cookies! And did i mention the breakfast?.....the chef will whip you up an omelet or waffles to go with the bacon, sausages, grits, biscuits, fresh fruit, baked items and the list goes on. Meet out on the deck at 4 p.m....thats when Happy Hour begins at the Tiki Bar...and yes....its included. The bartenders were very friendly and even though we were a bit cold with the November breeze coming off the water, a patio heater helped as well as the endless glasses of wine! The rooms are very tastefully decorated. We were 3 rd floor in the East building with a spectacular view of the long stretch of white powder soft beach.
We would suggest anyone who visits Destin to try this beautiful B and B type resort...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms with the bigger balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great environment for a quick getaway with a loved one. The accommodations, service, staff, rooms, beach, and amenities are all you need (other than a companion) for a nice few days alone. Wine and flowers await in the room. Balconies overlooking the gulf coast for sunrise and sunset. Uncrowded beaches for nice walks. Candy bars upon return. A nice happy hour on the patio with perfect sunset views. We've been here twice so far and have never encountered a problem.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, west building are especially suited to private sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Amazing accommodations and staff! Great breakfast every morning and wonderful restaurant in the evenings. Wonderful rooms and great deck area for watching sunsets. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petej65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing