We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of The Surf Hut

The Surf Hut
Ranked #13 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Surf Hut, the newest restaurant addition to the South Walton, Destin/Miramar Beach area. Sit back, relax and enjoy the view! This brand new, open air restaurant is located directly on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico and is the place to be all year long! The Surf Hut has a menu that goes far beyond your typical 'beach fare' and adds a little surfer flare to a cuisine that includes Seafood, Oysters and St. Louis Style BBQ! Kids meals are served in a take home souvenir frisbees and we've got a custom game area on the beach where you can grab a game of corn hole while you watch the waves and sip a delicious signature frozen libation from our full bar! Whether you're looking for a place for lunch while you're enjoying the beach, a local spot to get fresh from the Gulf seafood, date night or a family friendly place to bring the kids, The Surf Hut has got something for everyone! Boogie on down to The Surf Hut, enjoy the food, the fun and the waves! See you soon!
Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our first time at the Surf Hut. The blackened shrimp tacos were delicious. The view of ocean was spectacular. We had great service from Ibrahim which made it a great experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,543
    649
    245
    58
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for late lunch after reading some good reviews. We thought the food was excellent. I has the grilled grouper fish tacos which were fabulous. They weren't spicy which I prefer. My husband had the grilled cobia which was mild and flaky and prepared just right. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly. In fact, everyone was hospitable. The restaurant is fairly new and the unfinished wood planks still smell which pleased us. The view is great right on the beach. All in all, a very good experience. We definitely would go here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality, good food, amzing view”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Thanks to Tina and the staff! I really enjoyed the salad, the skewers were delicious, and the sangria was refreshing as I enjoyed the emerald water view! There were plenty of TVs to watch entertainment while lounging at the bar, also. Plan to return soon! Jacques

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Breath of fresh "ocean" air!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were having no luck finding good service at area restaurants including the restaurants on the very nice resort we were staying at. We happened upon this gem of a place and so happy we did!! We were seated immediately, greeted by our server CHRIS immediately and he was genuinely happy to serve us!! He was honest about menu items when asked his opinion, he stayed on the ball while still maintaining a friendly demeanor. Our food came in a timely manner and was absolutely delicious! Will return soon!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Was not impressed with food quality. The fresh catch snapper with lump crab was disappointing. The fish was dry and overcooked. They forgot the lump crab and brought it out in a "side" bowl.

Helpful?
1 Thank dhcoxrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surf Hut also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Surf Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing