We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. We were pleasantly surprised when we decided to spend one additional night in Destin and this hotel was able to accommodate us. The hotel is small but with a great beach location, extremely clean and well appointed. Would absolutely stay here again. Great location for couples and families.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small motel on the BEACH. It was clean, beautiful view - small efficiency room.
Stayed somewhere else the night before we checked in here...not even a contest - this was by far so much better.
Staff at front desk (Mary) was very polite, friendly, & helpful. If you want a clean, updated, no-frills GULF FRONT place to stay with a FANTASTIC, unobstructed view of the beautiful gulf - this is a great choice!

Room Tip: I like the view from the second floor -- but first floor is great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CM-Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been staying here on and off for over 20 years. It was getting more than a little tired and needed renovation so started staying elsewhere. When we were in Destin Christmas 2011 we saw they were remodeling! So we took a chance and just stayed there for ten days in an efficiency on the first floor. The renovations are very nice, the beds have great toppers, new appliances, clean as a whistle and very quiet. Now the windows on the first floor can be opened and there is now free Wi-Fi. We just loved it. You absolutely cannot beat the location and the affordability. We also found the Management to very very helpful and nice. My 80 year old mother-in-law stayed next door and they were so kind to help us hook up her earphones for the TV. When she couldn't sleep lying down they allowed us to contact a rental company to bring in an electric recliner for a week. Family friendly for all ages!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here in July with our 9 month old daughter. Compared to a few other properties we saw, the Sea,Oats has the following unbeatable advantages: 1) Proximity to the beach - there is no hotel closer to the beach. None. And being that close with a 9 month old and all of the stuff that one must carry, being that close was priceless! 2) amenities - we were thrilled to have a kitcheonette and access to a washer dryer. Again, those features at the price we paid, were great and key for a traveling family. 3) did I mention that you are literally right on top of the beach?! :)

If we go back, we would probably do one of the beck front efficiencies right on the board walk. We were in one of the apartments over the pool and while it was perfectly fine, you can't beat the location of those beach front rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is an older, no frills property. But it is clean, quiet and right at the water's edge. If you are looking to enjoy the sound of the surf from your room, sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony and be only steps from the water, this is the perfect location. We just spent our second Thanksgiving holiday here and plan for many more return visits.

Room Tip: The efficiency rooms have a full size refrigerator, a range, sink and counter space. They provide di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pittsburgh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I found this little motel right on the beach and found it to be clean comfortable and with everything we needed and a view that anyone would love great winter rates so drop by you won't be disappointed. We chose the efficiency over the motel room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea Oats based off reviews on Trip Advisor and were very happy with our experience. So much so, we stayed an extra night!

Pros:

1. Great location in Destin on a very nice beach.
2. Close to restaurants, shops and activites.
3. VERY comfortable bed, and nice updated rooms.
4. Stayed in room #29 and we were just steps from the beach from our patio. Definitely go for a room on the bottom floor.
5. Very nice staff.

Cons:

Don't have any!. They accomodated our late night arrival and early departure with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roatan_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Address: 3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-4725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $119 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Sea Oats Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing