We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea Oats based off reviews on Trip Advisor and were very happy with our experience. So much so, we stayed an extra night!

Pros:

1. Great location in Destin on a very nice beach.
2. Close to restaurants, shops and activites.
3. VERY comfortable bed, and nice updated rooms.
4. Stayed in room #29 and we were just steps from the beach from our patio. Definitely go for a room on the bottom floor.
5. Very nice staff.

Cons:

Don't have any!. They accomodated our late night arrival and early departure with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roatan_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    89
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
93
109
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean spacious room with kitchenette. Located right on the beach at a very reasonable price. Walking distance from a large seafood restaurant. We are just passing through and only staying one night, but would certainly come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rav4gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly815
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary and it was great. You are footsteps from the beach, the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. These rooms are very basic, but you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberly815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at Sea Oats for first time Aug 17-25 2012 in Apt 2. Wonderful experience, great friendly staff. Property was exactly what we were looking for. Right on beautiful, powdery beach. Beach was impeccably clean as was the motel and surrounding areas. Room had kitchen with all ammenities. Will definitely stay again at Sea Oats, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach front units seem to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cypress4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here over the labor day weekend and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in Apartment 02 with our two kids. The apartment had a full kitchen which is a plus if you plan prepare some of your meals. We did not take advantage of the kitchen on this trip but it's a plus. Overall our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We also had a fold out couch in the living room area. The staff was nice and they had a smooth process to checking in after hours (3am). I recommend this place especially for its locatoin, it sits right on the beach si your just a step away. Overall it's great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N_kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from our vacation again in Destin and at Sea Oats! Stayed in our usual kitchenette and very impressed with the remodeling. Weather was uncooperative the first couple of days, but only God has control of that, so we were able to just sit and relax for a little bit. Then had beautiful weather for the next 3 days. Still enjoyed being right on the beach, the cost-not very expensive, and once again, the staff were very nice. Had to cut our vacation short due to unexpected family emergency, but do hope we can return in early October. Of course, we will stay at Sea Oats again!

The Moore's

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here last week and we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was so friendly and so sweet! Jennifer and Keely were the two staff members that we dealt with during the duration of our stay....talk about treating guests how how they would want to be treated! Very accomadating and very helpful! The rooms were clean and comfortable! We love vacationing in Destin and we will definitely stay here again!!! We can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmrh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#12 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Property: Sea Oats Motel
Address: 3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-4725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#11 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Sea Oats Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing