We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Southbay by the Gulf”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southbay by the Gulf
Ranked #40 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Southbay by the Gulf”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Our family very much enjoyed our stay in unit 57at Southbay by the Gulf. This unit was clean and offered the best of both worlds. We fed the birds off our balcony and enjoyed the lake watching the sunset. The pool was heated so the children enjoyed afternoon swims. The private beach was very nice. This was the best unit centrally located with quick access to the pool and the beach. We enjoyed eating and feeding the alligators at Fudpucker's ! The shopping mall had great stores and a place for a nice lunch at Hard Rock Cafe. It was about a1 hour drive to Wonder Works in Panama which gave us another fun way to spend our afternoon. We topped it off with dinner at Sharky's with a pirate ship playground. Also with a 20 minute drive we were able to check out the beautiful Seaside community on the Emerald Coast. We had dinner at The Great Southern Cafe and tried the famous Grits Ya Ya!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri_SmHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed at South Bay Unit 43. We rented from Kim Lang see website. http://www.fwbdestincondos.com/ I could not have asked for an easier rentaL Rates were great . Cheaper than a hotel. The deposit return within the week of departure. The home clean. Bedrooms on the 1st. Living room and kitchen on the 2nd floor. This was different, but it was really nice to rest or eat on the deck upstairs and not have another deck over you head. The view was over the lake. The lake has some large bass. You can fish from your deck. (Catch and release). You have 2 pools to choose from or walk to the beach. Many extras beach towels, toy, games, DVDs, video games, cleaning supplies, paper towels, dish soap and too many more to list. The only compalint I have is trying to manuever traffic on Hwy 98.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BosleyKlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The management company people charged me $187 for an extra day without my authorization and with out so much as a notification. The also alleged we trashed the place. The problem is our group left at 10 am of the day in question, and we left the condo as we found it. The management company representative would not or could not resolve the issue, indicating the only solution was for me to pay. Well the charge is now blocked on my AMEX. This management company has a problem. We won't be back.

Watch out for late charges on your credit card. Apparently they though it would go unnoticed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have been coming to Destin for over 30 years and stayed @ Southbay many times. My main complaint is my dealings with the owner of this unit. It was listed on VRBO.com here's the link to the dump! http://www.vrbo.com/20248 The price was good and the space was what we were looking for. The place was ok nothing to scream about 70's decor. The sheets on the master bed were so pilled they were like sleeping on sand paper. The queen bed in the other bed room was missing a slat or something, so it sagged badly we had to put suit cases under the bed so my son and his wife could sleep on it . The towels were soured so we had to rewash them so we could use them. We took all this in stride, we should have complained but we didn't, I guess we're just to nice or suckers! We spent our last night there cleaning and packing. Dishes were done fridge cleaned out towels washed, didn't want to leave it a wreak for the cleaning crew.Upon returning we mailed the keys back to the owner as ask. We waited over a month for our deposit to be returned then my wife sent an email asking when we could expect to receive it. We received a response saying we left the unit filthy that the cleaning crew had to work extra cleaning and we wouldn't be receiving our deposit back. This was a crock of [--]! So take it from me don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tn2destin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I use Trip Advisor to help plan our vacations and was dismayed by the reviews I've seen here of South Bay--this has not been our experience at all. We've been going to the Destin area since our daughter was 6 years old and love it (nearly 20 years) We've stayed at 7 different locations (condo's, hotels etc.) but after looking year, after year, we have stopped looking and have chosen South Bay for the last 9 years.

Destin itself (or Blue Mountain, Ft. Walton etc.) is a wonderful area--it's beaches have been voted some of the most beautiful in North American many times. As it's in the Panhandle of Florida, it's cooler during the summer, but warm enough for us northerners once it reaches late March or April. We prefer smaller complexes and have stayed at Maravilla (twice), Summerspell (very small but fun), Tops'l, Gulf Place (in the more quiet, less-developed part) and South Bay. We've rented from South Bay itself the first few years, then through VRBO.Com directly from the owners.

We've stayed at different several units, and several owners (usually for multiple years) but sometimes the dates weren't available or the units sold, so we had to find new owners. We've been with the same owners the last 4 years and it's been wonderful.

Destin is like a barrier island, as it's between the Gulf and a large bay of water. The wonderful thing about South Bay is that you're on the beach side of the highway, but because it's smaller and older, they don't have the arrogance of the high-rises who over-charge. The units are two story, you get 2-3 bedrooms (generally), fully equipped units with full washer/dryers, dishwashers, and units that are probably abut 750-1100 square feet. There are two pools (one heated, one not), tennis courts and friendly people who come back year after year. We've met people who started coming with their parents, and now come back with their own children. We love being able to walk out of our condo and stroll the grounds or around the lake, or take a short walk to the beach. It's unique to find a large complex on the beach that's not a high-rise.

There's wonderful golfing nearby, a fabulous outlet mall, terrific food and lots of fun or relaxation. The comments about the teenagers unfortunately, can happen anywhere there is a spring break. It's a sad reflection of our society, but the problem is not what you see at Panama City (90 miles to the east), but it's never been a deterrent to us. We've been to other areas of the country for vacations, but we always have to come back each spring to South Bay and Destin

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — Access a little difficult from the main highway
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Frozen_Tundra_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I have been staying at Southbay for over 15 years. The condos are nice especially nearer to the beach. I enjoy the layout and accomodations. It is true that the new management has changed things, but the experience there is still remarkable considering the highrises that continue to be built.

  • Liked — All the basics are there, just bring yourself.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge,La
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We have stayed here for several years. This will be our last visit here. The new management is Rude, and dishonest. The security is almost non existent. The off duty police officer hired as security could do nothing about the loud partying and fighting at all hours of the night. He said the management would not allow him to do anything about the problems. Parking spots are taken by teenage kids visiting at night so you have nowhere to park. The new manager put a $200.00 charge on our credit card without our knowledge. He said we smoked in the room. No one smokes in my family. The condo was not clean at all. When we found out about the charges on the credit card we called to discuss this with the manager and he hung up on my wife. Spoke to many guest there during our stay. Did not find anyone that was very happy with the way the NEW management operates this rental property.
Donnie & Dianna Lemoine
Baton Rouge, La

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank dandd3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Towers
Shoreline Towers
#22 of 55 in Destin
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Dunes Condominium
Silver Dunes Condominium
#29 of 55 in Destin
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Destin on the Gulf
Destin on the Gulf
#27 of 55 in Destin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sterling Sands Condominiums
1.2 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
1.3 mi away
The Islander
The Islander
#13 of 55 in Destin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbay by the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay by the Gulf

Property: Southbay by the Gulf
Address: 940 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2828
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Unique! One of the last remaining secret gems of Destin. A 15 acre beach front vacation townhome property with a lake for fishing, 2 pools, tennis courts, BBQ grills and centrally located while still offering a seclusion for relaxing. 2 & 3 bdrm townhomes now available! New onsite management is Emerald Coast Vacation Rentals ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southbay By The Gulf Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing