We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, convenient location, but no walk to beach :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The accomodations are exquisite, the staff was very courteous and helpful. We enjoyed the spa services as well. The boardwalk is attached to the resort and has lots of shops and restaurants within easy walk. I only have two complaints with the resort: 1) There is no beach within walking distance. They advertise a "private island beach" but it's just a sand bar about 500 ft from the boardwalk and with boats going around the "island" all day, it was anything but private. 2) The pool is small and only goes to 4ft deep, which is great if you have little kids, but a bit of a dissapointment if you are an adult who would like to actually swim.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMusic360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRoberts40, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you were mislead about our beach, it's not private, but the best way to get to it is by boat, and our guests have that service. I'm sad to hear that you weren't able to get some laps in our pool ( I too enjoy a good swim). It's great to hear that you were pleased with everything else and I hope we have the honor of being your host again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 991 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was just lovely. It was very spacious, spotlessly clean and came equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen. Every employee we encountered during our weeklong vacation always smiled and everyone here was so helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was fresh, delicous and very reasonably priced. When we go back to Destin again we would not think of staying anywhere but here, it is perfect for couples or families

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRoberts40, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you loved the views. With our unique location you will not get a view like this from anywhere else. Thank you for the compliments on the service, we try to set the standard for "southern hospitality" and I am glad you noticed. We love to hear that you will be back and can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the Harbour Walk Village with friends last month (May '10) and while the place is pretty, the lack of a direct access beach is a huge problem with this place. The information on the internet makes it look like it's no problem taking the water taxi over to the small beach available to guests, but it turned out that it was a major hassle.
The spa was nice but not nearly as luxurious as at the Portofino resort, in Pensacola Beach. And Portofino had betters pools, less traffic, and beach access on both sides of the resort.
If you are looking for a relaxing vacation spot with a nice beach, there are better choices,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had stayed at the resort before HarborWalk was finished, and loved it then, so decided to go back when we headed to Destin for a family wedding.

Originally, they had us in the wrong room category, but they were quick to correct it when I called it to their attention. Room was not where I had wanted, but was still a good view of Destin and the harbor.

Breakfast food was good, sandwiches at the pool were good . . . and the drinks were outstanding! I have to entertain a lot for business, and I can honestly say that the bartender made the best Bloody Mary's and Mojito's that I have ever had anywhere!

The only bad thing about the resort is that they have a lousy beach that you have to talk a ferry to. Fortunately, they have a great pool! Other than that, you really can't find a better place to stay in Destin.

We will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddr3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This is a first class, four star place to stay. Everything is there....fun, food, and shopping. You never have to leave the grounds. The price is great too!!! We can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramiparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Emerald Grande for 3 nights to celebrate a friends wedding, also at the resort. The resort was both comfortable and convenient in its location to local restaurant, shops etc. In all our dealings with the resorts staff, they were polite and welcoming. We liked the fact that the accomodations are of condo style, so we could supply ourselves with breakfast foods, etc. which saved a few bucks. We enjoyed the pool area and the resort beach area, that they transport you to via a 3-4 min. water taxi ride. The fitness center and spa were both also very nice and had all the equipment and sevices that you could need. We would like to travel to this area again and we would choose the Emerald Grande as our choice of stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The accomodations were beautiful, the staff courteous, and the view spectacular!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank Violetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
4.8 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $359 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing