We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Grande during spring break (March). This was our first time to stay here. The property is very nice and very convenient to the merchants at the Harbor walk. The pool area at the property is super nice! I love that they provide towels for guest use! The indoor pool is decent at best--it could be better if the property would make improvements. First of all the water was too hot--especially for small children. Second, the enclosed room had no ventilation and the noise level was extreme! There needs to be a window that opens or someway to allow the noise to escape. Next, there is a sign that says no person under the age of 12 should be admitted without adult supervision---this did not happen. I was in the pool with my 3 yr old son and my mother in a chair watching us and there were 6-8 other kids in the pool (NO adults) and they were jumping in, throwing football, throwing frisbee, yelling, and making all kind of commotion. They almost hit us several times and they hit the thermostat box on the wall and completely knocked it off. I couldn't even enjoy the pool with my son for them and had to leave.
I was excited to have maid service while at the beach--I have never had this. We have always had washer-dryer and washed our own towels, replaced the toilet tissue, etc....but the maid service was hohum. They did not arrive to the room till after 5pm and they swapped the towels, emptied the trash, making the bed was hit or miss, and the room was never vacuumed. The ferry boat beach shuttle was nice to have but don't expect to go if there is a strong wind. We went down one morning--with all our bags, cooler, and wagon packed with toys and was told the boat couldn't go because of wind. I guess overall our experience was good and if I ever go back I know more now what to expect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadTripTrioGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 988 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff at Emerald straightened out a mistake made by my timeshare, vacation was off to a good start. And start is the word, it was the best weekend we have every had. The staff and the facility is excellent

Room Tip: Rooms on West side had a great view, we watched the parade from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLORIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

GLORIA H,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Ok this is our first day here and I have to say I am not that impressed, is this a Wyndham property? The property looks very tired. I see broken things everywhere. And getting in here was a nightmare in the parking garage. It also seems we were put in one of the worst locations in the resort. We have a slight view of the pool from the main balcony and no view from the master. Most of our view is the building across the way which is very close. I really do not like the set up of the buildings at all. We are going to go to Harbor Walk tomm. but it looks to be the typical tourist trap trying to get people to spend their money. We have stayed in better properties that is for sure.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

suwanneedrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize about your view. We do have a partnership with Wyndham here at Emerald Grande, therefore, we're unique in more ways than one as Wyndham assigns room numbers by views booked. Also, all bookings tend to be handled off property and directly through Wyndham. However, if there is anything I can further assist or explain I encourage you to contact me directly at (850) 424-0631 or vwyatt@emeraldgrande.com. I look forward to talking with you.

Best Regards,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A fantastic family vacation spot. A pleasure for all ages, Great restaurants, shopping , VIEWS, and amenities in famous Destin,Fl. A venue all to itself, you never even need to venture into crowded , touristy, main street Destin. LOVE this place !!!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Grande from December 14, 2013 through March 22, 2014 in various suites, and while we enjoyed the nicely appointed suites tremendously, IF you are looking for a quiet place, this is not it. If you are planning on staying up late and having fun while you are in Destin, this is the spot you want to stay. From our mid-December arrival through the end of February, things were relatively quiet and very comfortable, but once college kids started arriving at the beginning of March, it was noisy well into the wee-hours of the morning.

The HarborWalk comes alive in March, with jet ski and pontoon boat rentals, as well as being able to take boat rides from the HarborWalk Marina. Live music starts in March, as the weather supports outdoor venues. You can even rent kayaks here!

The Suites are very beautiful, with large baths, beautiful full kitchens and great views from the balconies overlooking either the pool area, or looking out over the Gulf of Mexico and Destin Harbor. Beds were very comfortable, but are inconsistent, as many of the suites are owned by private parties and furnish them however they wish ... the corporate owned units we stayed in were the best, with the most comfortable beds.

The internet service was pretty bad, with regular disruptions/disconnections. After several days of particularly bad internet access, and with a Board Package that I needed to get out for an upcoming Board Conference Call, Emerald Grande sent a Tech to the room to install a private router that I could use to help boost the signal in my room, which really helped. We had cell phones with both AT&T and Verizon and routinely lost calls, and only had one bar of service.

Room service was a nice touch at this predominantly condo/suite hotel, as many others don't have that, however my wife got food poisoning from a club sandwich around Christmas so we never ordered room service again. There are plenty of restaurants right by the Emerald Grande, several within walking distance, so you don't have to cook your own food (although that is very easy to do in the well equipped kitchens). The HarborWalk has several restaurants and bars, and there are restaurants across the street as well.

If you want a relatively "quiet" room, ask for one that faces the pool area, BUT up on a high floor ... the room we had on the 3rd floor was very loud from the continuous music played from 10 am - 10 pm whether anyone is outside or not ... but the noise was even worse on the 5th floor of the West Bldg facing west, where we heard road noise all night and drunken college students until the middle of the night ... definitely a concern if you have children that need to sleep. Overall the best room was on the 12th floor facing the pool area, where we were above the noise of the kids playing in the pool and generally didn't hear the music blaring like you do on the lower floors.

I found the front desk staff and reservations staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful. Maid service was less so ... we paid for a monthly maid service as part of our monthly rental, but only received it once during the 3+ months we were there. Bellmen were great, security was helpful (you get mail through security).

We plan to return to Emerald Grande, so please don't take the criticism as overwhelming, I am just letting readers know of what we experienced during our 3 month stay, and where best to stay if you have children that need to sleep when the crowd starts to get noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter ... higher floors have less noise from 10 am - 10 pm music playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a great treat to discover the Emerald Grande and all it's amenities. The huge resort is perched on the mouth of East Pass and the Destin Harbor and has become a landmark to locals and tourists alike. The 2, 3 and 4 bedroom condos are exquisitely appointed with stainless steel kitchens, spa- style bathrooms, comfortable furnishings and an expansive view of the bay, fishing fleet and the Gulf of Mexico beyond. Room service and a first- class concierge desk highlight the attention to detail and great value offered to guests. The Harborwalk Village on the waterfront level offers diversified eateries to please every palate, kids activities such as airbrush tattoos and a zip line, live music and wonderful shops that discount goods to guests of the EG. A free beach shuttle, cocktail service and chairs and umbrellas are waiting at the pristine beach adjacent to the property. A world class spa, gym and cafe style restaurant are worth checking out during your stay. Safe, underground parking will allow peace of mind and keep your car away from the hot sun as you may never leave once you park... there are enough activities to fill the week with fun for the whole family. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanGDestin_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Probably the nicest place I've ever stayed at. Rooms are large but cozy, the location on the boardwalk can't be beat and the amenities seem endless. So much to do right outside the hotel!
The staff is so professional and friendly. The pool area is incredible with an awesome view of the harbor and a great place for the kids to play. I want to come back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank GRWLR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Waylon M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's great to hear the positive feedback you had on your room as well as our staff. We look forward to serving you on your next vacation with us!

Best,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#33 of 38 in Destin
453 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
11.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $301 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing