We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time! Condo 506b”
Review of Mediterranea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mediterranea
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 506b. Since it was not yet peak season I felt we got a great deal. The condo was large and beautifully decorated. TV in both bedrooms and family room although they weren't flatscreens. The view from the family room was absolutely amazing!!! However...there was a problem with the double pane glass in the sliding door. Moisture had formed between the panes and the view was blocked unless you opened the sliding glass. We just kept it open most of the time while we were in the condo. They need to fix that! I did report it. I sat on the balcony every morning and enjoyed looking at the beach and drank coffee. Even saw some dolphins. Very conveniently located across the beach- no buildings blocking the view- just a quick walk across the street. We usually stay in a hotel in Destin and this was the first time we stayed in a condo. Some helpful tips: bring extra kitchen garbage bags ( they only give you two and if you're there for several days you'll need more), toilet paper (there's only one roll per bathroom), dishwashing detergent, and handsoap- they don't give you enough of those. Theres a coffee maker but no filters. I'm sure its the same in most other condos we just didn't know. We had a wonderful time and will definately stay there again!
And the view was probably the best!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at the Mediterranea during Spring break and we were very pleased with our Choice. I definitely would recommend staying here, it is convenient to everything and the pool area is fabulous.

Room Tip: Use Vrbo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cincygirl3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

My husband and I got married on the beach of the Mediterranea almost 4 years ago and are about to make our 3rd trip back this summer. The condo units are very nice and clean. The location is PERFECT! We ate at Pompano Joe's everyday for lunch and even one night for dinner! It is amazing food! All of the other restaurants along scenic 98 are delicious too and just a walk/bike ride away which we loved! The beach was beautiful the last time we went in August but I have been before when there has been some seaweed. This is just something you have to deal with when going to the beach. You never know what the current will bring in. The pool is HUGE...definitely one of the biggest at a condo in Destin. We spent quite a bit of time there as well as the beach. This was one of the best vacations we have been on and obviously we are going to be staying there again. We have actually decided we won't be staying anywhere besides the mediterranea in Destin! WE LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We were in Destin two years ago and had seen a beautiful unit at the Mediterranea condominum. ResortQuest led us to believe that all the units were platinum level---the highest rating they ascribe based on decoration, upkeep, view, etc. We opted to go with the penthouse unit which is on the uppermost floor.

Needless to say, we were shocked with the conditions of the carpets in both the master and guest bedrooms. Heavily stained and spotted throughout. The guest room was supposed to have a queen bed, but rather was just a double. The master had the worst mattress and cover imaginable. You will find better beds at Sheratons, Hampton Inns. There was only one nightstand with a faint light on one side of the master bed. It was truly hard to believe since this unit was renting for $2,000. for six nts.

Also disappointing was the gated type community which has been installed within the last two years. You have to access a gate for your car and also go through two gates which seldom work correctly to gain access to the beach. To add insult to injury, there is a turf war going on between ResortQuest and Newman Daily rentals with regard to where you can sit on the beach---it's insulting!

My biggest problem is with ResortQuest. When informed of the above mentioned problems, there response was that they could have had the carpets cleaned while we were staying there! They are supposed to be evaluating each of their units on a seasonal basis and thus establishing their ratings of S,G,B,P on this basis. We have heard similar complaints from other guests of units not living up to their standards. I have heard that renting directly from an owner is probably wisest, especially when you're paying top dollar in peak season.

I love Destin but I'll probably look for a brand new condo/building when renting in the future. So many condo units are currently on the market (like ours was at Mediterranea) that owners don't care about making minor improvements. The Miramar Beach area is probably my favorite in all of Destin.

16  Thank Proseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.8 mi away
Ariel Dunes at Seascape Resort
5.2 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 38 in Destin
186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranea

Address: Scenic Hwy 98, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly ResortQuest Mediteranea)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranea Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing