We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribbean West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Caribbean West
Ranked #47 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay we we're there 4days 3nights and the view was awesome we really enjoyed it! We are planning to return this summer with the kids. We loved it we plan to make this a family outting twice a year

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrshayes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at a friend’s timeshare the first 3 days in Destin. Very nice. The next 3 days we had to find a place. We found Grand Caribbean very close to the 1st place and from the reviews on the place we decided to choose it. PEOPLE!! How on earth can you actually like this place. I have been in a more sound proof tent. We arrived early since our other place was only a couple blocks away. They said our room wasn’t ready yet because they were cleaning it. I think the maid cleaned while blind folded. Hair all over the room. In the kitchen, on the dining room table, on the floor, all over the bathroom. GROSS!. There was a layer of dirt all over the place. We were even charged $80.00 to have the room cleaned. Everyone has to pay this. They did a .25 cent job on our room.The refrigerator sounded like a diesel truck. Oh, and the rack inside the fridge was duct taped together. REALLY ???? The ice maker created one huge block of ice instead of cubes. The table and chairs must have been dug out of a trash dumpster. They were falling apart. There was no additional deadbolt on the door and you could see where the door had been kicked in before. The frame is busted. I wasn’t concerned although due to my CHL and hardware accordingly. I especially liked the extension cord and power strip strung across the wall to the TV. Nice touch. The photos on the home page are of a room other than what we stayed in. They would never put our room online. I guess they thought the beaches would compensate for the poor room. Not sure how it got 3 star rating either. Dont expect coffee or even shampoo. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: If you read a good review it must be from someone that knows the owner or just doesnt have very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It was really spacious and we stayed for the weekend. From our second floor unit you could see the ocean. And it was a quick walk across the street to the beach. Also it was really close to restaurants, the water park, and night life! Overall a great steal!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuchAhDollFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we stayed in unit #105, a lovely and comfortable condo with immediate access to pool and hot tub and just a few steps to the gorgeous, private beach. it was clean and newly remodeled with a washer/dryer and dishwasher, which is a great touch. we loved the fact that the condo is located on scenic highway 98, away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of destin, but is still very close to all amenities.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 105 which is great because it has a slightly larger back porch and has immediate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domenique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in Room 304 for a weekend trip & we didnt book this condo until about 2 weeks before at 1st I was a lil disappointed that we couldnt find a beachfront property in our price range but this condo is less than a min walk from the beach, it was clean & the owner was great to work with he was almost to good to be true lol!!! When we go back to Destin I would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erykahte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We recently stayed on a third floor unit. The complex is easily accessible to the beach (short walk, just a few minutes) and located near lots of restaurants and shopping. The unit was spacious and my children loved the bunk beds. My particular unit didn't offer free wi-fi and it was offered for an additional $35. We felt that this was too much. There is a pool but we didn't use it. There is a shower located near the pool for you to show off all your beach belongings. The only downside is the lack of an elevator to haul all your luggage up. There is plenty of parking. Also, there were lots of family and was quiet. For the price, it was a great value.

Room Tip: If you want a gulf view rent a third floor unit. If not, try and rent a first floor unit due to lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRsNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We just returned from a week stay at the Grand Caribbean West Condominiums in Destin, Florida at Crystal Beach. We stayed in condo #313, which was an excellent, updated unit that had all the comforts of home for our vacation. We had a great view of the ocean from the balcony and could also see the pool/spa and BBQ/picnic area which was nice with kids! I would recommend staying on the third or top floor as we did as it has the best view of the ocean. The condo is in the muli-miilion dollar property area of Destin so is very exclusive, yet is also close to all the great shopping and restaurants. The staff on site are really friendly and laid back and ready to help in any way they can.

The best part of the vacation was Crystal Beach - the condo was just a few steps away from the white sands and crystal clear blue water, and the condos have their own private, deeded access. Our kids found some unbeliveably pretty shells there and had a blast!

We would highly recommend the condo to anyone looking for a really nice place to stay, great view, steps from the beach and at a great price too!

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Would have liked an onsite fitness room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachgirlTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.0 mi away
Grand Caribbean East
Grand Caribbean East
#49 of 59 in Destin
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by the Gulf
Capri by the Gulf
#51 of 59 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gulf Winds East
Gulf Winds East
#39 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crystal Sands Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Leeward Key Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Crystal Dunes Resort
Crystal Dunes Resort
#43 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribbean West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribbean West

Property: Grand Caribbean West
Address: 3191 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-3602
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Caribbean West 3*
Also Known As:
Grand Caribbean West Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing