We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great even with rain!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Star Dolphin Cruise

Southern Star Dolphin Cruise
Ranked #10 of 143 Tours in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expect a Miracle aboard Southern Star! Enjoy a relaxing 2 hour tour aboard Destin’s Original Dolphin Cruise, as seen on National Geographic Explorer and CNN Earthwatch. Join us as we cruise the pristine waters, along the sugar-white sand beaches of the Emerald Coast. Witness the Coastal Bottlenose Dolphin in their natural habitat. Family owned and operated by Captain Steve and Wendy Wilson for 15 years, our 80’ Glass Bottom Boat is all about family fun! With over 7,000 dolphin sightings, you are sure to see something extraordinary.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great even with rain!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my friend took the trip with no great hopes in mind but we were optimistic. The captain was very informative about the area and he made sure we saw as many dolphins as possible.
It started off slow but once we found the dolphins, they kept coming, dancing around the boat and putting on a show. The captain even said he has never seen that many dolphins on any trip out. Jessica and Kandis had a great time!! We hope you do too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jfaironair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. Thanks for taking the time to post your experience with us here. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. Come back and have some more fun with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    68
    22
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
“GREAT FAMILY FUN !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took our family on the Southern Star Dolphin Cruise on 09/20/2013. We started out in the bay and the captain told us many interesting facts about Destin. He then took us out in the gulf and paralleled the coast going west. We saw several dolphins, sharks and many other fish.

It was a fantastic cruise and a Must Do if you are in Destin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. Hope to see you and your family aboard again soon. We can't wait to have you cruise again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd time on this cruise and I still don't have the first complaint. Each time has been an awesome experience.This time, the captain was young and I thought he would probably not be as good as the others and not as knowledgeable. I was wrong!!! Captain Chandler did an outstanding job speaking and all the other things he was doing. We saw dolphins from the bay to the gulf time and time again. Sometimes far away and sometimes right in front of us. I remember that it was 7:56 p.m. and we had 4 minutes to get back to the dock when the captain once again saw dolphins. He stopped and let everyone have a chance to see them one more time which went over the cruise time. He didn't have to do that but chose to and that meant a lot to me and my family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. Thanks for taking the time to post your experience with us here. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. We look forward to having you cruise with us again. Come back and have some more fun with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time with our granddaughter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took our granddaughter for a few days at the beach, and as we had taken our grandsons the previous summer we thought she would also enjoy it. We were not disappointed! We saw many dolphins and she was enthralled! We are grateful also for the Christian witness of th e crew!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. Glad to hear that you and your grandchildren had a great time on the cruise. Hope to see you aboard again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definitely saw the dolphins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Destin, FL. We weren't sure what to do as we're content just hanging by the beach. We came across this attraction on the internet; we liked how the owners started their business and managed to keep it through all the tribulations! Our girls loved the tour! The excitement in their faces when they were able to simply look over the side of the boat and see so many dolphins....priceless! The sunset pictures came out amazing! I'd definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. Glad to hear that your family had a great time on the cruise. We can't wait to have you cruise again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Star Dolphin Cruise also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Southern Star Dolphin Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing