We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise is not wor itth”

Southern Star Dolphin Cruise
Ranked #8 of 147 Tours in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expect a Miracle aboard Southern Star! Enjoy a relaxing 2 hour tour aboard Destin’s Original Dolphin Cruise, as seen on National Geographic Explorer and CNN Earthwatch. Join us as we cruise the pristine waters, along the sugar-white sand beaches of the Emerald Coast. Witness the Coastal Bottlenose Dolphin in their natural habitat. Family owned and operated by Captain Steve and Wendy Wilson for 15 years, our 80’ Glass Bottom Boat is all about family fun! With over 7,000 dolphin sightings, you are sure to see something extraordinary.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cruise is not wor itth”
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Rode on boat on 5.20.08. The boat and staff was fine. The kids did get to steer and we were able to take pictures for free. We saw a glimpse of a dolphin. The cruise started off with the captain talking about the different restaurants and retail shops in the harbor. We could not care any less about these places. Despite the boat location being at the end of the harbor we rode deeper into the harbor. Not sure why other than the captain talking about the other locations on the harbor. My thought was.....are they getting kickbacks or something. Even though this was a two hour cruise we did not get more than 25 minutes from the harbor.

I would not recommend this cruise. In there defense, the other dolphin cruises did the same things. One thing is at least the captain (whom I assume owns the boat) were Christians.

Helpful?
2 Thank agie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    68
    22
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "must-do" on your beach vacation”
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Our family has gone on this cruise several times over the years on our annual beach vacations. Captain and crew take a lot of time and care with passengers, especially with the little ones. Kids get to take turns captaining the ship (photo op!). They also take your photo on the ship and have it ready for you before you dock if you wish to buy it. Saw many dolphins and the captain even knows a lot about the dolphin families and new dolphin babies. The captain is a very experienced and responsible sailor who even kept us from getting hit by one of those small party boats whose captain was preoccupied with the dolphins and not other watercraft. Be sure to arrive early to board! The good seats go fast, but there are still plenty of places to get a good view! And the music they play is a very nice touch! We always go to end the week on a really nice note. But weekend cruises fill up fast so call several days in advance.

Helpful?
1 Thank AUmomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I rated this neutral/average for the following reason and we never went out on the cruise. We were scheduled to go out on a cruise and had secured our spot with a credit card and had been told if we needed to cancel we must do it 3 or more hours in advance of the cruise or we would be charged. Unfortunately, the weather turned bad that day and we would eventually find out the cruise was cancelled. The weather had cleared about 3 hrs before the trip and we tried multiple times to call to find out if it was cancelled or if we could get a raincheck for another day. The management never answered phone and had no message on their answering service stating if the trip was canceled. We ended up making the drive to Destin only to find out they had left early that day and had canceled. It took a representative of another charter service to tell us and she noted that about 30 people had come by. We were looking forward to this cruise and I'm sure would have had a good time and have been pleased with the service...I just wish they had a better way of notifying their customers they had canceled. After a follow-up call the next buisiness day there was no apology offered and in so many words were told we should have known better that they would have cancelled...us and about 30 other people I guess! Good luck, I hope your trip works out.

Helpful?
3 Thank SurfsupFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernStarCruise, Owner at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are very sorry that we were out of the office. There was a mis-communication with our staff and we apologize that no one stayed until the scheduled cruise time to ensure that guests were informed of the cancellation. We have since changed our policies and procedures and we are very careful to ensure that guests are informed of cancellations and changes as they occur. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So many dolphins!”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My husband and I took this dolphin cruise in October 2007. I boarded with skepticism about seeing many, if any, dolphins. Boy was I wrong! The whole two hours was filled with dolphins and funny, informative commentary from the captain. The dolphins would swim alongside the boat. I would say this would be a great idea for anyone, especially those with children. I would advise boarding as early as possible to insure yourself a seat.

Helpful?
Thank Meggilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfchevy11
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We just left Destin and one of the last things our family did was an afternoon cruise on the Southern Star. The boat was great - clean, & fun. The captain was funny, informative, and just an all around great host! The cruise was right at 2 hours long, and we had an amazing time seeing dolphins in the bay. A truly unforgettable experience! We will be going back to Destin next year and will most definitely invest in another trip on the Southern Star.

Helpful?
1 Thank rfchevy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Star Dolphin Cruise also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Southern Star Dolphin Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing