We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Mother of All Domestic Vacations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Save
You added Destin Gulfgate to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Mother of All Domestic Vacations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Staying at Destin Gulfgate is now a family tradition. From the ability to choose and preview your condo online to having the only non-smoking section of the beach, Gulfgate reigns supreme. Destin alone is a beautiful place, and Gulfgate makes it better!

Room Tip: Choose a décor that fits your personality, and you will feel right at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaShunda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    14
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
113
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We rented this condominium #605 based on previous reviews on tripadvisor.com and were not disappointed. We took 5 family members to the condo for 3 days and absolutely enjoyed ourselves. Two of those family members are very picky about cleanliness of the places they stay, but they felt really comfortable there. Each condo comes fully stocked with all necessities--dishes, bathroom paper, towels, etc. The view of each room is amazing--at many points we thought we were on a cruise ship, because all we could see was the beach and water. Check in was nice and easy and so was check out. The beach was great too, especially at night searching for crabs. All 5 family members are ready and willing to go back. Awesome restaurants are a walking distance away. Be aware that this is a condo, so a certain amount of personal responsibility is placed upon you before you leave like dishes, trash, etc. Keep in mind there are no housekeepers or spa at Gulfgate either. All around an amazing trip!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Currently enjoying our second stay here. Came in 2011 and couldn't wait to return this year. If you are shopping for the perfect place to stay in Destin then quit looking and book a condo here. Easy access to anything you would need. All employees so kind and helpful. The pool area has been expanded and they now have a great fitness room overlooking the gulf. Love this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lumpsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We rented this condo (which was an end unit) for a week this September and were pleasantly surprised! The unit was VERY nicely appointed, and the view of the beach from the balcony was amazing. The staff was super friendly, and attended to our every need during their business hours. Every rental receives two beach chairs and an umbrella that is setup and taken down each day by property staff. It is right on the beach, and close to restaurants, grocery stores, and Blaylock's fresh fish market. They have a brand new pool and health club that we did not use, but it sure looked nice. They even had 3 charcoal grills available to grill your own food.

Our only complaints were that the housekeeping staff did not remove dirty undergarments (including Depends) that had been left in the bedroom drawers by the previous renters, and a large "dust bunny" was noticed near the balcony. In addition, the new looking dishwasher had a bad smell which their maintenance staff tried to fix, but were unsuccessful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and fully believe that the unit was a good value. Even with the couple of hiccups mentioned above, we can't wait to return again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan-and-Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed September 2013 in this condo(this was the first time it was ever rented so there are not any more reviews about it on the site!
It was beautiful with furnishings that were great.Close to restaurants including (The Back Porch)and others.There are 2 bedrooms(each with its own bathroom...huge condo.4 TVs.,Bose surround sound speakers,DVD,wet bar(you will never run out of ice...it makes a lot of ice).,full size washer &dryer...and so much more.All the units at Gulfgate are oceanfront.Very helpful people at check in desk...friendly and professional.
The view from this condo are great with a huge balcony.

Room Tip: This condo in my opinion is one of the best.The reason I did not check the box for room service is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbeckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could ask for a GREAT vacation with the Family. We spent seven days in 305. The condo was EXTREMELY clean and tidy. With all comforts of home. The kitchen was very well equipped, with everything a chef would need. The bedrooms and beds were very comfortable. And the view from the balcony was great. (Watched the dolphins every morning while having coffee). The pool was perfect for the kids (8 & 4 yrs old). The Concierge "Chirstin S." made the stay even better. She was fantastic, giving information about the Resort and Destin that only a insider would know. Our First of many stays at Destin Gulfgate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just spent a week at the Destin Gulfgate and had a fabulous time, once again. This was approximately our 16th or 17th visit to these condos. Every year we stay in a different unit, but this time we were in one we had previously stayed in, unit 1003. It appeared to have acquired new furniture and kitchen upgrades recently. These condos are fully stocked with kitchen items and linens. We prefer a unit with a bar area and ice machine, which this one has, but it was missing a sink in the bar area, which is a really nice addition. The units are clean, beautiful and spacious. The view and close proximity to the ocean can't be beat! Most of our meals were enjoyed on the deck looking at the gorgeous view of the water, instead of waiting in lines at local restaurants. Our weather was wonderful with calm seas, which is nice for snorkeling and swimming. The last day was good for boogie boarding, with bigger waves. We had very little rain during the week. The beaches are pristine and the beach attendant this year was fantastic - very attentive. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The pool upgrade and enlargement, and the new fitness center overlooking the pool are wonderful. We plan to come back and just won't stay anywhere else when we come to Destin every summer! Why search for someplace else when we love the place we have always stayed? We highly recommend the Gulfgate for families, couples or groups of friends.

Room Tip: We have never stayed in an end unit and have never been bothered by people around us. We like a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborahrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
0.2 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#10 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Property: Destin Gulfgate
Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-8528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin Gulfgate 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing