We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Scaled" back”
Review of Dewey Destin's

Dewey Destin's
Ranked #17 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Scaled" back”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a large group and were assigned 2 waiters, but never saw the same waiters once. We ordered crab legs, and almost an hour later, they come to tell us they are out of crab legs as they are bringing everyone else's food, so when everyone else is done, we were just getting our food. The price was way too expensive, the food so-so, we were there for two and a half hours, and all we got was a sorry, as we saw people coming in after us being served crab legs, we were just done. It's Florida, we will go somewhere else for sea food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenuwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    563
    274
    111
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just ok. Not what we expected”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel ladies all told us to make sure we eat at Dewey Destin's, it is there favorite. We were not impressed. We sat there waiting for a waiter or waitress. We were ignored. Several couples came in after us and were waited on and got their food before us. We said to each other we are giving them 5 more minutes and we are going to McGuires, 3 minutes later a waiter came and said I saw you guys sitting here and no one came to talk to you, I will wait on you. The food was just ok. The hushpuppies were really good, the fried shrimp was good. The fries were frozen crinkle cuts. My husband had the broiled seafood platter, was not that good. He was to get new potatoes and corn and he got fries also. They did bring his correct sides later. The food was not hot. It took forever to get the waiter to come back to refill water, give us the check and pay etc. Will not return the next time we go to Destin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbieB251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic place to eat”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We found out that this restaurant is named after a founding father of Destin. The atmosphere was quaint with both inside and outside seating. The seafood is very fresh but if you don't like seafood there is a large menu from which to choose. The shrimp appetizer is to die for so leave room for that. Also the key lime pie is very good. Go hungry. You can view the ocean from your seat which is always a welcome addition.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kovendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Best Crab cakes and hush puppies ever!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great food and service with a great view. I love crab cakes and these had lots of crab meat and were cooked perfectly. Also, best hush puppies you will ever eat. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in search of a great seafood experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I come to Destin every year at this time. This year we decided to try some different restaurants. A lady at the pool told me about Dewey Destin's so we decided to try. When we first walked up my husband and I just looked at each other. You walk up to this shack and place your order at the window. I thought it was a little pricey considering the inside chairs are plastic and outside seating is wooden benches. It is right on the water and we got there right about sunset. Was a beautiful view and very quiet. The food was pretty good but as I said, pricey. You must fix your own drink with ice from a plastic cooler and you must clean up after yourself. They bring your food out to you but that is the extent of the service. Just be prepared when you go to this location on Calhoun Street for very very casual dining.

Helpful?
Thank Mrstoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin's also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing