We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dewey Destin's

Dewey Destin's
Ranked #19 of 300 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We passed by this place and, because of the number of cars in the parking lot, decided to try It out. What a find! The food was very good. I ordered the large shrimp boil, with medium spice, thinking there would be a few shrimp - wrong! There were at least 20 large shrimp in addition to the boiled new red potatoes and corn. Delicious. My husband had the grilled shrimp and fish - it was done to perfection and very good. Our one friend had the Mediterranean grouper which was very tasty, with 2 large pieces of fish and a very nice sauce of tomato, olives and feta cheese. Our other friend had the scallop boiled and could not stop talking about how good it was. The service was very prompt, the location on the water. Our friends who had spent almost 2 weeks on the panhandle said it was the best meal they had there. We would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,137
    533
    266
    108
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frozen in the middle”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The service was terrible. The place was packed and not a server to be found once seated on the deck. Had to send the french fries back three times and they still were frozen in the center. Others at the table had problems with the fried fish and fried shrimp.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarpondawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stand By ... Update review coming!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've been to Destin, FL several times and this place is the best the locals have to offer and that is NOT an insult!
-
It's out of the way for a reason. Not commercialized, great location to go to with kids and decent view of the bay as well.

Fresh fish ~ Need I say more ?!? OK, well, not one to be quiet: Everything on their menu is good and I'll be visiting DEWY'S DESTIN again in the next 24 hours as soon as my plane can leave Dayton at 6:45 am Thursday!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must while in Destin”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Neat atmosphere. Daily fresh fish. Trigger fish fried, cajun style or lemon parmesan, all delicious. Nice selection of good wines, little pricey. Get there early. If you have to wait, get a drink and sit out on the oak tree covered brick patio. Ask for Rob for your waiter. Will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank southernaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THIS is local”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Local spot. Real food, not the tourist BS everywhere else. You want fake, go to the Dewey destin harborside, what a joke. THIS is the real McCoy. The seating is on the pier, water under you, Crab island in front! What a place. Small little shack, big A+ grade. Lunch spot, bring friends, a fun date

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBeck6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin's also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing