We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrating! I am let down.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Frustrating! I am let down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Courtyard, and was unimpressed by the front desk, to say the least. The experience began with my calls to the front desk going repeatedly unanswered. I understand hotels getting busy, but I highly doubt the front desk was so busy that no one could pick up the phone for a 2 hour period. Upon arrival the desk was vacant. Waiting in an empty lobby for 5 minutes for someone to show up and check me in was disappointing, not to mention the very young girl at the desk who finally came out of the back room chewing and giggling. When I asked Sam (as per her Courtyard nametag) where everyone who works there was, she seemed to shrug and disregard my question. Aside from the negative first impression, all other aspects of my stay were ok. The renovations were appreciated. I just with that I could relate to all of the reviews that I have read about how great the service is.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your stay. I can understand your disappointment after reading such exceptional consecutive reviews of our "great service" as you stated, and then having an experience as you did. We strive each day to give an exceptional customer service experience to each guest, and I profusely apologize that we fell short of that with you Sir. Please be assured that your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate department head. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to win your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    162
    39
    10
    11
See reviews for
190
198
34
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I very much enjoyed my 3 night stay at the Courtyard Sandestin! The woman at the front desk, Sam, was so friendly and accommodating that within days I already felt like I had a friend in Destin Florida. I greatly appreciate the nice clean room, comfortable bed, and the attention put on hiring amazing and friendly people like Sam. 6 out of 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for Sam :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

During a multi-state road trip with a dear friend, this was our last hotel stay. We were exceptionally pleased with the front desk staff person, Sam, who was professional, thorough, and so very friendly! Bistro service was prompt and friendly also. The newly renovated room had the "new" smell (but not offensive at all). Location was perfect, with the wharf waterfront shops/restaurants nearby and the beautiful gulf within minutes. Importantly, we felt very safe in this area, also; and we would definitely return...during another girls' trip!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
hello ladies! thank you for your feedback, we very much appreciate it. Sounds like you had some multi-state road trip and am glad you made a stop at the Courtyard Sandestin. Sam is one of our star employees and we are glad she's here with us. We'll make sure to pass on your comments to her. In the meantime, we hope you are well rested and had safe travels home. Please visit us soon at the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Courtyard Sandestin on our way to Clearwater Beach, FL., on 11/25/13. The hotel is nice, clean, updated, and very typical of a Courtyard. Nothing extravagant, but what really stood out was the service and location. Every employee stopped what they were doing when we walked by, just to say hello. The hotel is just down the street from some great shops and restaurants including Fleming's, Tommy Bahamas, and PF Changs. Although the hotel is across Emerald Coast Pkwy from the beach, it is literally within minutes driving distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the center or north side to avoid being subject to noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Greetings from Courtyard Sandestin:
We appreciate you taking a few moments to comment. It was wonderful to hear that every hotel associate you came across stopped to say hello. We strive to acknowledge every guest and make them feel at home. We also understand you have plenty of choices and we are very happy you chose US. We hope you had safe return to Clearwater and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The photos of this hotel were not particularly appealing me online. I finally made my reservation based on suggestion from a business associate. I was glad I did. When I arrived, I was given a room that had just be renovated. I was the first person to stay in it!. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice selection of pillows. Very nicely appointed and quite comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and spoke to me at each opportunity. It obviously caters to business people because there was a rather large computer center, very well equipped.

Breakfast was ok, but not great.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: no room service here, but restaurants within easy walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you ma'am for taking the time to post your comments, we very much appreciate it. Mostly, though thank you for trusting your referral to stay with us.
Exciting news! our new photos of our newy renovated rooms and lobby will be posted in January 2014 so everyone will be able to see the fully renovated hotel. Glad you got to experience the newly renovated guest rooms... they are beautiful and oh so comfortable. Thank you for your comments on our friendly associates, they are true super stars. And yes, we do appreciate our corporate travelers and strive to make it as comfortable for them as well.
thank you again for choosing us and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

As a frequent patron of the Marriott Courtyard at Sandestin, I was invited to tour the recent guest room renovations and the hotel looks great! The decor in the guest rooms is soothing, and the beds are very plush. The Bistro downstairs has everything you could need including a 24 hr Starbucks and cozy nooks for catching your favorite sports game or news channel. The team is eager to accommodate each and every need and the professionalism is top notch. A+

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarahFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our newly renovated hotel. If I understood correctly you took a tour? Well... I hope you can stay a while next time and fully enjoy the experience of staying at the hotel. We are very proud of the results. If I am correct, you are local so please stop in and see us at The Bistro and get your locals punch card for Starbucks anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The front desk staff made our anniversary stay one to remember. Upon check-in, they asked if we had been to Destin before. As we usually travel at least once a year around our anniversary we mentioned that. We went up to our room which was just renovated and had the "new" smell. After about 10 minutes there was a call from the front desk, asking us to answer the door as they had sent someone up with something. To our great surprise they had sent up a bottle of Merlot, a cork screw and two wine glasses !!!! With it was a nice hand-written card wishing us a Happy Anniversary.
The hotel is located right next to Sandestin resort with many restaurants, a brand new 10 screen theater and shops plus the Silver Sands Outlet is a couple of miles down the road. We highly recommend this facility and its staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY AGAIN!! We are so pleased you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and had a wonderful memorable stay with us. Wishing you another great year of wedding bliss and we hope to see you both back soon!! Happy Anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
8.3 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Property: Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Address: 100 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Destin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Destin
#2 Family Hotel in Destin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to one of the top Destin, Florida, hotels at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. Corporate travelers will benefit from the new lobby that is designed to give guests the flexibility to work and socialize on their terms. New enhancements to our Destin, Florida, hotel include a contemporary lobby, flexible seating to fit individual or group needs, complimentary Wi-Fi, private media booths and, our new signature element, the touch screen with GoBoard® technology for information on the go. Introducing one of the newest restaurants among hotels in Destin, Florida, The Bistro offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with refreshing, high quality and healthy menu options. "Eat, Drink, and Connect"™ with friends and colleagues for a value that simply cannot be beat. Explore our Destin, FL, hotel's enchanting surroundings consisting of beaches, running and walking trails, state parks, championship golf courses and tennis courts. We invite you to work and relax at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sandestin At Grand Boulevard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Destin
Destin Courtyard
Destin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing