We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood with a Beautiful Sunset”
Review of Pompano Joe's

Pompano Joe's
Ranked #24 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Pompano Joe's opened its doors in 1995 and quickly became known for their unique Caribbean style of seafood. Since then, it has become a destination restaurant for tourists and a favorite among the locals. The Caribbean flair shines through from our famous Reggae Rolls and Garlic Crusted Grouper to the brightly colored window frames that line the walls of our open-air restaurant. In 2013, we opened the second Pompano Joe's location at Pier Park in Panama City Beach, FL. When visiting Destin, South Walton or Panama City Beach, we hope you stop in and enjoy the great food, refreshing drinks and the best view on the Gulf Coast.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood with a Beautiful Sunset”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved the fresh seafood - crusted grouper - topped with crabmeat for me and grilled shrimp for my husband. After a couple of days of rain, the sunset outside was stunning and we saw it right from our table. It was a wonderful setting and we'll gladly return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxfordcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    925
    376
    114
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Locattion Sells this Place”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Food was average at best. It does a lot of business so the fact that it is right on the beach is a big seller. Service was also average. Looks like volume is the goal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bocavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our first trip to the Destin area and Pompano Joe's seemed to be rated well so we stopped by early evening for a nice meal and to watch the sunset. We were not disappointed with either. The food was not only good it was special, unique presentations of seafood we had not encountered elsewhere. My wife had Grouper and I had Mahi Mahi, both were excellent, as was the grilled lobster tail for an appetizer. Service was great, and watching the sun slowly set over the green Gulf and white sand beach was spectacular. This isn't a fancy place, but that is quite okay. Just because it is informal doesn't diminish the quality of the food. We ate a few other places in the Destin area and this is by far the best we experienced. Oh, and their special drinks are good too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome service!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited Pompano Joe's while on a girl's trip. The sunset view is awesome! We each had delicious seafood. I had a cup of gumbo and a crab cake sandwich. The gumbo was spicy and very tasty. A cup was just enough! I took the crab cake off the bun and enjoyed it with the slaw and twice baked potato. Still couldn't finish the meal because I was stuffed. Our server was perfectly attentive. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone but we had about a 15 minute wait so I imagine there is a longer wait during the busy season.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 156B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & location!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Beach Retreat Resort which is a short walk down the beach from Pompano Joe's. Had a light dinner here. I had a great crab & shrimp salad. My husband had the gumbo & raw oysters. All the food was great. Service was kind of slow but it was really busy. We were able to sit on the deck & watch the sunset. One of the better restaurants right there on Miramar Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Joe's also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pompano Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing